Extended Audio Sample

Download A Shadow Bright and Burning Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample A Shadow Bright and Burning Audiobook, by Jessica Cluess Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jessica Cluess Narrator: Fiona Hardingham Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: Kingdom on Fire Release Date: September 2016 ISBN: 9780399569159
Regular Price: $27.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $21.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

I am Henrietta Howel.
The first female sorcerer in hundreds of years.
The prophesied one.
Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames.

Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she’s shocked when instead of being executed, she’s invited to train as one of Her Majesty’s royal sorcerers.

Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.

But Henrietta Howel is not the chosen one.

As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, what does it mean to not be the one? And how much will she risk to save the city—and the one she loves?

Exhilarating and gripping, Jessica Cluess’s spellbinding fantasy introduces a powerful, unforgettably heroine and a world filled with magic, romance, and betrayal, for fans of Libba Bray, Sarah J. Maas, and Cassandra Clare.

Download and start listening now!

bv6w

Quotes & Awards

  • “This is a novel that gives off light and heat.”

    New York Times

  • Henrietta is pragmatic and bitingly funny, and she more than holds her own in a man’s world. Cluess gamely turns the chosen-one trope upside down in this smashing dark fantasy. Publishers Weekly, starred review
  • “Cluess manages to hook the reader on the very first page…The ending is perfect, too….[A] lovely debut novel by a talented writer.”

    Huffington Post

  • “Henrietta is pragmatic and bitingly funny, and she more than holds her own in a man’s world. Cluess gamely turns the chosen-one trope upside down in this smashing dark fantasy.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “YA fans will appreciate the coming-of-age story as well as the nuanced storytelling that speeds this tale along.”

    RT Book Reviews

  • “A marvelous mash-up of Dickens, the students-with-magical-powers genre, and alt-history…a fascinating look at a society wherein magic, though accepted and respected, has its own class boundaries. Cluess’ clever prose employs Dickensian names and rolls along at a speedy and compelling clip.”

    Booklist

  • “Readers who enjoy books about magic, fantastical monsters, and forces of good and evil will not be able to put this first installment down…[Cluess] keeps the adventure moving at a good clip.”

    School Library Journal

  • "[This] gaslit world besieged by Lovecraft-ian horrors possesses vivid life…An elegantly addictive read.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Fiona Hardingham’s brusk, chameleon-like narration is a gift to this sweeping magical adventure…Hardingham’s pacing and characterizations carry listeners through the turmoil with ease…Cluess and Hardingham deliver high-action, powerfully charged history, and a strong, smart female protagonist.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Jessica Cluess is a writer, a graduate of Northwestern University, and an unapologetic nerd. After college, she moved to Los Angeles, where she served coffee to the rich and famous while working on her first novel. When she’s not writing books, she’s an instructor at Writopia Lab, helping kids and teens tell their own stories.

About the Narrator

Fiona Hardingham is a British-born actress, singer, voice-over artist, and AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator. On stage, she appeared at the Edinburgh Festival in her comedic one-woman show The Dark Show. She has also starred in the dark-comedy short film The Ballerino. She earned a BA honors degree in performing arts from Middlesex University, London, and also studied at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts.