Extended Audio Sample

Download A Beginner's Guide to Rakes Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample A Beginners Guide to Rakes Audiobook, by Suzanne Enoch Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.15 out of 53.15 out of 53.15 out of 53.15 out of 53.15 out of 5 3.15 (13 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Suzanne Enoch Narrator: Anne Flosnik Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Scandalous Brides Series Release Date: March 2012 ISBN: 9781452676074
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

All of London is abuzz with the return of the utterly alluring, recently widowed Diane Benchley. Will she remarry? What will she do with her late husband's fortune? Society is shocked by her announcement—at the Grand Ball, of all places!—that she plans to open an exclusive gentleman's gaming club in the family mansion. But no one is more stunned than the Marquis of Haybury, Oliver Warren.Years ago, Oliver and Diane shared a private indiscretion. Now Diane threatens to reveal Oliver's most ungentlemanly secrets…unless he agrees to help her. A notorious gambler—and rake—Oliver is overqualified to educate Diane in the ways and means of running her establishment. But striking a deal with Diane might just be the biggest risk Oliver has ever taken. This time, the only thing he has to lose is his heart… Download and start listening now!

bf3j

Quotes & Awards

  • “It’s time to fall in love with Suzanne Enoch, who can always be counted on to deliver a story so vivid and romantic that you’ll never want it to end. With her fascinating characters, lyrical prose, and whip-smart dialogue, Enoch has created a novel to be cherished. A Beginner’s Guide to Rakes is perfection on the page!”

    Lisa Kleypas, New York Times bestselling author

  • Enoch will have [fans] tittering behind their fans at this hilarious Regency. Publishers Weekly
  • “Enoch will have [fans] tittering behind their fans at this hilarious Regency.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Award-winning narrator, Anne Flosnik, delivers a terrific performance. This will appeal to fans of Christina Dodd, Julia Quinn, and Sabrina Jeffries.”

    Library Journal Audio Review

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Janga | 2/15/2014

    " This is not a perfect book. The title and cover are the first and most glaring imperfections. But I loved the story so much I didn't care. This may be my favorite book by Enoch since England's Perfect Hero. It doesn't measure up to that one, but then few books do. I loved that Diane's and Oliver's difficulty in trusting made sense and was not just a ploy to add conflict. I loved Enoch's skillful use of secondary characters, particularly Diane's employees. And I seriously loved Enoch's prose. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 LuvGirl | 2/11/2014

    " This book was okay for the most part. I liked the premise of the hero breaking the heroine's heart in the past and then meeting up with her again. I kind of lost interest towards the end though. Also, the heroine behaved a little too alpha female for my taste and wasn't very likable. Some of the scenes were too OTT and stupid, like the heroine shooting the hero for kissing her, and the hero breaking through the heroine's bedroom floor with an axe to get to the her. I'm not sure if I will be on pins and needles waiting for the other books in this series. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Victoria Blacke | 1/29/2014

    " Great storyline. I enjoyed the book overall. Kindof lost me a bit when after working so hard to open her business she would toss it all to the wind to spend hours in bed with the hero...didn't ring true to the characters independent driven spirit. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 On | 1/17/2014

    " Liked the book! It was interesting! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Linda | 1/16/2014

    " it dragged a bit too much in the middle! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lady Wesley | 12/31/2013

    " This is only my second Suzanne Enoch book, and I realize she's writes witty, fun romances. This one, however, just didn't grab me. Who knows why? I liked it, but I'll probably not read it again. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jenny | 12/9/2013

    " First of all.......the picture on the front of the book is silly.It doesnt even look like the people described in the book. Then the title.......absolutley ridiculous. That said, I love Suzanne Enoch. Especially her contempory works. This was not her best book AT ALL. Pretty lame actually..... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Spoiler Whore drops the F bomb | 10/1/2013

    " Interesting characters and the one character I wanna know more about is Jenny. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Suzanne | 8/19/2013

    " Loved it...already into the next book in the series...gotta read it and the 3rd book in the series before book club on Oct. 19. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Huong | 1/11/2013

    " Not terrible but nothing noteworthy either. I don't understand how the title relates to the book either. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Deb Cutler | 12/19/2012

    " The amount of money lost in this book is astonishing. A fun read/listen. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Antoinette Miley | 10/7/2012

    " Even in the past bad boys made things hard to resist, but this time the tables were turned on this bad boy. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Laura | 7/26/2012

    " Good 1st book of a series since it sets up the world competently. Main leads set up a classy "hooters"-esque establishment in regency time. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Suzanne Enoch

Suzanne Enoch has written more than thirty Regency romances, including the New York Times bestseller After the Kiss. The author of nine series of novels, including the Scandalous Brides series and the Scandalous Highlanders series, she has twice been a finalist for RT Book Reviews’ Historical Romance of the Year Award.

About the Narrator

Anne Flosnik, a seasoned audiobook narrator, has over four hundred titles to her credit and several awards and distinctions, including three AudioFile Earphones Awards, a USA Today Recommended Listening, and the American Library Association’s Special Services to Children Award. She has twice been an Audie Award finalist. She is an accomplished actress with lead credits on stage, on television, and in commercials and voice-overs.