When You Look Like Us Audiobook, by Pamela N. Harris Play Audiobook Sample

When You Look Like Us Audiobook

When You Look Like Us Audiobook, by Pamela N. Harris Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $19.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $27.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Preston Butler Publisher: Quill Tree Books Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 6.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 4.50 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: January 2021 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780063064317

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

34

Longest Chapter Length:

32:55 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

30 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

15:42 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

2

Other Audiobooks Written by Pamela N. Harris: > View All...

Listeners Also Enjoyed:

Publisher Description

“A high-speed story that will draw teens in and keep them turning pages until they reach the unpredictable and thrilling ending. A must for YA collections.” (School Library Journal)

A 2022 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work nominee and a 2022 Edgar Award nominee, this timely, gripping teen novel is about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where Black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked, from debut author Pamela Harris. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson.

When you look like us—brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades—everyone else thinks you’re trouble. No one even blinks twice over a missing Black girl from public housing because she must’ve brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister Nicole just got caught up with her boyfriend—a drug dealer—and his friends. But she’s been gone too long. Nic, where are you?

If I hadn’t hung up on her that night, she would be at our house, spending time with Grandma.

If I was a better brother, she’d be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list.

It’s time to step up, to do what the Newport News police department won’t.

Bring her home.

Also a 2022 ALA Notable Book for a Global Society Award winner!

Download and start listening now!

“A high-speed story that will draw teens in and keep them turning pages until they reach the unpredictable and thrilling ending. A must for YA collections.”

— School Library Journal (starred review) 

Quotes

  • “A powerful story about misperceptions, reality, and the lives lived in between.”

    — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

When You Look Like Us Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!