Extended Audio Sample

Download What Becomes of the Brokenhearted: A Memoir Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample What Becomes of the Brokenhearted: A Memoir, by E. Lynn Harris Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (590 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: E. Lynn Harris Narrator: Richard Alle Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

For almost a decade, beloved storyteller E. Lynn Harris has welcomed you into his family with his passionate, warm and trailblazing novels. Now, he invites you into the most intimate world ever—his own.

Since his first book, Invisible Life, was published in the early 1990s, New York Times bestselling author E. Lynn Harris has wowed, charmed, and romanced millions of readers. As a master storyteller, E. Lynn Harris has created an intimate and glamorous world centered around his signature themes of love, friendship, and family. People all over the world have fallen in love with his characters and laughed and cried with them. 

Now, in his most daring act yet, E. Lynn Harris writes the memoir of his life—from his childhood in Arkansas as a closeted gay boy through his struggling days as a self-published author to his rise as a New York Times bestselling author. In What Becomes of the Brokenhearted, E. Lynn Harris shares an extraordinary life touched by loneliness and depression, but more important, he reveals the triumphant life of a small-town dreamer who was able through writing to make his dreams—and more—come true.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The story of how [Harris] overcame the demons of his past is inspirational.”

    Entertainment Weekly 

  • “Has all the dramatic elements of a compelling work of fiction…And Harris shares the positive experiences that have helped him become…proud, successful, happy.”


  • “Emotional, heart-pulling…an in-depth look into the real world of E. Lynn Harris.”

    QBR, The Black Book Review

  • “Widely known for his sexy, urban African American novels, Harris now reveals the inspiring story of his own life…The author’s underlying message—that you can triumph through perseverance—is universal. Harris leavens his narrative with humorous anecdotes, including a particularly funny reminiscence of his first days at IBM, where he wore shiny suits from Sears, gold chains, and sported the ‘world’s largest Afro.’”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “His fans will embrace his fast-paced memoir eagerly, and then be caught up in this engaging writer’s engagingly told life story.”


  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kelly | 12/26/2013

    " This book was amazing! Harris did a wonderful job of bringing to life the troubles and trials that he went through! I only wish that we had been given more information on how he felt and what life changes he went through after he sold his first book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Yvonne | 12/1/2013

    " Loved it. This book gave insight to his life "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Tricia | 10/31/2013

    " A memoir of a depressed gay black man that grew up in Little Rock in the '60's. He lived life mostly in the closet hoping for a pill to make him happy, in love, and straight... How sad! But a great inspirational read that proves the human spirit can overcome the obstacles of life. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Nanci Robertson | 10/26/2013

    " I enjoyed the honesty and self-reflective qualities of the author, E. Lynn Harris, who describes in detail the challenging and often painful situations which gave him the opportunity to grow and change into the person he is today. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations