Extended Audio Sample

Download War of the World Records Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample War of the World Records, by Matthew Ward Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Matthew Ward Narrator: Steven Crossle Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Fantastic Family Whipple Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $29.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Discover who will be crowned the world’s most record-breaking family in the book that’s perfect for fans of The Guinness Book of World Records!

The rivalry between the Whipples and the Goldwins escalates to an all-out war as the World Record World Championships draw near. When sinister clowns Overkill and Undercut cause a regulation game of hide-and-seek to go horrifically wrong, recordless Arthur Whipple and his unlikely ally, Ruby Goldwin, set out to catch the clowns’ mysterious boss, known only as “the Treasurer.”

The young detectives follow the clues through darkened alleyways, dingy nightclubs, and the gothic halls of the World Record Archives, where they unravel the mystery of the Lyon’s Curse and the secrets of their fathers’ shared past. In the end, Arthur must fight to save his family as he struggles to earn his first world record and prove himself worthy of the Whipple name.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The main character and ‘least impressive’ family member, Arthur, is a sympathetic protagonist…His kindred spirit relationship with the rival family’s ugly duckling is charming, and readers will identify with the pair’s feelings of isolation…[A] rollicking novel.”

    School Library Journal

  • “The world record motif should satisfy boys who love poring through annual record books.”


  • “Crossley is adept at assigning unique voices to a wide array of characters. The Whipples’s competitors, the Goldwins, are especially well done. The father, Rex, bellows pronouncements, fully expecting agreement from all. His wife’s barely concealed disdain for the Whipples is perfectly rendered, and her ridiculous cooing over the family’s bizarre lizard menagerie is amusing. This zany adventure gives Crossley ample time to display his many accents. Let’s hope that if there are sequels, Crossley will take them on.”


Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Matthew Ward was crowned back-to-back School Spelling-Bee Champion in the third and fourth grades, his childhood passed with little international distinction. He went on to attend the University of Southern California, where he studied graphic design and cinema, then fittingly became the art director for a cinematography magazine. In 2006, he was named the World’s First TiVo Ambassador.