Turning Darkness Into Light Audiobook, by Marie Brennan Play Audiobook Sample

Download Turning Darkness Into Light Audiobook

Turning Darkness Into Light Audiobook, by Marie Brennan Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
Author: Marie Brennan Narrator: Barrie Kreinik, Raphael Corkhill Publisher: Macmillan Audio Audio Length: Release Date: August 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781250227942

Publisher Description

Marie Brennan's Turning Darkness Into Light is a delightful fantasy of manners, the heir to the award-winning Natural History of Dragons series, a perfect stepping stone into an alternate Victorian-esque fantasy landscape.

"Overwhelmingly fun."—io9 on The Tropic of Serpents



As the renowned granddaughter of Isabella Camherst (Lady Trent, of the riveting and daring Draconic adventure memoirs) Audrey Camherst has always known she, too, would want to make her scholarly mark upon a chosen field of study.

When Lord Gleinheigh recruits Audrey to decipher a series of ancient tablets holding the secrets of the ancient Draconean civilization, she has no idea that her research will plunge her into an intricate conspiracy, one meant to incite rebellion and invoke war. Alongside dearest childhood friend and fellow archeologist Kudshayn, Audrey must find proof of the conspiracy before it’s too late.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • Saturated with the joy and urgency of discovery and scientific curiosity.

    - Publishers Weekly, starred review
  • Told in the style of a Victorian memoir, courageous, intelligent and determined Isabella's account is colorful, vigorous and absorbing.

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • For A Natural History of Dragons:"If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book.

    - RT Book Reviews
  • If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book.

    - RT Book Reviews on A Natural History of Dragons"Discoveries about the connections between dragons and humans mix with bone-punk technology, and revelations crash like waves in a satisfying conclusion.
  • Uncompromisingly honest and forthright [and] narrated in Brennan's usual crisp, vivid style.... Reader, lose no time in making Isabella's acquaintance.

    - Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on The Tropic of Serpents
  • Smart and nuanced...Overwhelmingly fun and a perfectly delightful [summer] read.

    - io9 on The Tropic of Serpents
  • This mix of scientific and [fantastic] remains in fine form.

    - Publishers Weekly, on In the Labyrinth of Drakes
  • Isabella, Lady Trent, narrates her astounding adventures from volume to volume, blending Victorian pastiche and alternate-world fantasy with a distinctly pulp sensibility…now is the time to get acquainted.

    - NPR on The Voyage of the Basilisk
  • "These chronicles have the power of fabulous and historic voyages, along with a wry wit that refuses to accept the standard notions of any era—past, present, or future.

    - Locus on The Memoirs of Lady Trent series

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Marie Brennan habitually pillages her background in anthropology, archaeology, and folklore for fictional purposes. She is the author of the Onyx Court series, the Doppelganger duology of Warrior and Witch, and the urban fantasy Lies and Prophecy, as well as more than thirty short stories. The first book in the Lady Trent Memoirs series, A Natural History of Dragons, was nominated for a World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, and the entire series has been nominated for a Hugo Award. She holds an undergraduate degree in archaeology and folklore from Harvard and is now pursuing a PhD in anthropology and folklore at Indiana University.

About the Narrators

Barrie Kreinik is an actor, singer, playwright, and voice-dialect coach based in New York City. Her audiobook narrations have earned an AudioFile Earphones Award. A graduate of the Brown/Trinity MFA acting program, she is a proud member of AEA and SAG-AFTRA.

Raphael Corkhill grew up in central London and attended the renowned Eton College before moving to the United States to attend Princeton University, after which he completed his MFA acting degree at the University of Southern California. Raphael’s recent credits include the Los Angeles Theatre Center’s production of Short Eyes, A Happy End at the Museum of Tolerance, and Luke Eberl’s latest film, The Movie. Raphael’s voice-over work includes the Weinstein Company’s upcoming feature Lawless and the award-winning short film Wrecks and Violins.