Extended Audio Sample

Download A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent, by Marie Brennan Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Marie Brennan Narrator: Kate Readin Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged edition Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Natural History of Dragons Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $23.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Marie Brennan begins a thrilling new fantasy series in A Natural History of Dragons, combining adventure with the inquisitive spirit of the Victorian Age.

The entire world, from Scirland to the farthest reaches of Eriga, knows Isabella, Lady Trent, to be the world’s preeminent dragon naturalist. She is the remarkable woman who brought the study of dragons out of the misty shadows of myth and misunderstanding into the clear light of modern science. But before she became the illustrious figure we know today, there was a bookish young woman whose passion for learning, natural history, and, yes, dragons defied the stifling conventions of her day.

Here at last, in her own words, is the true story of a pioneering spirit who risked her reputation, her prospects, and her fragile flesh and bone to satisfy her scientific curiosity; of how she sought true love and happiness despite her lamentable eccentricities; and of her thrilling expedition to the perilous mountains of Vystrana, where she made the first of many historic discoveries that would change the world forever.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Saturated with the joy and urgency of discovery and scientific curiosity.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Told in the style of a Victorian memoir, courageous, intelligent, and determined Isabella’s account is colorful, vigorous, and absorbing. A sort of Victorian why-what-whodunit embellished by Brennan’s singular upgrade of a fantasy bromide and revitalizingly different viewpoint.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “If you’ve ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book.”

    RT Book Reviews

  • “Lady Trent is the Jane Goodall of dragon kind, and I’m glad she’s finally sharing her story with the world.”

    Jim C. Hines, author of Libriomancer

  • “Her ladyship is a determined and canny woman in search of dragons—I wholeheartedly approve!”

    Melanie Rawn, author of Touchstone

  • A Natural History of Dragons stands somewhere between Naomi Novik and Elizabeth Peters, but rock-solidly in its own world and on its own terms. Highly recommended.”

    Daniel Fox, author of Dragon in Chains

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations