Triage: On Reading, Writing, and the Interior Life Audiobook, by Richard Russo Play Audiobook Sample

Triage: On Reading, Writing, and the Interior Life Audiobook

Triage: On Reading, Writing, and the Interior Life Audiobook, by Richard Russo Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $11.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $14.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Richard Russo Publisher: Random House Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 0.50 hours at 1.5x Speed 0.38 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: April 2022 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780593663295

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

11:25 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

15 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

05:37 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Richard Russo: > View All...

Publisher Description

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Empire Falls and One of the most valuable spaces for an artist is the inner life—the sacred place where, outside of the constraints of time and space, meaning is extracted from raw experience and fashioned into art. In this timely new essay, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Richard Russo discusses the work writers do as they sift through experience and work to cultivate rich interior lives. For authors, this often involves performing triage, a constant assessment of events that helps determine what’s useful for a story and potentially enduring.   But what is at stake when we perform triage? Is an artist’s interior life an act of generosity or selfishness?   Reflecting on a year of reading and meditations on the nature of interiority brought up by a global pandemic and orders to stay at-home, Triage is a candid and arresting look at the process that goes into creative work, by one of our most celebrated and bestselling novelists.   A Vintage Shorts Nonfiction Original 

Download and start listening now!

Triage Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Richard Russo

Richard Russo is the New York Times bestselling author of several novels, two short-story collections, and the memoir Elsewhere. In 2002 he received the Pulitzer Prize for Empire Falls which, like Nobody’s Fool, was adapted to film, in a multiple-award-winning HBO miniseries. In 2016 he was given the Indie Champion Award by the American Booksellers Association; and in 2017 he received France’s Grand Prix de Littérature Américaine.