This Light between Us: A Novel of World War II Audiobook, by Andrew Fukuda Play Audiobook Sample

Download This Light between Us: A Novel of World War II Audiobook

This Light between Us: A Novel of World War II Audiobook, by Andrew Fukuda Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
Author: Andrew Fukuda Narrator: Emily Ellet, Greg Chun Publisher: Macmillan Audio Audio Length: Release Date: January 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781250263490

Publisher Description

For fans of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals—a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl—as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war.

“I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers.”—Andrew Fukuda

In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is disgusted when he’s forced to become pen pals with Charlie Lévy of Paris, France—a girl. He thought she was a boy. In spite of Alex’s reluctance, their letters continue to fly across the Atlantic—and along with them, the shared hopes and dreams of friendship. Until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the growing Nazi persecution of Jews force them to confront the darkest aspects of human nature.

From the desolation of an internment camp on the plains of Manzanar to the horrors of Auschwitz and the devastation of European battlefields, the only thing they can hold onto are the memories of their letters. But nothing can dispel the light between them.

Download and start listening now!

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Andrew Fukuda was born in New York City and raised in Hong Kong. He earned a bachelor’s degree in history from Cornell University and worked as a criminal prosecutor for seven years before becoming a full-time writer. His experience volunteering with the immigrant teen community in Manhattan’s Chinatown led to the writing of Crossing, his debut novel that was selected by ALA Booklist as an Editor’s Choice, Top Ten First Novel, and Top Ten Crime Novel.

About the Narrator

Maxwell Hamilton is a voice talent and Earphones Award–winning narrator.