The Year of Lear: Shakespeare in 1606 Audiobook, by James Shapiro Play Audiobook Sample

The Year of Lear: Shakespeare in 1606 Audiobook

The Year of Lear: Shakespeare in 1606 Audiobook, by James Shapiro Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $16.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Robert Fass Publisher: Tantor Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 7.33 hours at 1.5x Speed 5.50 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: January 2016 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781515971405

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

58:51 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

24:27 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

41:40 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by James Shapiro: > View All...

Listeners Also Enjoyed:

Publisher Description

In this compelling book, preeminent Shakespeare scholar James Shapiro shows how the tumultuous events in England in 1606 affected Shakespeare and shaped the three great tragedies he wrote that year-King Lear, Macbeth, and Antony and Cleopatra.

Download and start listening now!

[Shapiro's] well-written, scholarly exploration will stand as an influential work that is a joy to read.

— Kirkus Starred Review 

The Year of Lear Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About James Shapiro

James Shapiro is the Larry Miller Professor of English and Comparative Literature at Columbia University, where he has taught since 1985. In 2011, he was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has written several award-winning books on Shakespeare, including The Year of Lear: Shakespeare in 1606, which won the James Tait Black Prize and the Sheridan Morley Prize. His essays and reviews have appeared in the New York Times, the Guardian, and the London Review of Books, among other places. He serves on the board of directors of the Royal Shakespeare Company, and he is the Shakespeare scholar in residence at the Public Theater in New York City.

About Robert Fass

Robert Fass is a veteran actor and twice winner of the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. He has earned mulltiple Earphones Awards, including one for his narration of Francisco Goldman’s Say Her Name, which was named one of AudioFile magazine’s Best Audiobooks of 2011. He has given voice to modern and classic fiction writers alike, including Ray Bradbury, Joyce Carol Oates, Isaac Asimov, Jeffrey Deaver, and John Steinbeck, as well as to nonfiction works in history, memoir, health, journalism, and business.