Extended Audio Sample

Download The Whole Town's Talking: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Whole Towns Talking: A Novel Audiobook, by Fannie Flagg Click for printable size audiobook cover
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Fannie Flagg Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: November 2016 ISBN: 9780739354049
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.

New York Times Bestseller • Southern Book Prize Winner

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.

Praise for The Whole Town’s Talking

“A witty multigenerational saga . . . [Fannie] Flagg’s down-home wisdom, her affable humor and her long view of life offer a pleasant respite in nerve-jangling times.”People
 
“Fannie Flagg at her best.”The Florida Times-Union
 
“If there’s one thing Fannie Flagg can do better than anybody else, it’s tell a story, and she outdoes herself in The Whole Town’s Talking. . . . Brilliant . . . equally on the level as her famous Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe.”The Newport Plain Talk
 
“Delightful.”—The Washington Post
 
“A ringing affirmation of love, community and life itself.”Richmond Times-Dispatch Download and start listening now!

c0as

Quotes & Awards

  • Flagg’s humor shines through as she chronicles their successes, disappointments, and even a mysterious murder or two. . . . The interwoven lives of these completely engaging characters twist and turn in unexpected ways, making this chronicle of a close-knit community a pleasure to read. BookPage
  • [A] charming tale. Booklist
  • A born storyteller. The New York Times Book Review
  • If there’s one thing Fannie Flagg can do better than anybody else, it’s tell a story, and she outdoes herself in The Whole Town’s Talking. . . . Another brilliant novel—equally on the level as her famous Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe. The Newport Plain Talk
  • Told with warmth, humor and remarkable characters, this touching novel is a tribute to the indomitable spirit of love. The Columbus Dispatch
  • Delightful. The Washington Post
  • I could not put this book down and didn’t want the tale to end. Fannie Flagg does it again; a great read you won’t want to miss. The Missourian 
  • It’s a sweeping, cinematic approach. . . . Flagg’s gentle storytelling makes the novel an easy, comfortable read that will leave a reader thinking about life, love and loss Minneapolis Star Tribune
  • [Fannie Flagg] creates a world familiar in its reality and its hopes, and she displays her storytelling skills, ones that are enhanced by her humanity, her optimism and her big heart. . . .The Whole Town’s Talking [is] a story of life’s peaks, valleys and ordinary days—and a ringing affirmation of love, community and life itself. Richmond Times-Dispatch
  • The Whole Town’s Talking is warm and inviting. Flagg’s Elmwood Springs novels are comfort reads of the best kind, warm and engaging without flash or fuss. Miami Herald
  • “Kimberly Farr maintains narrative drive as Flagg’s book follows several generations of a town’s residents from 1889 to 2020…Farr’s slow-paced, clearly enunciated narration completely fits the tone of the story. She creates excellent character voices and accents, adding charm to the production.”

    AudioFile

  • [A] witty multigenerational saga . . . [Fannie] Flagg’s down-home wisdom, her affable humor and her long view of life offer a pleasant respite in nerve-jangling times. People
  • The Whole Town’s Talking [is] Fannie Flagg at her best. Florida Times Union
  • A New York Times Bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Fannie Flagg

Fannie Flagg began writing and producing television specials at age nineteen and went on to distinguish herself as an actress and writer in television, films, and the theater. She is the author of the New York Times bestsellers Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe (which was produced by Universal Pictures as Fried Green Tomatoes), Welcome to the World, Baby Girl!, Standing in the Rainbow, and A Redbird Christmas. Her script for Fried Green Tomatoes was nominated for both the Academy and Writers Guild of America awards and won the highly regarded Scripters Award. She lives in California and in Alabama.