Extended Audio Sample

Download The Virgin Queen's Daughter Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Virgin Queens Daughter, by Ella March Chase Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (2,807 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ella March Chase Narrator: Rosalyn Landor Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A fascinating glimpse into the life of Lady Elinor de Lacey, the illegitimate daughter of Queen Elizabeth I, that will appeal to fans of Tudor era historical fiction.

Secreted away from the woman who gave birth to her, Elinor de Lacey is raised in blissful ignorance in the English countryside by a beloved and forward-thinking father, and a loving but remote mother. After her father's death, Elinor defies her mother's wishes and accepts an invitation to become a lady-in-waiting to Elizabeth I in London. Elinor is dazzled by the lavishness of the court, but unprepared for the viciousness of the courtiers. Bringing life to one of the greatest rumors about Elizabeth I, this fascinating tale sweeps listeners into the scandals and political intrigue of the Tudor court.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • If Elizabeth I had a daughter, Nell is surely what she must have been like—brilliant and daring, risking everything for the right to fully exercise mind, heart, and spirit. Donna Cross, international bestselling author of Pope Joan
  • Beautifully written fiction with a fascinating hook. Karen Harper, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Boleyn
  • An absolutely wonderful read. Michelle Moran, national bestselling author of Nefertiti
  • The Virgin Queen’s Daughter is both gritty and glittering, revealing the sharp blades beneath a silken court. I finished it in a day—well, two, if you count the five minutes past midnight!—and enjoyed it immensely. India Edghill, author of Wisdom’s Daughter
  • A fresh and fascinating new glimpse of the infamous Tudor clan. An unforgettable story full of rich characterization, palace intrigue, and the perilous, often heartbreaking reality for those whose lives depend on the whims of queens and kings. Susan Holloway Scott, author of The King’s Favorite
  • Ella March Chase is a master storyteller. She spins a rich tapestry of history and fiction, weaving all the vibrancy of the Tudor court and the quest of a strong, unforgettable woman into a mesmerizing tale. Susan Carroll, author of The Dark Queen
  • A feast for all of those fascinated with the life and loves of Queen Elizabeth I. Judith Merkle Riley, author of The Serpent Garden
  • The Virgin Queen’s Daughter is a beautifully written book with vividly drawn characters and a fabulous plot. I didn’t want to put it down. Diane Haeger, author of The Perfect Royal Mistress

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Charlene | 2/7/2014

    " Predictable....ho hum. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Ashley M. | 2/5/2014

    " It was a good read...a different take from the other royalty historical fiction books I've read. I thought the ending would turn out differently...but I guess it goes with the mystery of whether Elizabeth I ever did have a daughter in secret. A good read all the same. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Abbey | 1/25/2014

    " The cover and title don't do this justice. Yes it was an easy read but for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, I would highly recommend this to you. Nell de Lacey and all the connections she made in this book to other historical figures was fantastic. Loved it! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by jane | 1/18/2014

    " This is more romance than historical. I wouldn't have finished it if I hadn't run out of books. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations