Extended Audio Sample

Download The Virgin Queen's Daughter Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Virgin Queens Daughter, by Ella March Chase Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.00071225071225 out of 53.00071225071225 out of 53.00071225071225 out of 53.00071225071225 out of 53.00071225071225 out of 5 3.00 (2,808 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ella March Chase Narrator: Rosalyn Landor Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2008 ISBN: 9781415960059
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A fascinating glimpse into the life of Lady Elinor de Lacey, the illegitimate daughter of Queen Elizabeth I, that will appeal to fans of Tudor era historical fiction.

Secreted away from the woman who gave birth to her, Elinor de Lacey is raised in blissful ignorance in the English countryside by a beloved and forward-thinking father, and a loving but remote mother. After her father's death, Elinor defies her mother's wishes and accepts an invitation to become a lady-in-waiting to Elizabeth I in London. Elinor is dazzled by the lavishness of the court, but unprepared for the viciousness of the courtiers. Bringing life to one of the greatest rumors about Elizabeth I, this fascinating tale sweeps listeners into the scandals and political intrigue of the Tudor court.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BKOT_001154

Quotes & Awards

  • If Elizabeth I had a daughter, Nell is surely what she must have been like—brilliant and daring, risking everything for the right to fully exercise mind, heart, and spirit. Donna Cross, international bestselling author of Pope Joan
  • Beautifully written fiction with a fascinating hook. Karen Harper, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Boleyn
  • An absolutely wonderful read. Michelle Moran, national bestselling author of Nefertiti
  • The Virgin Queen’s Daughter is both gritty and glittering, revealing the sharp blades beneath a silken court. I finished it in a day—well, two, if you count the five minutes past midnight!—and enjoyed it immensely. India Edghill, author of Wisdom’s Daughter
  • A fresh and fascinating new glimpse of the infamous Tudor clan. An unforgettable story full of rich characterization, palace intrigue, and the perilous, often heartbreaking reality for those whose lives depend on the whims of queens and kings. Susan Holloway Scott, author of The King’s Favorite
  • Ella March Chase is a master storyteller. She spins a rich tapestry of history and fiction, weaving all the vibrancy of the Tudor court and the quest of a strong, unforgettable woman into a mesmerizing tale. Susan Carroll, author of The Dark Queen
  • A feast for all of those fascinated with the life and loves of Queen Elizabeth I. Judith Merkle Riley, author of The Serpent Garden
  • The Virgin Queen’s Daughter is a beautifully written book with vividly drawn characters and a fabulous plot. I didn’t want to put it down. Diane Haeger, author of The Perfect Royal Mistress

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michael | 1/29/2017

    " There are several theories out there regarding the possibility of a royal bastard by Elizabeth and her step father. This book has brought all those conspiracies to life in an amazing and artful way!! It feels almost factual if you didn't know better.... or do we... "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Charlene | 2/7/2014

    " Predictable....ho hum. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ashley M. | 2/5/2014

    " It was a good read...a different take from the other royalty historical fiction books I've read. I thought the ending would turn out differently...but I guess it goes with the mystery of whether Elizabeth I ever did have a daughter in secret. A good read all the same. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Abbey | 1/25/2014

    " The cover and title don't do this justice. Yes it was an easy read but for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, I would highly recommend this to you. Nell de Lacey and all the connections she made in this book to other historical figures was fantastic. Loved it! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 jane | 1/18/2014

    " This is more romance than historical. I wouldn't have finished it if I hadn't run out of books. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Pia | 1/5/2014

    " interesting, though doubtfully based on truth. well written, fast pace "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kara | 12/8/2013

    " I really enjoyed this book. yes, it's pretty far-fetched but a great story! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shirley | 12/1/2013

    " I thought this book was well-researched and well-written. I was intrigued until the end. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Beth | 11/29/2013

    " A rather slow start to this book was made up for by the thrilling last quarter of the book. Not a great book, by any means, but if you are a Tudor-aholic like me, it is a fun read "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tami Greaney | 11/22/2013

    " Very good - the only thing that I didn't like was the portrayal of Elizabeth - she is such an inspirational and intrigueing person to me that it's hard to see her made so cold and mean (and kind of unlikeable!) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Annie | 11/6/2013

    " One of the better Tudor historical/fiction novels I have read! It didn't get bogged down with all the name-dropping and historical facts that tend to cause a reader to lose interest, which is what happens in so many of these! Definitely going to get recommended to my Tudor Fan Fiction friends :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 The Book Maven | 10/20/2013

    " This book is without a doubt a cut above the rest of the standard Tudor fiction fare. If you're finding that Philippa Gregory and Allison Weir have grown a bit milktoast for your taste, see how this tickles your tastebuds. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lindsay | 10/13/2013

    " I really enjoyed this book. It is considered historical fiction, but my guess is that it is mostly fiction, with historical characters, but it was a book I didn't want to put down. A very interesting story! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brandy Stroyick | 10/6/2013

    " I really liked this book. It was kinda slow at first but then grabbed my attention. I coulnt put it down. A good read and love story. Puts a good twist on the queen Elizabeth if you think into it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Janelle | 8/2/2013

    " A quick and enjoyable read, based on the supposition that Elizabeth I bore a child. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer | 2/7/2013

    " I loved this books. 2 pages were very naughty but you can clearly see it coming and miss it. I love historical fiction! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rachel | 1/27/2013

    " Nice twist on Elizabeth I possibly having given birth.... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Heather | 12/28/2012

    " I loved this book. But this kind of fiction is right up my alley. I love Elizabethan history and fictional history. I could not put this book down. It was very well written. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marlene | 10/29/2012

    " I found the first half a little hard to get through however the second half I hated to put down. The book is fiction however based on history. It was fun to see how much of this story she had been taught this year in AP European History. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 April | 10/1/2012

    " A woman at the top but yet men pulling major strings at court. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kirstin | 6/22/2012

    " This tells the tale of Queen Elizabeth I and about a long ago rumor about her not actually being a virign queen. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cookie | 1/20/2012

    " What a great read, interesting twist on Elizabeth's life & the scoundrel Thomas Seymour. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sherry Mayling | 11/26/2011

    " Great book, certainly puts a new perspective on Elizabeth I "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nancy | 10/4/2011

    " Just finished reading and it was a great read! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dana Grigsby | 9/9/2011

    " I am a nut for Tudor history/fiction. Also, this was an objectively fun read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carola | 8/16/2011

    " I enjoyed this quick and relaxing read. Intrigue, romance and well written. I loved it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kerry | 5/18/2011

    " good girl meets bad boy love story w/ a regal intrigue twist. Interesting & good entertainment. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mailelou | 5/16/2011

    " Really enjoyed this book! If you are interested at all in the Tudors and Henry VIII, add this book to your reading. A twist in the life of Elizabeth - Henry's daughter who reigned for over 30 years and never married. Great Read! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sandy | 5/9/2011

    " I liked the story and the writing but I hate when authors take a real person and event and spin it in a way that is not historically accurate. It disgraced Elizabeth, as a queen she deserved more respect than that. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Wynter | 1/26/2011

    " Ahhh...to have the romance in the 2nd half of this book would be what every little girl who plays princess would dream of. I really enjoyed this book! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nancy | 10/6/2010

    " Just finished reading and it was a great read! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Alessia | 10/1/2010

    " Too much like a romance novel. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Janet | 9/29/2010

    " A very enjoyable story read by my very favorite narrator, Rosalyn Landor. I don't know if I really liked it for the story or if it was for the narration or if it was simply because it kept me entertained during my work commute. Nevertheless, I think it's a four star rather than a three. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tracy | 9/17/2010

    " Such a brutal time period. Chase's book is captivating and realistic. Great book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 April | 9/5/2010

    " A woman at the top but yet men pulling major strings at court. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Adeline | 7/5/2010

    " Well put together. Excellent and eventful read. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations