Extended Audio Sample

Download The Truth according to Us: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Truth according to Us: A Novel, by Annie Barrows Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Annie Barrows Narrator: Ann Marie Lee, Julia Whelan, Tara Sands Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $27.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $21.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

From the coauthor of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what’s right.

In the summer of 1938, Layla Beck’s father, a United States senator, cuts off her allowance and demands that she find employment on the Federal Writers’ Project, a New Deal jobs program. Within days, Layla finds herself far from her accustomed social whirl, assigned to cover the history of the remote mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia, and destined, in her own opinion, to go completely mad with boredom. However, once she secures a room in the home of the unconventional Romeyn family, she is completely drawn into their complex world and soon discovers that the truth of the town is deeply entangled in the thorny past of the Romeyn dynasty.

At the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is desperate to learn everything in her quest to acquire her favorite virtues—ferocity and devotion—a search that leads her into a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business with which her charismatic father is always occupied and the reason her adored aunt Jottie never married. Layla’s arrival strikes a match to the family veneer, bringing to light buried secrets that will tell a different tale about the Romeyns and the invisible threads linking them to the heart of Macedonia’s history. As Willa peels back the layers of her family’s past, and as Layla delves deeper into town legend, everyone involved is transformed—and their personal histories completely rewritten.

Download and start listening now!

bd88

Quotes & Awards

  • “An irresistible novel…[with] strong women who dominate this delightful page-turner, a tribute to the power of love and forgiveness to heal even the most heartbreaking betrayals.”

    Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author

  • “In The Truth according to Us, Annie Barrows leaves no doubt that she is a storyteller of rare caliber, with wisdom and insight to spare…Barrows is at her best here. Every page rings like a bell.”

    Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author

  • “It takes a brave author to make the heroine of a new novel an observant and feisty girl…like Scout Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird….But Barrows…has created a believable and touching character in Willa.”

    USA Today

  • “An epic but intimate family novel with richly imagined characters, an intriguing plot, and the social sensibilities you would expect of a story set in the South…The traumatized girls, Willa and Bird, are exquisitely portrayed and the lasting damage caused by the abandonment is sensitively rendered.”

    Washington Post

  • “A big, juicy family saga with warm humor and tragic twists, Truth is lively and engaging…The story gets more and more absorbing as it moves briskly along.”

    St. Louis Post-Dispatch

  • “A thoroughly charming small-town story…Barrows blends letters and multiple narrators to provide a panoramic view of a community bursting with vivid personalities.”

    BookPage

  • “Multiple narrators offer range and textural interest to this involving story of redemption in the Great Depression…Core narrators Ann Marie Lee, Tara Sands, and Julia Whelan offer clear and consistent character readings that steer listeners through the novel’s varied voices, while also highlighting the characters’ diversity of experience. Another nine actors provide added depth and color.”

    AudioFile

  • A BookPage Top Pick in June 2015 for Historical Fiction
  • A June 2015 LibraryReads Pick
  • A New York Times Bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations