Extended Audio Sample

Download The Truth According to Us: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Truth According to Us: A Novel, by Annie Barrows Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Annie Barrows Narrator: Ann Marie Lee, Julia Whelan, Tara Sands Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $27.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $21.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From the coauthor of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what’s right.

In the summer of 1938, Layla Beck’s father, a United States senator, cuts off her allowance and demands that she find employment on the Federal Writers’ Project, a New Deal jobs program. Within days, Layla finds herself far from her accustomed social whirl, assigned to cover the history of the remote mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia, and destined, in her own opinion, to go completely mad with boredom. However, once she secures a room in the home of the unconventional Romeyn family, she is completely drawn into their complex world and soon discovers that the truth of the town is deeply entangled in the thorny past of the Romeyn dynasty.

At the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is desperate to learn everything in her quest to acquire her favorite virtues—ferocity and devotion—a search that leads her into a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business with which her charismatic father is always occupied and the reason her adored aunt Jottie never married. Layla’s arrival strikes a match to the family veneer, bringing to light buried secrets that will tell a different tale about the Romeyns and the invisible threads linking them to the heart of Macedonia’s history. As Willa peels back the layers of her family’s past, and as Layla delves deeper into town legend, everyone involved is transformed—and their personal histories completely rewritten.

Download and start listening now!

bd88

Quotes & Awards

  • In The Truth According to Us, Annie Barrows leaves no doubt that she is a storyteller of rare caliber, with wisdom and insight to spare. As she subtly unpacks the emotional intricacies of the Romeyn family and their small West Virginia town in the wake of the Great Depression, we’re struck by the slipperiness of history—how the stories we tell each other and ourselves often demand to be interrogated; how the things we’re driven know about our families, our towns, our closest intimates, will always change us, sometimes over and over. Barrows is at her best here. Every page rings like a bell. Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife
  • [The Truth According to Us is] as delightfully eccentric as Guernsey yet refreshingly different. . . . It’s an epic but intimate family novel with richly imagined characters, an intriguing plot and the social sensibilities you would expect of a story set in the South. . . . The traumatized girls, Willa and Bird, are exquisitely portrayed and the lasting damage caused by the abandonment is sensitively rendered. Willa’s indomitable spirit, keen sense of adventure and innate intelligence reminded me of two other motherless girls in literature: Scout Finch in Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird and Flavia de Luce in Alan Bradley’s big-hearted British mystery series. If Guernsey is a tribute to the power of books, The Truth According to Us is a testament to the toxicity of secrets. . . . Just as we did in Guernsey, we empathize with the characters as if they’re our neighbors. . . . Macedonia is a great place to spend some time this summer. The temperatures are soaring, but it’s nothing compared to the heat generated by this sizzling story. The Washington Post
  • Annie Barrows creates a worthy successor to Lee’s beloved Scout Finch. . . . The Truth According to Us has all the characteristics of a great summer read: A plot that makes you want to keep turning the pages; a setting that makes you feel like you’re inhabiting another time and place; and characters who become people you’re sad to leave behind—and thus who always stay with you. As Jottie tells Willa at the beginning of the book, the ‘Macedonian virtues’ are ferocity and devotion. The Truth According to Us is the sort of book that inspires both. Miami Herald
     
  • It takes a brave author to make the heroine of a new novel an observant and feisty girl . . . like Scout Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird. . . . But Barrows . . . has created a believable and touching character in Willa. USA Today
     
  • [A] heartwarming coming-of-age novel [that] sparkles with folksy depictions of a tight-knit family and life in a small town . . . In a novel full of richly drawn, memorable characters, bright, feisty Willa is the standout. . . . Add The Truth According to Us to the stack of repeat-worthy literary pleasures. The Seattle Times
     
  • A big, juicy family saga with warm humor and tragic twists, Truth is lively and engaging. . . . The story gets more and more absorbing as it moves briskly along. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
     
  • A pleasant summer read . . . There is much to recommend this book: The characters are engaging, the historical details appear thorough and accurate, and there are sufficient conflicts and plot twists to render a compelling story. The Roanoke Times
  • Fans of Annie Barrows’s bestseller The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society . . . will recognize the author’s affinity for breathing life into her characters. . . . Barrows has crafted a luminous coming-of-age tale that is sure to captivate her grown-up audience. Against a lively historical setting, the joys and hardships of the rollicking Romeyn family will keep readers eagerly turning pages. BookPage
  • “An irresistible novel…[with] strong women who dominate this delightful page-turner, a tribute to the power of love and forgiveness to heal even the most heartbreaking betrayals.”

    Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author

  • The Truth According to Us is an irresistible novel, a sly charmer of a story about a small town in Depression-era West Virginia whose history is rewritten by a debutante on the run. Family histories, too, are unraveled, but mended by the fierce, strong women who dominate this delightful page-turner, a tribute to the power of love and forgiveness to heal even the most heartbreaking betrayals. Melanie Benjamin, author of The Aviator’s Wife
  • “In The Truth according to Us, Annie Barrows leaves no doubt that she is a storyteller of rare caliber, with wisdom and insight to spare…Barrows is at her best here. Every page rings like a bell.”

    Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author

  • “It takes a brave author to make the heroine of a new novel an observant and feisty girl…like Scout Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird….But Barrows…has created a believable and touching character in Willa.”

    USA Today

  • “An epic but intimate family novel with richly imagined characters, an intriguing plot, and the social sensibilities you would expect of a story set in the South…The traumatized girls, Willa and Bird, are exquisitely portrayed and the lasting damage caused by the abandonment is sensitively rendered.”

    Washington Post

  • “A big, juicy family saga with warm humor and tragic twists, Truth is lively and engaging…The story gets more and more absorbing as it moves briskly along.”

    St. Louis Post-Dispatch

  • “A thoroughly charming small-town story…Barrows blends letters and multiple narrators to provide a panoramic view of a community bursting with vivid personalities.”

    BookPage

  • “Multiple narrators offer range and textural interest to this involving story of redemption in the Great Depression…Core narrators Ann Marie Lee, Tara Sands, and Julia Whelan offer clear and consistent character readings that steer listeners through the novel’s varied voices, while also highlighting the characters’ diversity of experience. Another nine actors provide added depth and color.”

    AudioFile

  • A BookPage Top Pick in June 2015 for Historical Fiction
  • A June 2015 LibraryReads Pick
  • A New York Times Bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations