Extended Audio Sample

Download The Son Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Son, by Philipp Meyer Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Philipp Meyer Narrator: Kate Mulgrew, Scott Shepherd, Will Patton Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $34.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $22.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Part epic of Texas, part classic coming-of-age story, part unflinching portrait of the bloody price of power, The Son is an utterly transporting novel that maps the legacy of violence in the American West through the lives of the McCulloughs, an ambitious family as resilient and dangerous as the land they claim.

Spring, 1849. Eli McCullough is thirteen years old when a marauding band of Comanches takes him captive. Brave and clever, Eli quickly adapts to life among the Comanches, learning their ways and waging war against their enemies, including white men—which complicates his sense of loyalty and understanding of who he is. But when disease, starvation, and overwhelming numbers of armed white men decimate the tribe, Eli finds himself alone. Neither white nor American Indian, civilized nor fully wild, he must carve a place for himself in a world in which he does not fully belong—a journey of adventure, tragedy, hardship, grit, and luck that reverberates in the lives of his progeny. 

Download and start listening now!

BK_HARP_003453

Quotes & Awards

  • “Meyer is an impressive and multi-talented storyteller in the old, good sense—the kind that makes me hang on for whatever the next chapter will hold.”

    Richard Ford, New York Times bestselling author

  • “A remarkable, beautifully crafted novel. Meyer tackles large movements of American history and culture yet also delivers page-turning delights of story and character.”

    Charles Frazier, New York Times bestselling author

  • “A true American epic, full of brutal poetry and breathtaking panoramas. Meyer’s characters repeatedly bear witness to the collision of human greed, savagery, and desire with the mute and indomitable Plains landscape. Meyer is a writer of tremendous talent, compassion and ambition. The Son is a staggering achievement.”

    Karen Russell, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Philipp Meyer redrafts humanity’s oldest questions and deepest obsessions into something so raw and dazzling and brutal and real, The Son should come with its own soundtrack.”

    Tea Obreht, New York Times bestselling author

  • “One word—stunning. The Son stands fair to hold its own in the canon of Great American Novels. A book that for once really does deserve to be called a masterpiece.”

    Kate Atkinson, New York Times bestselling author

  • “An old-fashioned family saga set against the birth of Texas and the modern West, this is a riveting slow burn of love, power, and a legacy of violence spanning generations. Meyer is a writer of vast ambition and talent, and he has created nothing less than an American epic.”

    Parade

  • “In gorgeously gritty prose, this epic novel follows three generations of the McCullough family—as wild as the untamed Texas frontier where they’ve settled—in their ruthless quest for power.”

    O, The Oprah Magazine

  • “As bold, ambitious, and brutal as its subject: the rise of Texas as seen through the tortured history of one family. At 561 pages, The Son is a demanding read...But by the end, Meyer ties it together and not too neatly. Tougher-than-tough Eli McCullough would respect that.”

    USA Today (4 stars)

  • “There is an extravagant quantity of birth, death, and bitter passion in Philipp Meyer’s grand and engrossing Texas saga.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • “It may not be the Great American Novel, but it certainly is a damn good one.”

    Entertainment Weekly (Grade A)

  • “By the novel’s end, Philipp Meyer has demonstrated that he can write a potboiler of the first rank, aswirl with pulpy pleasures: impossible love affairs, illicit sex, strife between fathers and sons, the unhappiness of the rich, the corruptions of power.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “This is the book you want to read this summer... Every facet of Meyer’s world--scent and sight and sensation--has weight and heft...Meyer’s dream is a nightmare in which blood seeks power. It’s also unputdownable.”

    Esquire

  • “Philipp Meyer offers a tale that spans generations and, in its own way, encapsulates the history of the state itself.”

    Los Angeles Times

  • “With its vast scope—stretching from pre-Civil War cowboys to post-9/11 immigrants—The Son makes a viable claim to be a Great American Novel of the sort John Dos Passos and Frank Norris once produced.”

    Washington Post

  • “[In] Meyer’s brilliant second novel…the writing is strong…and rich with detail…A wonderful novel.”

    Financial Times

  • “A novel that is an epic in the truest sense of the word: massive in scope, replete with transformations in fortune and fate, and drenched in the blood of war.”

    Huffington Post

  • “One of those books that remind you how totally absorbing a novel can be... the work of an uncommonly visionary and skillful writer with a superb sense of pacing... A beautiful, violent and frequently heartbreaking book, but it is not without a sense of fun.”

    Washington Independent Review of Books

  • “Meyer’s massive Texas saga is perhaps the best Indian captive story ever written…[Meyer’s] tale is best compared to Giant. Little Big Man and Lonesome Dove also come to mind.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Meyer never falters…Like all destined classics, Meyer’s second novel speaks volumes about humanity—our insatiable greed, our inherent frailty, the endless cycle of conquer or be conquered. So, too, his characters’ successes and failures serve as a constant reminder: ‘There is nothing we will not have mastered, except, of course, ourselves.’”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Meyer brings the bloody, racially fraught history of Texas to life. Call it a family saga or an epic, this novel is a violent and harrowing read.”

    Library Journal

  • “An expertly written tale of ancient crimes, with every period detail—and every detail, period—just right.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred reviews)

  • “The story of our founding mythology; of the men and women who tore a country from the wilderness and the price paid in blood by subsequent generations. An epic in the tradition of Faulkner and Melville, this is the work of a writer at the height of his power.”

    Kevin Powers, award-winning author

  • “Philipp Meyer’s wonderful novel employs beautiful turns of phrase, imaginative imagery, and vivid scenes. It’s all matched by the quality narration of a full cast. Will Patton’s grizzled voice is perfect for Eli, who becomes a man at a young age. Kate Mulgrew’s deep-voiced twang gives great-granddaughter J. A. the vocal personality her independence deserves. And Scott Shepherd’s slightly shaky and tired voice is perfect for Peter, Eli’s son, who details his perspective through the pages of his diary. Meyer’s story recounts more than 150 years, covering rough and rocky ground, which is smoothed out by attentive narrators. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award. A 2014 Audies finalist.”

    AudioFile

  • A Booklist Top 10 in June 2013
  • Selected for the June 2013 Indie Next List
  • An AudioFile Editors’ Pick, June 2013
  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A Publishers Weekly Bestseller
  • A Los Angeles Times Bestseller
  • One of New York Times Book Review 100 Notable Books of2013
  • An Amazon Top 100 Book of 2013
  • A 2013 Entertainment Weekly Best Book for Fiction
  • One of Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of 2013 for Fiction
  • A 2013 Chicago Tribune Book of the Year
  • An NPR Bestseller
  • A 2013 BookPage Best Book
  • An Audie Award Finalist for 2014 for Best Narration
  • A Washington Post Top 10 Book of 2013
  • A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2013 for Fiction
  • A 2014 Pulitzer Prize Finalist for Fiction
  • A 2013 USA Today Best Book
  • Winner of the 2014 Western Heritage Award for Best Western Novel
  • A 2014 Indies Choice Award Honoree for Adult Ficiton
  • One of Oprah’s Terrific Reads: Ten Titles to Pick Up Now
  • One of Globe and Mail (Toronto) Best Books of 2013
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Philipp Meyer

Philipp Meyer grew up in Baltimore, dropped out of high school, and got his GED when he was sixteen. After spending several years volunteering at a trauma center in downtown Baltimore, he attended Cornell University, where he studied English. Since graduating, he has worked as a derivatives trader at UBS, a construction worker, and an EMT, among other jobs. His writing has been published in McSweeney’s, Iowa Review, and Salon. From 2005 to 2008 Meyer was a fellow at the Michener Center for Writers in Austin, Texas. He splits his time between Texas and upstate New York.