Extended Audio Sample

Download The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter, and Tears at the World’s Most Famous Cooking School Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter, and Tears at the World’s Most Famous Cooking School, by Kathleen Flinn Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (4,948 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kathleen Flinn Narrator: Cassandra Campbell Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

In 2003, Kathleen Flinn, a thirty-six year old American living and working in London, returned from vacation to find that her corporate job had been eliminated. Ignoring her mother’s advice that she get another job immediately or “never get hired anywhere ever again,” Flinn instead cleared out her savings and moved to Paris to pursue a dream-a diploma from the famed Le Cordon Bleu.

The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry is the touching and remarkably funny account of Flinn’s transformation as she moves through the school’s intense program and falls deeply in love along the way. Flinn interweaves more than two dozen recipes with a unique look inside Le Cordon Bleu amid battles with demanding chefs, competitive classmates, and her “wretchedly inadequate” French. Flinn offers a vibrant portrait of Paris, one in which the sights and sounds of the city’s street markets and purveyors come alive in rich detail.

The ultimate wish fulfillment book, her story is a true testament to pursuing a dream. Fans of Julie & Julia, My LIfe in France, and Eat, Pray, Love will be amused, inspired, and richly rewarded by this seductive tale of romance, Paris, and French food.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_000757

Quotes & Awards

  • “I can never get enough of true stories about people who stop in the middle of their life’s journey to ask, ‘What do I really want?’ and then have the guts to actually go get it. Kathleen Flinn’s tale of chasing her ultimate dream makes for a really lovely book—engaging, intelligent, and surprisingly suspenseful.”

    Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love

  • The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry is an engaging story about a fantasy fulfilled. It’s Under the Tuscan Sun goes to cooking school.”

    Michal Ruhlman, author of The Soul of a Chef

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Kristee | 2/19/2014

    " I did not care for the writing style however I liked how in the book Kathleen suggests the idea of living her life in a more meaningful way and discovering her authentic self by pursuing her dream of going to Le Cordon Bleu. Her experience seemed to teach her life lessons in taking risks, working hard, accepting her limitations, and allowing others to become real to her. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Lisa Foodies | 2/19/2014

    " Love love love this book! Kathleen I will treasure it when I need to escape once again. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Jacqueline | 2/11/2014

    " I couldn't get into this. I didn't ever really care about the author, and while the school is also a major character in the book, I was never able to care much about it, either. The cheesy "moral / life lesson" at the end of each very short chapter was annoying. And, I stopped reading the recipes at the end of each chapter, as the more complicated they got, the more they damaged my (already crumbling) self-esteem when it comes to cooking/baking/boiling water. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Ty | 2/7/2014

    " this book is the story of a woman who loses her job that she did not like and decides to go for her life long dream of attending the Cordon Bleu cooking school in Paris. i thought it was a very entertaining story, with just the right combination of personal drama mixed with the difficulties of attending a very difficult and rigorous cooking school in France, without knowing French. some laughs and tears along the way for good measure. a good read for those into things cooking or French, so i win both ways. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations