Extended Audio Sample

Download The Secret Life of Prince Charming Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Secret Life of Prince Charming Audiobook, by Deb Caletti Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (2,584 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Deb Caletti Narrator: Jeannie Stith Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2009 ISBN: 9781423393740
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Quinn is surrounded by women who have had their hearts broken. Between her mother, her aunt, and her grandmother, Quinn hears nothing but cautionary tales. She tries to be an optimist – after all, she’s the dependable one, the girl who never makes foolish choices. But when she is abruptly and unceremoniously dumped, Quinn starts to think maybe there really are no good men. It doesn’t help that she’s gingerly handling a renewed relationship with her formerly absent father. He’s a little bit of a lot of things: charming, selfish, eccentric, lazy...but he’s her dad, and Quinn’s just happy to have him around again. Until she realizes how horribly he’s treated the many women in his life, how he’s stolen more than just their hearts. Determined to, for once, take action in her life, Quinn joins forces with the half sister she’s never met and the little sister she’ll do anything to protect. Together, they set out to right her father’s wrongs...and in doing so, begin to uncover what they’re really looking for: the truth. Once again, Deb Caletti has created a motley crew of lovably flawed characters who bond over the shared experiences of fear, love, pain, and joy – in other words, real life. “Caletti’s gifts for voice and for conjuring multidimensional personalities are at their sharpest.” Publishers Weekly starred review Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_001646

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jen Mech | 2/13/2014

    " I really liked the characters in this book, however, I could not force myself to finish it. At page 139, I finally called it quits. I kept waiting and waiting for the action to start, and I kept saying "next chapter, next chapter," but it always seemed like I was chasing rainbows. I am sure that the action WAS about to start when I dropped this novel, but I didn't have the patience to finish it. Maybe I'll try again sometime. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah | 2/10/2014

    " As soon as I saw this advanced review copy on the showroom floor at Midwinter this week, I snatched it. After reading Alex Award contenders for a year, I was thirsting for some really good chick lit! And Caletti fulfilled, as always. Quinn is a teenage girl still optimistic about love, even though the other women in her family give her nothing but advice. Heck, the list of what a man should NOT do is even posted on the refrigerator door! Both her mom and grandma are jaded, but Quinn and her aunt aren't giving up yet. Quinn realizes what it's like to lose someone you don't really love, and to be gain someone you love at first sight. But the best parts of the novel are the vignettes of advice from the women in the book. Most of the women are ex-wives or ex-girlfriends of Quinn's father. Um, let's just say he loves 'em and leaves 'em. But then he takes a souvenier. So, Quinn and her step-sister take off on an extended weekend to return the "stuff" their dad has collected over the years. During the journey, they connect as sisters, start to understand their father more, and discover a lot about themselves. A great read! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Brenda | 2/8/2014

    " The jury is still out on Deb Caletti. She definitely writes non-traditional teen books with strong girl characters, but I'm not sure I like the topics she chooses. This book wasn't bad, but it did have some strong language. I did like reading the other women's stories about falling in love, but it took a while to sort out who was who... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Heidi | 2/1/2014

    " 1st, this is not the cover on my book! :) Second, this book is really interesting. The down side is that there was language in it. It had lots of interesting bits of wisdom on what real love is and what kind of behavior in boys/men to avoid like the plague, but was offered in a very interesting way. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amanda Everett | 1/21/2014

    " It was ok. It took be forever to finally get into it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ariana | 1/20/2014

    " I did like this book, but if I can be honest, the geographical errors with regard to Vancouver frustrated me to the point that my enjoyment was compromised. Petty? Probably, but this is why fact-checking is important. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Amelia Jessica | 1/16/2014

    " This is an amazing book that will change the way you see the world. It will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, and I would highly recommend it, both for the entertaining story and the larger message. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Richelle | 12/18/2013

    " This book was great! What a way to think about relationships and a good message to teenage girls to NOT settle! You will know when it is right. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Joella www.cinjoella.com | 12/6/2013

    " I got tired of fighting my cd player for this one. It wouldn't recognize the cds and I just stopped caring enough to find out what happened. Maybe it would be good, but 4 cds into it and I was just done. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Katie | 12/4/2013

    " Thought this was a great book altoghether "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Leah | 5/27/2013

    " This was an excellent story... a general feel good book! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kara Huffman | 11/17/2012

    " I loved how each woman who was ever hurt was able to tell a part of their story during the main story line. It was hard to follow at first, but when I got the swing of things, I loved following along with the Quinn on her journey of discovery and love. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lily C. | 10/15/2012

    " The cover and title... erm. But the story... wow. One of the best "road trip" stories ever. And thankfully, an almost-ANTI-fairy tale. There are no damsels in distress here. Just real women, real girls, and a really, REALLY old pickup truck. So great on so many levels! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Tricia | 9/25/2012

    " This book didn't keep my interest. I didn't finish it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jerilyn | 6/30/2012

    " Because of the title I expected this to be a romance. It was not. It was a realistic story about relationships: male/female, parent/child, siblings. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 ♥Tiffany♥ | 3/28/2012

    " this book was just okay for me. There was a lot of language in the book I am sensitive to that so it was a real downer to me. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jazmin | 12/3/2011

    " This book was pretty good. It's about a girl finding love and finding the truth about her father. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gabrielle Carolina | 6/30/2011

    " It's amazing; might be my favorite Caletti ever, or at least second to Honey, Baby, Sweetheart, which, if you read my blog, you know I quote religiously. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laurie | 6/9/2011

    " Another winner from Caletti, but the foul language was distracting. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Susan | 5/26/2011

    " Made me glad I have not had to start a new relationship in a long,long time & that I am not 17! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Maggiy | 5/20/2011

    " I was not impressed. I loved all of Deb Caletti's other books, but this was an exception. The main character was, quite frankly, boring. The premise is exciting but the book itself just dragged on and on, with little action actually happening. Skip this one, but read any of Deb Caletti's others! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Catalina | 5/4/2011

    " The beginning was a little slow, but once the plot was revealed and everything started falling into place, I enjoyed it. I liked the idea of going on a road trip to return lost things, especially with a hot guitar playing guy along for the ride. Not my favorite Deb Calleti, but I liked it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laurel (The Book Garden) | 4/14/2011

    " A 4.5er. I loved it! Review to come, but looking forward to reading a lot more Deb Caletti. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cat | 4/10/2011

    " Ok so this is probably the fourth book I've read by Deb Caletti, and I think they're simple and sweet. Not too much romance so that it's overwhelming, but romantic funny, where the supporting characters are really the ones with the big problem. Inspiring. :) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nicki | 3/13/2011

    " Great! But I think they had to much dialog... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Susan | 2/16/2011

    " I liked most of the little pieces of love life advice given throughout the book by the women, but at the end, I thought it veered off into fairy tale expectations. Love is most definitely not always easy, especially after many years of marriage. It doesn't just exist without some effort! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jaclyn | 2/15/2011

    " Great book, and I love the title. I also love all of her book covers. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rowen | 1/13/2011

    " i read this book and forgot about it because i skimmed most of it and then i saw it at our church garage sale and bought it and read it again and fell in love with Quinn and her mixed up feelings about everything. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Emily | 1/2/2011

    " By far my favorite book ever. This book was just so... amazing. I was caught up in from the first page and I never wanted it to end. This book was a true work of art. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Deb CalettiDeb Caletti’s first novel for teens was The Queen of Everything, was nominated for YALSA's Best Books for Young Adults, and was chosen for PSLA's Top Forty of 2003 and the International Reading Association's Young Adult Choices for 2004. Honey, Baby, Sweetheart, a National Book Award finalist, was Deb's second book for teens. Deb lives with her family part-time on acreage in Issaquah, a Seattle suburb, and part-time in the city on a houseboat. She steals her best lines from her mother, her kids, and the dog, who doesn't seem to mind. You can visit her at www.debcaletti.com.
About the Narrator

Jeannie Stith is a professional voice-over artist. Her clients for professional and promotional voice work include Crayola, Barbie, Motorola, and Verizon. Also an Earphones Award–winning narrator, she has read more than a dozen audio books, including Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson, Nightworld by L. J. Smith, and There You’ll Find Me by Jenny B. Jones.