Extended Audio Sample

Download The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Queens Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery Audiobook, by Susan Elia MacNeal Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Susan Elia MacNeal Narrator: Susan Duerden Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Maggie Hope Mysteries Release Date: October 2016 ISBN: 9780735285125
Regular Price: $20.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the New York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.

England, 1942. The Nazis’ relentless Blitz may have paused, but London’s nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper’s crimes. What’s more, he’s targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill’s spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI-5 quickly realize they need the help of special agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed “the Blackout Beast.” A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.

Praise for The Queen’s Accomplice

Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint.”Kirkus Reviews

“A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant.”Booklist

“Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal’s novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie’s next adventure.”Shelf Awareness

“Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense.”Historical Novel Society

“For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy.”Reviewing the Evidence

“MacNeal’s meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays off with a wartime atmosphere that feels real.”Crimespree Magazine Download and start listening now!

bv7h

Quotes & Awards

  • “MacNeal delivers a realistic portrait of the now war-weary city recovering from the Blitz and still determined to persevere against the German war machine. The grisly nature of the murders and the shocking conclusion are just what Maggie’s fans expect from their favorite secret agent.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint. Kirkus Reviews
  • A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant. Booklist
  • Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal’s novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie’s next adventure. Shelf Awareness
  • Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense. Historical Novel Society
  • For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy. Reviewing the Evidence
  • MacNeal’s meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays off with a wartime atmosphere that feels real. Crimespree Magazine

    Praise for the Maggie Hope series

     
  • You’ll be [Maggie Hope’s] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes. O: The Oprah Magazine
  • “Echoes of classic crime meet international espionage in MacNeal’s accomplished sixth WWII mystery…MacNeal’s engaging characters, vivid scene-setting, moments of romance, and rich historical detail offer plenty to enjoy.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “With the indomitable Maggie serving as bait for the Beast and then taking off to pursue dangling story lines, this is a fine historical mystery given a feminist slant.”

    Booklist

  • “An accomplished young woman fights hate and misogyny in World War II Britain…Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • Narrator Susan Duerden artfully depicts wartime Britain and the indomitable Maggie Hope…Vivid descriptions of the countryside and Nazi atrocities evoke a you-are-there feel in the ever-changing setting. Duerden’s best creation is gutsy eighty-five-year-old air raid warden Vera Baines…Good portraits of “K” the cat and a belligerent drunk, along with Hope’s thoughts, add to the listening pleasure. The wonderful conclusion features a commanding Queen Mother.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Susan Elia MacNeal

Susan Elia MacNeal is the author of the Maggie Hope mysteries, including Mr. Churchill’s Secretary, Princess Elizabeth’s Spy, and His Majesty’s Hope. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and child.

About the Narrator

Susan Duerden is a critically acclaimed audiobook narrator. Her reading of The Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht earned her an AudioFile Best Voice Award and a Booklist Editors’ Choice Award. She has won ten AudioFile Earphones Awards.