Extended Audio Sample

Download The Prime Minister's Secret Agent: A Maggie Hope Mystery Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Prime Ministers Secret Agent: A Maggie Hope Mystery, by Susan Elia MacNeal Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Susan Elia MacNeal Narrator: Susan Duerden Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Maggie Hope Mysteries Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry, The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent is a gripping new mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. And this time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.

World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp and to heal from scars on both her body and her heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue.

When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow—including one of Maggie’s dearest friends—Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it’s the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war—and indelibly shape Maggie’s fate.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A splendid historical novel that combines details about WW II with a riveting mystery. The research is complete and fascinating, moving between an America that hasn’t entered the war (yet), a Japan planning a secret attack on Pearl Harbor, and an England where Churchill wants America’s help in the war. Readers get the story from the perspective of an American woman who starts as Churchill’s secretary and becomes a spy. The scenes are so detailed that readers will feel as if they are next to the characters and listening to them speaking.”

    RT Book Reviews (4½ stars Top Pick)

  • “Set in 1941, MacNeal’s fine fourth Maggie Hope mystery finds Maggie teaching at a training camp for spies in Scotland…MacNeal focuses on the moral price of war, whose costs affect everyone from Maggie to Winston Churchill. She seamlessly mixes fact and fiction in the buildup to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “In her fourth solidly researched Maggie Hope mystery, MacNeal details small slips that lead to great tragedies as she lays the groundwork for a post-Pearl mission for Maggie. A treat for WWII buffs and mystery lovers alike.”


  • “You’ll be [Maggie Hope’s] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes.”

    O: The Oprah Magazine, praise for the series

  • “With false starts, double agents, and red herrings…MacNeal provides a vivid view of life both above and below stairs at Windsor Castle.”

    Publishers Weekly, praise for Princess Elizabeth’s Spy

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations