The Punishment She Deserves: A Lynley Novel Audiobook, by Elizabeth George Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Punishment She Deserves: A Lynley Novel Audiobook

The Punishment She Deserves: A Lynley Novel Audiobook, by Elizabeth George Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $23.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $30.00 Add to Cart
Author: Elizabeth George Narrator: Simon Vance Publisher: Penguin Audio Audio Length: Series:The Inspector Lynley Series Release Date: March 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780525529828

Publisher Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers and Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley are forced to confront the past as they try to solve a crime that threatens to tear apart the very fabric of a quiet, historic medieval town in England The cozy, bucolic town of Ludlow is stunned when one of its most revered and respected citizens--Ian Druitt, the local deacon--is accused of a serious crime. Then, while in police custody, Ian is found dead. Did he kill himself? Or was he murdered? When Barbara Havers is sent to Ludlow to investigate the chain of events that led to Ian's death, all the evidence points to suicide. But Barbara can't shake the feeling that she's missing something. She decides to take a closer look at the seemingly ordinary inhabitants of Ludlow--mainly elderly retirees and college students--and discovers that almost everyone in town has something to hide. A masterful work of suspense, The Punishment She Deserves sets Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers and Inspector Thomas Lynley against one of their most intricate cases. Fans of the longtime series will love the many characters from Elizabeth George's previous novels who join Lynley and Havers, and readers new to the series will quickly see why she is one of the most popular and critically acclaimed writers of our time. Both a page-turner and a deeply complex story about the lies we tell, the lies we believe, and the redemption we need, this novel will be remembered as one of George's best.

Download and start listening now!


  • “Rich with descriptive detail and emotional nuance. Several alternating plot threads unspool at length, all of which weave tightly together with pleasing inevitability.”

    - Wall Street Journal
  • “This, yet again, falls among the ‘must reads’ in the suspense world…This book is one you do not want to miss.”

    - Suspense Magazine
  • “Let’s face it, Simon Vance is a rock star. His performance of this complex and multifaceted murder mystery is vivid and perfectly paced. There are no fewer than four disastrous mother-child snarls in the mix here, as well as all manner of British class and ethnic variations among investigators, suspects, and bystanders, and Vance is simply at home with all of it…A clever puzzle, brilliantly read. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    - AudioFile
  • “As always, George’s cunning revelations are deftly staged… George exposes not only the sordid truth behind Druitt’s death but also the frailty that deepens each of her characters, even the magisterial Lynley.”

    - Barnes&
  • “Bolstered by George’s polished prose, the twentieth Lynley mystery moves briskly along, showing the author at the peak of her powers.”

    - Booklist (starred review)
  • “George’s stunning twentieth Thomas Lynley novel…tackles a number of emotionally charged social issues with sensitivity and grace. Exquisitely rendered characters and a powerful sense of place enhance the meticulously crafted mystery, which satisfies as a stand-alone while furthering the series arc.”

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “The continuing story of beloved series characters and an engrossing plot make for a blockbuster combination that will reward longtime George fans and readers who appreciate serious mysteries.”

    - Library Journal (starred review)
  • “Rewarding: trademark George, with elements of the classic procedural nicely joined to today’s headlines.”

    - Kirkus Reviews


  • A New York Times bestseller
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • The 2019 Audie Award Winner for Best Narration in Mysteries

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Elizabeth George is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty psychological suspense novels, four young adult novels, one book of nonfiction, and two short-story collections. Her work has been honored with the Anthony and Agatha awards, two Edgar nominations, and both France's and Germany's first prize for crime fiction, as well as several other prestigious prizes.

About the Narrator

Simon Vance (a.k.a. Robert Whitfield) is an award-winning actor and narrator. He has earned more than fifty Earphones Awards and won the prestigious Audie Award for best narration thirteen times. He was named Booklist’s very first Voice of Choice in 2008 and has been named an AudioFile Golden Voice as well as an AudioFile Best Voice of 2009. He has narrated more than eight hundred audiobooks over almost thirty years, beginning when he was a radio newsreader for the BBC in London. He is also an actor who has appeared on both stage and television.