Download The Poet Laureates, Vol. 1: John Skelton to Robert Southey Audiobook

The Poet Laureates, Vol. 1: John Skelton to Robert Southey Audiobook, by various authors Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: various authors Narrator: various narrators Publisher: Copyright Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2014 ISBN: 9781783940226
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The office of poet laureate is a high honor among poets. The honor was first present among the ancient Greeks, whose heroes and poets wore wreaths of laurel in honor of the god Apollo.

Unfortunately no single definitive record exists of the office of Poet Laureate of England. In some form it can be traced back to 1189 and Richard Canonicus who was employed by Richard I with the title “versificator Regis.” It is said that Geoffrey Chaucer was called poet laureate, being granted in 1389 an annual allowance of wine. However, it is not until 1617 that King James I created the post as it is known today for Ben Jonson, although it appears not to have been a formal appointment. That formality—the title of Poet Laureate, as a royal office—was first conferred by letters patent on John Dryden in 1670.

From there we have procession of outstanding writers, among them William Wordsworth, Alfred Lord Tennyson, Alfred Austin, and Edmund Spenser. Collected here in this first volume are works by these great poets.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Louisa May Alcott (1832–1888) was born in Germantown, Pennsylvania. Educated by her father until she was sixteen, she also studied under Henry David Thoreau, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and Theodore Parker. A prolific writer, her most famous work was Little Women, a timeless American classic.

About the Narrator

Maria Liatis is a voice talent and audiobook narrator.