Extended Audio Sample

Download The Moving Target Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Moving Target Audiobook, by Ross Macdonald Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (803 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ross Macdonald Narrator: Grover Gardner Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Lew Archer Series Release Date: October 2008 ISBN: 9781455178032
Regular Price: $16.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Like many Southern California millionaires, Ralph Sampson keeps odd company. There’s the sun-worshiping holy man whom Sampson once gave his very own mountain, and the fading actress with sidelines in astrology and S&M. Now, one of Sampson’s friends may have arranged his kidnapping.

As private eye Lew Archer follows the clues from the canyon sanctuaries of the megarich to jazz joints where you can get beaten up between sets, The Moving Target blends sex, greed, misdirected love, and family hatred into an explosive crime novel.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_002810

Quotes & Awards

  • “This is hard-boiled detective writing at the top of its form.”

    Library Journal

  • “Lew Archer was possibly the ultimate father figure and Ross Macdonald is probably still best read as a young man, preferably in a bus station at 1 AM, with everything you own in a backpack, waiting for a bus to somewhere/anywhere else.”

    Kevin Burton Smith

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brett James | 2/19/2014

    " I can't tell you how many times I've pull this book off the shelf just to read the first page to someone. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Elizabeth | 2/12/2014

    " This is the very first mystery from the excellent Lew Archer series by Ross MacDonald. It lives up to the hype! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cori Arnold | 1/26/2014

    " Inspired by "The Galton Case" to read this one. While it isn't quite as good, it's still great! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Roshni | 1/18/2014

    " An awesomel complex mystery et in California. Archer is a cynicist, humorist, and idealist somehow all at the same time "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nonamedufus | 12/2/2013

    " Loved Ross Macdonald's first book. While written in the 40s it still stands up. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 doug bowman | 11/22/2013

    " Ah Lew Archer. Always an avuncular figure just trying to get to the bottom of all things "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jesse | 5/6/2013

    " Very much a continuation of Chandler's style-- the spare narration that occasionally bursts into philosophical wordiness, entangled plot, pervading darkness and pessimism. I enjoyed it immensely. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Francis | 10/9/2012

    " When it comes to who is the greatest of the hard-boiled detective writers question? - I always go with Raymond Chandler without hesitation. It's only when I have recently read a Ross Macdonald book ..that my smile twitches at the corners and my eyes show a flicker of self-doubt. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jan C | 9/16/2012

    " Read many years ago when I was on my Ross Macdonald kick. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tfitoby | 3/24/2012

    " The first of Grandmaster MacDonald's Lew Archer series is pretty much what you would expect from a talented young writer trying to emulate Chandler and Hammett. It's better written than most that followed but it's also derivative and obvious. A solid start but he gets better with age and experience. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Adam | 11/17/2011

    " My first exposure to Ross Macdonald and Lew Archer. A good, page-turning mystery in the vein of Hammett & Chandler. Not terribly memorable, but amply enjoyable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Donald | 10/11/2010

    " Lots of twists and turns in this yarn! And it is just over 200 pages, so it goes quickly! Maybe too quickly, as I got confused a few times over who done what to whom! But well worth the time! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 David | 1/8/2010

    " Can people really kill someone and assume their identity without no one catching on? In Ross MacDonald's world it seems to happen all the time. I love Archer, but this one was not one of my favorites. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Keith | 12/13/2009

    " The most complicated Lew Archer I've yet read. Some fiendish twists, the impact of which is lessened somewhat by two chapters of exposition before the conclusion. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alan | 5/11/2009

    " Fairly good LA-noir type mystery, but definately not one of his better ones. Still, great plot twists at the end. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Ross Macdonald

Ross Macdonald (1915–1983) was the pen name of Kenneth Millar. Born near San Francisco but raised in British Columbia, he returned to the United States as a young man and published his first novel in 1944. His works have received awards from the Mystery Writers of America and of Great Britain, and his book The Moving Target was made into the movie Harper in 1966. 

About the Narrator

Grover Gardner (a.k.a. Tom Parker) is an award-winning narrator with over eight hundred titles to his credit. Named one of the “Best Voices of the Century” and a Golden Voice by AudioFile magazine, he has won three prestigious Audie Awards, was chosen Narrator of the Year for 2005 by Publishers Weekly, and has earned more than thirty Earphones Awards.