Extended Audio Sample

Download The Mill River Recluse: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Mill River Recluse: A Novel Audiobook, by Darcie Chan Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Darcie Chan Narrator: Amy Rubinate Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Mill River Series Release Date: June 2014 ISBN: 9780553398090
Regular Price: $21.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The sensational New York Times bestseller The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself.
 
But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River—including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest—who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O’Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated—and that, once revealed, will forever change the community.
 
Praise for The Mill River Recluse
 
“A heartwarming story.”Examiner
 
“[Darcie] Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“A real page-turner.”IndieReader
 
“Chan does an amazing job with pacing while maintaining continuity and weaving universal themes such as friendship, love, new beginnings and overcoming adversities into small town life.”RT Book Reviews
 
“This debut novel is a genre-breaking thriller with romantic overtones that should appeal to both men and women.”Huntington News
 
“Chan’s compassionate novel . . . blends elements of mystery, suspense and romance . . . [and] culminates in a beautifully rendered denouement that rekindles hope for a troubled world.”Shelf Awareness Download and start listening now!

bai0

Quotes & Awards

  • A heartwarming story. Examiner
  • [Darcie] Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together. Kirkus Reviews
  • A real page-turner. IndieReader
  • Chan does an amazing job with pacing while maintaining continuity and weaving universal themes such as friendship, love, new beginnings and overcoming adversities into small town life. RT Book Reviews
     
  • This debut novel is a genre-breaking thriller with romantic overtones that should appeal to both men and women. Huntington News
     
  • Chan’s compassionate novel . . . blends elements of mystery, suspense and romance . . . [and] culminates in a beautifully rendered denouement that rekindles hope for a troubled world. Shelf Awareness
  • “Possessing multiple storylines, both past and present, The Mill River Recluse takes an introspective look at the life of widow and recluse Mary McAllister and her far-reaching impact on the small town of Mill River…Chan does an amazing job with pacing while maintaining continuity and weaving universal themes such as friendship, love, new beginnings, and overcoming adversities into small town life.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “The hardworking people of a small Vermont town are on the receiving end of a benefactress’ goodwill…A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Darcie Chan is a former lawyer and the self-published author of The Mill River Recluse, her debut e-book that appeared on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists for more than thirty weeks. She now writes fiction full-time and lives in New York with her husband and son.

About the Narrator

Amy Rubinate has narrated over 250 audiobooks and won multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards. Her books have been selected for AudioFile’s Best Romance of 2016 list; Booklist’s Top 10 Romance, Top 10 Historical Fiction, Editor’s Choice Media; and YALSA’s Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults. She has a degree in oral interpretation of literature and won state and national awards for poetry reading. A voice actor and singer for over a decade, Amy has narrated many interactive children’s books and provided character voices for toys and video games. Amy’s work has been featured in the New York Times, the San Francisco Chronicle, AudioFile magazine, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and Library Journal.