The Mapmakers Daughter: A Novel Audiobook, by Katherine Nouri-Hughes Play Audiobook Sample

The Mapmaker's Daughter: A Novel Audiobook

The Mapmakers Daughter: A Novel Audiobook, by Katherine Nouri-Hughes Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Kirsten Potter Publisher: Tantor Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 7.50 hours at 1.5x Speed 5.63 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: November 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781705250709

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

34

Longest Chapter Length:

38:43 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

02:56 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

19:54 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

1

Publisher Description

A novel of the Venetian girl who became the most powerful woman in the Ottoman Empire—perfect for fans of Netflix's Magnificent Century.

The Ottoman Empire was at the height of its power during the sixteenth century when Cecilia Baffo Veniero was kidnapped from her Venetian homeland and chosen to be the wife of Selim II, successor to Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent. She would be known as Nurbanu.

The Mapmaker's Daughter vividly imagines the confession of Nurbanu as she lies on her sickbed narrating the spectacular story of her rise to the pinnacle of imperial power, determined to understand how her extraordinary destiny was shaped. With unflinching candor, Nurbanu reviews the desires and motives that have both propelled and harmed her, as she considers her role as a devoted yet manipulative mother, helping to orchestrate her son's succession to the throne. Serving as the appointed enforcer of one of the empire's most crucial and shocking laws, Nurbanu confronts the consequences of her loves and her choices—right up to one last shattering revelation.

Download and start listening now!

The Mapmaker's Daughter Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Kirsten Potter

Kirsten Potter has won several awards, including more than a dozen AudioFile Earphones Awards and been a three-time finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. Her work has been recognized by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts and by AudioFile magazine, among many others. She graduated with highest honors from Boston University and has performed on stage and in film and television, including roles on Medium, Bones, and Judging Amy.