Extended Audio Sample

Download The Long Way Home: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Long Way Home: A Novel, by Robin Pilcher Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (413 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Robin Pilcher Narrator: Kate Reading Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart.

When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she’s more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer. Their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own, but he is determined to stay in his beloved old house. Art comes up with the idea of turning the place into a conference center, thinking they could purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property.

But the situation is much more complicated than it seems. Claire’s old flame, Jonas Fairwether, has become Leo’s caretaker and trusted confidant. Though Claire distrusts Jonas’s motives, Leo chooses to take his advice to put the house up for public auction rather than sell directly to Art and Claire. Claire is immediately suspicious, and even more so when she finds out that another application has been submitted to develop the property. Does Jonas Fairwether want to knock down the house and build a development? It looks like whoever is behind the plan is being driven by financial gain, but there may be an even stronger motive.

The Long Way Home will keep readers on the edge of their seats. This is a masterful novel from a master storyteller.

Download and start listening now!

BK_AREN_001073

Quotes & Awards

  • The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher at his best. I devoured every word of this masterful storyteller.”

    Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Lisa | 2/17/2014

    " OK story. Fun, quick read. Read it while I was sick for a light and easy read. Likely won't be recommending this one. Didn't think the story was that great nor the characters too believable. Reminded me of a cheap soap opera. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Visnja | 2/8/2014

    " This book is poorly written, like I'm watching some pathetic american film. It is like the writer took some boring scenario and copy paste it and publish as a book. Dialogues are just... nah, characters also. It is about reach people and their "problems". Wasting of time. I'm reading it only because I want to learn English so I thought that some easy book would be good for the start but it was a mistake, I just got annoyed. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Sharneel | 2/3/2014

    " An anglophile, I love novels that largely take place in the Isles: Scotland, in this case. Has a twist that keeps suspended knowledge important to the healing of relationships. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Susan | 2/3/2014

    " Like many others I was picked this up because of it being set in Scotland but the author did a horrible job making you feel like it was a "special" place - it sounded dull and gray and for all that was mentioned about Scotland, it could have been set anywhere. Very disappointing in that respect. The twist was suspenseful which kept me reading. Jumping around in times was just confusing - it was better at the end when it just followed one timeline. Just o.k. I wouldn't read another of his books though. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations