Extended Audio Sample

Download The Last Ship: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Last Ship: A Novel, by William Brinkley Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5 4.50 (2 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: William Brinkley Narrator: Christopher Lan Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $29.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Hailed “an extraordinary novel of men at war” (Washington Post), The Last Ship is the book that inspired the TNT miniseries starring Eric Dane, Rhona Mitra, and Adam Baldwin, with Michael Bay as executive producer.

The unimaginable has happened: the world has been plunged into all-out nuclear war. Sailing near the Arctic Circle, the USS Nathan James is relatively unscathed, but the future is grim and Captain Thomas is facing mutiny from the tattered remnants of his crew. With civilization in ruins, he urges those that remain—152 men and 26 women—to pull together in search of land. Once they reach safety, however, the men and women on board realize that they are the earth’s last remaining survivors—and they’ve all been exposed to radiation. When none of the women seems able to conceive, fear sets in. Will this be the end of humankind?

This thrilling tale of postapocalyptic suspense is perfect for readers of Going Home by A. American, Lights Out by David Crawford, The End and The Long Road by G. Michael Hopf, and One Second After by William Forstchen.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Nevil Shute wrote a moving book, On the Beach, about the aftermath of a nuclear war…Now William Brinkley has used the same premise to tell and even more fascinating tale.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • “William Brinkley writes in expert detail about life on the sea…Readers will be engaged by this ambitious tale, which draws on the legacies of Melville and Conrad but is full of its own nuclear-age quandaries and horrors.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “An extraordinary novel of men at war, a superb portrait of naval command, The Last Ship is a powerful and exciting novel you will not want to miss.”

    Washington Post

  • “Beautifully written…as if the narrator has set himself the task of preserving the language, of writing it down lest it be lost forever…Brinkley’s plot contains a series of unexpected reversals and the tale’s conclusion is unforgettably intense…The Last Ship is a magnificent book.”

    Cleveland Plain Dealer

  • “Extraordinary…Here is a true classic in the old-new literature of survival.”

    Christian Science Monitor

  • “The author of Don’t Go Near the Water superbly depicts life on a US Navy destroyer after a heavy nuclear exchange…The captain’s narration is thoughtful and sensitive…More than a military adventure, this is a first-rate study of beauty amid ghastliness, engrossing to the end.”

    Library Journal

  • “In an appropriately grim manner, Brinkley entertains the ramifications of survival in the aftermath of World War III. In the wake of a nuclear holocaust, a lone American naval vessel, the destroyer Nathan James, sails the seas in desperate search of an unscathed pocket of the earth…Narrated by the destroyer’s reflective captain, this taut adventure relentlessly examines the consequences of the unthinkable.”


Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by English 101 | 8/25/2015

    " If you like the TNT series of the same name, do NOT buy this book. There are very few points of similarity between the two. The novel is extremely well written but plodding; at least twice as long as it needed to be. It is, at times, incredibly frustrating to listen to. Other times, the author brought a tear to my eyes, so poignant is the narration. Although written in the 1980's, it has the feel of a much older piece of literature. it was satisfying to reach the end, but it took forever to get there. Not for everybody, that's for sure. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

William Brinkley (1917–1993) graduated from the University of Oklahoma and went on to become a commissioned officer in the US Navy during World War II. He was a reporter for the Washington Post and wrote for Life magazine. Brinkley is the author of the bestselling novel Don’t Go Near the Water, which was adapted to film.