Extended Audio Sample

Download The Keeper of Lost Causes Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Keeper of Lost Causes Audiobook, by Jussi Adler-Olsen Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (11,656 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jussi Adler-Olsen Narrator: Erik Davies Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2011 ISBN: 9781101523377
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The Keeper of Lost Causes, the first installment of Adler-Olsen’s Department Q series, features the deeply flawed chief detective Carl Mørck, who used to be a good homicide detective—one of Copenhagen’s best. Then a bullet almost took his life. Two of his colleagues weren’t so lucky, and Carl, who didn’t draw his weapon, blames himself.

So a promotion is the last thing Carl expects.

But it all becomes clear when he sees his new office in the basement. Carl has been selected to run Department Q, a new special investigations division that turns out to be a department of one. With a stack of Copenhagen’s coldest cases to keep him company, he has been put out to pasture. So he’s as surprised as anyone when a case actually captures his interest. A missing politician vanished without a trace five years earlier. The world assumes she’s dead. His colleagues snicker about the time he’s wasting. But Carl may have the last laugh—and redeem himself in the process.

Because she isn’t dead...yet.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001774

Quotes & Awards

  • Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured. The villain is a monster and the crime horrendous, but readers will root for the victim and for the belabored Department Q. This absorbing psychological thriller is recommended not only for fans of Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, and Stieg Larsson but for true crime aficionados who might like to try fiction. Library Journal, (starred review)
  • The new 'it' boy of Nordic Noir. The Times (London)
  • The Keeper of Lost Causes is dark, atmospheric, and compelling. Those who loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will devour this book. C.J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Cold Wind
  • Gripping storytelling. The Guardian
  • Jussi Adler-Olsen tells his stories as wickedly as Dean Koontz and has his detectives work as hard as Stieg Larsson. Jydske Vestkysten (Denmark)
  • This novel is for every Scandinavian crime fiction fan a must-read! Hannoversche Allgemeine (Germany)
  • As impressive as it is unnerving. The Independent
  • An unusually fine and extremely fascinating thriller, which will keep you breathless till the very last page. politiken.dk
  • “This novel is for every Scandinavian crime fiction fan a must-read!”

    Hannoversche Allgemeine (Germany)

  • “As impressive as it is unnerving.”

    Independent

  • “Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “The pages fly by as the twisty puzzle unfolds. Stieg Larsson fans will be delighted.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Plan on putting everything else in your life on hold if you pick up this book.”

    Oregonian

  • “Adler-Olsen’s prose is superior to Larsson’s, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humor.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • Selected for the September 2011 Indie Next List
  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Winner of the 2012 Barry Award for Best Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Thanuja J | 2/8/2014

    " Love the characters in this book! :D Looking forward to the next book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Diane Kuhn | 1/27/2014

    " This is a very well plotted thriller with characters you can believe in and care about. I enjoyed the Danish setting and I can't wait to read the next two books in the series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mel | 1/27/2014

    " Amazing! I was on the edge of my seat. I loved the characters, they were so vivid and memorable. A great story, I will definitely be reading the next in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Helene | 1/25/2014

    " Mystery surrounding disappearance of Danish MP "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Miranda Moore | 1/23/2014

    " oh man I needed this. ever since I finished the girl with the dragon tattoo series, I've been in a serious depression. you know, because stieg larson is dead and everything, so I knew I couldn't count on more books about lisbeth coming out. HOWEVER, this book kind of filled the void inside my heart. just a little bit. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carla | 1/17/2014

    " It was difficult to get into this book at first but by the second half, I could not put it down. Very complicated plot, interesting twists and turns and unpredictable characters. I am looking forward to reading more by this author. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marcia | 1/13/2014

    " Not Steig Larson, but pretty darn food. A compelling plot and two interesting, yet flawed characters....Carl Mork and his assistant, Assad. Maybe a bit of Sherlock and Watson here. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brenda Funk | 12/4/2013

    " Really enjoyed this book, was exciting enough to keep me going along with some interesting personalities and good plot developement. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kelly Maxwell | 9/1/2013

    " Great book in the tradition of Stieg Larsson, Jo Nesbo, and Henning Mankell. I had a hard time putting it down. Can't wait to read the next one! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathy jenkins | 4/27/2013

    " Good bloody crime drama. I will read more. Four stars is a little generous but that's for an ending happier than it could have been "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michael Caplan | 4/26/2013

    " Not a bad book. Certainly not enough character development - and the ending was a bit predictable. However, all in all, a good read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Arna | 4/19/2013

    " A real page turner, although the ending was not a complete shock. More intelligent, but dark, Scandinavian crime fiction. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Charles Finch | 11/25/2012

    " Slow for fifty pages, compulsive for the next 350. Better (for me) than Nesbo or Mankell, but still well shy of Larsson. I'll probably get the next one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tony | 11/5/2012

    " This book was a great read and entertaining throughout. I guessed the outcome in the early going but that didn't take away from the overall enjoyment of the story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jeannie | 10/18/2012

    " So far, my favorite read of 2013. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Elisa | 9/30/2012

    " Those Scandinavian crime writers mess with my rosy view of humanity. ugh "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lissa | 9/7/2012

    " This book is like a train. Taking its time with the momentum, then charging faster and faster. The end arrives, slows and stops. Would have given it 4 stars if the ending wasn't summed up so quickly. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jones | 2/8/2012

    " I enjoyed this book as it was similar to the Dragon Tattoo books. I really enjoy these detective stories. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Keri | 2/1/2012

    " I really enjoyed this quick read "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debra | 11/24/2011

    " Love the idea of the 2-man team working on cold cases. Was very anxious every time the author spent time with the kidnapped victim. Enjoyed the back and forth between the 2 men on the Q team. Definitely a great page-turner, very suspenseful. Can't wait to read the next book in this new series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 John Moeschler | 11/8/2011

    " I listened to this on Audible. Assad and Karl make a great team. Less about setting than I like. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carole | 10/25/2011

    " After opening this book, I nearly discarded it because if seemed so similar to Steig Larsson's writings, which I dislike. But I'm glad I continued reading (an OCD trait of mine), because I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's gritty and hard-hitting, but not as depraved as I found Larsson's book to be. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 ami | 10/20/2011

    " not bad but no harry hole. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Peter | 10/18/2011

    " Waardige opvolger van Mankell en Indridason. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Evelyn | 10/15/2011

    " You just have to love Carl - his quirkyness, his gruff exterior and a heart of gold. And then there is his sidekick in Dept Q - there is more to his story yet to be told. All in all, I just could not put this book down, not wait for the next one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Judi | 10/15/2011

    " Enjoying the exploration of Norse authors. I love the curmudgeonly attitudes of many of the characters. Adler-Olsen is an author I had not previously read...guess I will be adding some of his other books to my request list at the library. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Denise | 10/14/2011

    " After starting with Stief Larrson and moving onto Jo Nesbo, it seemed like pursuing another Scandanavian author would be a good idea. This was an interesting and well paced story, and I would read more by this author....but Carl Morck is no Harry Hole. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Jussi Adler-Olsen

Jussi Adler-Olsen is Denmark’s #1 crime writer. His books routinely top the bestseller lists in Europe and have sold more than sixteen million copies around the world. His many prestigious Nordic crime-writing awards include the Glass Key Award, also won by Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, Stieg Larsson, and Peter Høeg.

About the Narrator

Erik Davies is an accomplished audiobook narrator and voice-over actor. His stage credits include G.R. Point, Unpublished Letters, and Flats Fixed. Some of his television and film appearances include ER, Third Watch, and a starring role in the hit indie comedy High Society: A Pot Boiler. His audiobook narration has won three AudioFile Earphones Awards.