Extended Audio Sample

Download The Keeper of Lost Causes Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Keeper of Lost Causes, by Jussi Adler-Olsen Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (11,656 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jussi Adler-Olsen Narrator: Erik Davies Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

The Keeper of Lost Causes, the first installment of Adler-Olsen’s Department Q series, features the deeply flawed chief detective Carl Mørck, who used to be a good homicide detective—one of Copenhagen’s best. Then a bullet almost took his life. Two of his colleagues weren’t so lucky, and Carl, who didn’t draw his weapon, blames himself.

So a promotion is the last thing Carl expects.

But it all becomes clear when he sees his new office in the basement. Carl has been selected to run Department Q, a new special investigations division that turns out to be a department of one. With a stack of Copenhagen’s coldest cases to keep him company, he has been put out to pasture. So he’s as surprised as anyone when a case actually captures his interest. A missing politician vanished without a trace five years earlier. The world assumes she’s dead. His colleagues snicker about the time he’s wasting. But Carl may have the last laugh—and redeem himself in the process.

Because she isn’t dead...yet.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001774

Quotes & Awards

  • Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured. The villain is a monster and the crime horrendous, but readers will root for the victim and for the belabored Department Q. This absorbing psychological thriller is recommended not only for fans of Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, and Stieg Larsson but for true crime aficionados who might like to try fiction. Library Journal, (starred review)
  • The new 'it' boy of Nordic Noir. The Times (London)
  • The Keeper of Lost Causes is dark, atmospheric, and compelling. Those who loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will devour this book. C.J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Cold Wind
  • Gripping storytelling. The Guardian
  • Jussi Adler-Olsen tells his stories as wickedly as Dean Koontz and has his detectives work as hard as Stieg Larsson. Jydske Vestkysten (Denmark)
  • This novel is for every Scandinavian crime fiction fan a must-read! Hannoversche Allgemeine (Germany)
  • As impressive as it is unnerving. The Independent
  • An unusually fine and extremely fascinating thriller, which will keep you breathless till the very last page. politiken.dk
  • “This novel is for every Scandinavian crime fiction fan a must-read!”

    Hannoversche Allgemeine (Germany)

  • “As impressive as it is unnerving.”

    Independent

  • “Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “The pages fly by as the twisty puzzle unfolds. Stieg Larsson fans will be delighted.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Plan on putting everything else in your life on hold if you pick up this book.”

    Oregonian

  • “Adler-Olsen’s prose is superior to Larsson’s, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humor.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • Selected for the September 2011 Indie Next List
  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Winner of the 2012 Barry Award for Best Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Thanuja J | 2/8/2014

    " Love the characters in this book! :D Looking forward to the next book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Diane Kuhn | 1/27/2014

    " This is a very well plotted thriller with characters you can believe in and care about. I enjoyed the Danish setting and I can't wait to read the next two books in the series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Mel | 1/27/2014

    " Amazing! I was on the edge of my seat. I loved the characters, they were so vivid and memorable. A great story, I will definitely be reading the next in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Helene | 1/25/2014

    " Mystery surrounding disappearance of Danish MP "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations