Extended Audio Sample

Download The Human Blend Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Human Blend, by Alan Dean Foster Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (227 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Alan Dean Foster Narrator: David Colacci Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Tipping Point Trilogy Release Date: November 2010 ISBN: 9781400188666
Regular Price: $16.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The Human Blend is a science fiction adventure centered around a group of thieves living in a future where physical alterations and enhancements are an everyday common occurrence. If you could take on a body with any features you wanted, what would it look like? And what would you do with them-human or otherwise? Download and start listening now!

beoa

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Battlecat | 2/10/2014

    " An interesting book, but as the first in a trilogy I'll have to reserve judgement until I see the other two books. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Joy | 2/9/2014

    " A friend suggested this author. I do like science fiction, not so much detail on how to attach and remove bionic parts. I laid this down several times, read two other books, and without another available I finished reading...interesting concept. I decided I liked the basic story without all the bionic details. Keep in mind, I really don't like a lot of blood and guts details on TV or in other stories. Guess I could try the author again. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Miranda | 2/5/2014

    " Exciting and interesting sci fi. I love me some Alan Dean Foster. :) I'm looking forward to the next one! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 David Caldwell | 2/3/2014

    " First off, this is not a stand alone novel. Or at least it better not be if you want a conclusion. It ends with no resolutions to any of the questions raised. While this isn't necessarily bad, it would have been nice to have known this going into the reading.Secondly there are some little errors that proved annoying. Savannah is not on the Carolina coast. Characters suddenly knowing the name of a character who refused to tell them his name. Taking a page to explain that his name is pronouced Mol-lay even though it is spelled Mole(and he is sometimes called The Mole. This last one is only annoying because you would only make the mistake if you saw his name in writing which only the readers did.Finally the authors use of new words made up of combining words or abbreviations were jarring at times.One example being maniped for manipulated. Easy enough unless you think of someone going for a manicure/pedicure. These are trivial complaints but they did have a tendency to throw me out of the story.Hopefully if there is a second book, it will make up for the shortcomings of this one. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Patrick | 1/8/2014

    " It stinks we never learn what's on this thread thing. I guess you're supposed to want to read the rest of the impending series, but I just don't care that much. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Hilary | 12/20/2013

    " Fans of "Repo Man, The Opera" may enjoy this. Interestingly, the word "android" is unmentioned in this novel... "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Tentiger | 12/6/2013

    " I tried, but couldn't get through it! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Eric Smith | 12/3/2013

    " Eh it's ok. I like the basic plot and the ideas but there is something about his writing style that just doesn't fully engage me. I'll probably read the next one but I'm in no hurry. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Courtney | 12/1/2013

    " Has a lot of potential, but is incredibly anti-climactic. Nothing really happens except going from one place to another and going through the motions of what readers already know. There's also some really forced romance in there that seems incredibly out of place and unbelievable. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 June | 8/10/2013

    " ...did not love it. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Caroline | 4/22/2013

    " It was interesting enough for me to finish it, but it did take a while. I wish it would have not have had such and abrupt ending. I will need to read the other books in this series to make a final judgement. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nancy | 3/21/2013

    " Interesting premise, didn't love the way the story played out. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 hohoholly | 11/23/2012

    " I like Mr. Foster's writing, but didn't love the story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sean Randall | 8/7/2012

    " An interesting future to be sure, but if the second book is expensive I'll probably not be carrying on. Things didn't seem to go very far, but the game board is set up now so progress may be better later in the series. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kristin | 6/28/2012

    " Read from 1/23 - 1/25. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Elyse | 2/21/2012

    " not great writing but good fun sci fi read. it is nice to read a book which doesn't have zombies or wizards but has strange twisted science gone amock in the future story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Marisella | 2/17/2012

    " ADF is one of the best sci-fi authors ever, he creates an incredible new world here "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 E Goldberg | 1/7/2012

    " The master story teller. Possibly his best? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sherry | 10/18/2011

    " Interesting concept. It's a sci-fi, but not really written with the tone of a sci-fi, more like fiction. It was fun, and I look forward to the next ones! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Tentiger | 6/14/2011

    " I tried, but couldn't get through it! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Caroline | 5/12/2011

    " It was interesting enough for me to finish it, but it did take a while. I wish it would have not have had such and abrupt ending. I will need to read the other books in this series to make a final judgement. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 E | 3/27/2011

    " The master story teller. Possibly his best? "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Renfrew | 2/25/2011

    " Fans of "Repo Man, The Opera" may enjoy this. Interestingly, the word "android" is unmentioned in this novel... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Battlecat | 2/14/2011

    " An interesting book, but as the first in a trilogy I'll have to reserve judgement until I see the other two books. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dino | 1/7/2011

    " very well written as all Alan Dean Foster books I've read are! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations