Download The House of Hawthorne: A Novel Audiobook

The House of Hawthorne: A Novel Audiobook, by Erika Robuck Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Erika Robuck Narrator: Mary Robinette Kowal Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2015 ISBN: 9781501234163
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From Erika Robuck, bestselling author of Hemingway’s Girl, comes a brilliant novel about a literary couple. The unlikely marriage between Nathaniel Hawthorne, the celebrated novelist, and Sophia Peabody, the invalid artist, was a true union of passion and intellect.…

Beset by crippling headaches from a young age and endowed with a talent for drawing, Sophia is discouraged by her well-known New England family from pursuing a woman’s traditional roles. But from their first meeting, Nathaniel and Sophia begin an intense romantic relationship that despite many setbacks leads to their marriage. Together, they will cross continents, raise children, and experience all the beauty and tragedy of an exceptional partnership. Sophia’s vivid journals and her masterful paintings kindle a fire in Nathaniel, inspiring his writing. But their children’s needs and the death of loved ones steal Sophia’s energy and time for her art, fueling in her a perennial tug-of-war between fulfilling her domestic duties and pursuing her own desires.

Spanning the years from the 1830s to the Civil War, and moving from Massachusetts to England, Portugal, and Italy, The House of Hawthorne explores the tension within a famous marriage of two soulful, strong-willed people, each devoted to the other but also driven by a powerful need to explore the far reaches of their creative impulses. It is the story of a forgotten woman in history, who inspired one of the greatest writers of American literature.…

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Erika Robuck resurrects the shadowy figure of Sophia Hawthorne, wife of the novelist, Nathaniel, and their intense love and commitment to each other during a life of creative inspiration, sacrifice, and loss.”

    C. W. Gortner, author of Mademoiselle Chanel

  • “Robuck’s sure storytelling brings accomplished artist Sophia Peabody into the light and into your heart. Luminous, vivid, enchanting.”

    Lynn Cullen, author of Mrs. Poe

  • “Bring[s] the brooding author and the idealistic artist brilliantly to life.”

    Amy Belding Brown, author of Flight of the Sparrow

  • “Timeless questions of identity and creative self-expression facing women today are explored in this richly imagined novel.”

    Christina Baker Kline, author of Orphan Train

  • “Narrator Mary Kowal’s clarity and pacing are strong in her delivery of Sophia’s story, and the author’s use of the first person brings intimacy and authenticity to the tale.”


Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Erika Robuck is the author of several novels, including Receive Me Falling, Hemingway’s Girl, Call Me Zelda, Fallen Beauty, and The House of Hawthorne. She writes reviews of historical fiction on her blog, Muse, and is a contributor to the fiction blog Writer Unboxed. She is a member of the Historical Novel Society, the Hawthorne Society, the Hemingway Society, and the Edna St. Vincent Millay Society.

About the Narrator

Mary Robinette Kowal is an author, a voice actor, an Earphones Award-winning narrator, and a puppeteer. She was the 2008 recipient of the Campbell Award for Best New Writer and a Hugo nominee for her story “Evil Robot Monkey.” She is an active member of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. A professional puppeteer and voice actor, she spent five years touring nationally with puppet theaters.