Extended Audio Sample

Download The House at Tyneford Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The House at Tyneford, by Natasha Solomons Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (5,939 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Natasha Solomons Narrator: Justine Eyre Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

An irresistible World War II story of a forbidden upstairs-downstairs romance in a great English country house

It’s the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When Kit, the son of Tyneford’s master, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford—and Elise—forever.

A page-turning tale of family, love, loss, and the power of the human spirit set against the perennially popular backdrop of World War II England, Natasha Solomons’ The House at Tyneford is upmarket romantic fiction at its best.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004750

Quotes & Awards

  • “Natasha Solomons has written a lovely, atmospheric novel full of charming characters and good, old-fashioned storytelling. Fans of Downton Abbey and Kate Morton’s The Forgotten Garden will absolutely adore The House at Tyneford.”

    Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author

  • The House at Tyneford is an exquisite tale of love, family, suspense, and survival. Capturing with astonishing detail and realism a vanished world of desire and hope trapped beneath rigid class convention, Natasha Solomons’ stunning new novel tells the story of Elise Landau. Already a bestseller in Britain, American readers will thrill to The House at Tyneford.”

    Katherine Howe, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Both a love story set during the Second World War and an elegy to the English country house…The greatest pleasure of the novel is its stirring narrative and the constant sense of discovery.”

    Times Literary Supplement (London)

  • “An engaging read…Ripe for the screen.”

    Guardian (London)

  • The House at Tyneford is a wonderful, old-fashioned novel that takes you back in time to the manor homes, aristocracy, and domestic servants of England. In this setting, Natasha Solomons gives us a courageous heroine whose incredible love story will keep you in suspense until the final page.”

    Kathleen Grissom, author of The Kitchen House

  • “A vivid and poignant story about hope, loss, and reinvention.”

    Psychologies Magazine (UK)

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Selected for the January 2012 Indie Next List

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Darlene | 2/11/2014

    " I had a hard time rating this book. It more than a 4.5, but might not quite be a 5. The fact that the house in the story is based on a house owned by a Bond family pushed to a 5 star rating. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Amy | 2/10/2014

    " In one word: Melancholy "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Summer | 2/9/2014

    " It took me a little while to get into this book, mainly because at first I didn't like the main character. But her experiences change her and I ended up really enjoying the book. It's a sad story, but beautiful too. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Sylvia Abrams | 2/1/2014

    " I listened to this book on my iPhone. It is a terrific story of the settlement of a young Jewish refugee as a domestic in rural England. I liked the plot more than the authors first novel. The characters are sympathetically drawn and feel real. . "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations