Extended Audio Sample

Download The House at Tyneford Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The House at Tyneford Audiobook, by Natasha Solomons Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (5,939 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Natasha Solomons Narrator: Justine Eyre Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2011 ISBN: 9781470805029
Regular Price: $24.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

An irresistible World War II story of a forbidden upstairs-downstairs romance in a great English country house

It’s the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When Kit, the son of Tyneford’s master, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford—and Elise—forever.

A page-turning tale of family, love, loss, and the power of the human spirit set against the perennially popular backdrop of World War II England, Natasha Solomons’ The House at Tyneford is upmarket romantic fiction at its best.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004750

Quotes & Awards

  • “Natasha Solomons has written a lovely, atmospheric novel full of charming characters and good, old-fashioned storytelling. Fans of Downton Abbey and Kate Morton’s The Forgotten Garden will absolutely adore The House at Tyneford.”

    Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author

  • The House at Tyneford is an exquisite tale of love, family, suspense, and survival. Capturing with astonishing detail and realism a vanished world of desire and hope trapped beneath rigid class convention, Natasha Solomons’ stunning new novel tells the story of Elise Landau. Already a bestseller in Britain, American readers will thrill to The House at Tyneford.”

    Katherine Howe, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Both a love story set during the Second World War and an elegy to the English country house…The greatest pleasure of the novel is its stirring narrative and the constant sense of discovery.”

    Times Literary Supplement (London)

  • “An engaging read…Ripe for the screen.”

    Guardian (London)

  • The House at Tyneford is a wonderful, old-fashioned novel that takes you back in time to the manor homes, aristocracy, and domestic servants of England. In this setting, Natasha Solomons gives us a courageous heroine whose incredible love story will keep you in suspense until the final page.”

    Kathleen Grissom, author of The Kitchen House

  • “A vivid and poignant story about hope, loss, and reinvention.”

    Psychologies Magazine (UK)

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Selected for the January 2012 Indie Next List

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Darlene | 2/11/2014

    " I had a hard time rating this book. It more than a 4.5, but might not quite be a 5. The fact that the house in the story is based on a house owned by a Bond family pushed to a 5 star rating. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amy | 2/10/2014

    " In one word: Melancholy "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Summer | 2/9/2014

    " It took me a little while to get into this book, mainly because at first I didn't like the main character. But her experiences change her and I ended up really enjoying the book. It's a sad story, but beautiful too. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sylvia Abrams | 2/1/2014

    " I listened to this book on my iPhone. It is a terrific story of the settlement of a young Jewish refugee as a domestic in rural England. I liked the plot more than the authors first novel. The characters are sympathetically drawn and feel real. . "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Leslie Roper | 1/27/2014

    " I hate the star system--it is too reductive. I love every thing British so I was bound to read this book. Though I had pretty much guessed the ending that did not detract from the reading and the details of everything British. I read it in 2 days (once stopping to consult the dictionary for an unknown). I would recommend it if you like Britain, refugees and splices of romance with, of course, a fairly strong-willed herorine. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Natascha | 1/26/2014

    " Started out strong. Good plot idea but by half way through it starts to drag. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Pat Rehmer | 1/26/2014

    " One of the best books I've read in a long time. Lots of character development-and while some of what happens is predictable, there are some surprises. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer Coy | 1/23/2014

    " Well written but bit of a downer to say the least. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ramona | 1/11/2014

    " Probably more of a 3.5. Interesting perspective of Jewish refugee working In English manor, but definitely not the deepest writing. Still, an enjoyable read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Halle | 12/25/2013

    " A very poignant story about a young Jewish girl from Austria who emigrates as a refugee to England in 1938 and becomes a parlor maid at a country estate. A solid entry in the historical fiction genre and a good recommendation for fans of Downton Abbey . "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sue | 12/10/2013

    " tough, sad, enjoyable.... war creates such difficult changes and alterations in our live... shifts that leave lasting pieces of melancholy without end.. war topic new to me in that an Austrian Jewish young adult comes to remote England to "work" and to escape WWII. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vanessa | 10/11/2013

    " Very reminiscent of Downton Abbey. A great pre-war England novel. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Susanne | 8/12/2013

    " Thanks, Jill for recommending this. What a lovely story! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Celia | 6/13/2013

    " An absolutely delightful book which I enjoyed immensely. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tammy | 1/26/2013

    " I was enjoying this book until the "F" word started popping up! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patricia T. | 1/1/2013

    " Lyrical writing style, I enjoyed the sensory descriptions of Elise's. A bit of Mary Stewart, Daphne Du Maurier with the addition of the plight of Austrian Jews right before the Holocaust. I recommend it. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Karen Aurandt | 10/18/2012

    " Started out with lots of potential. Midway through I lost interest and skimmed to finish. This book was bogged down with flowery description and the story was not strong enough to support that. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sydney Young | 9/22/2012

    " Every now and then you need a war story that will make you cry. This is a good one. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Anne Venie | 6/14/2012

    " Dissapointing and somewhat depressing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Whitney | 6/13/2012

    " I liked it, but there were still parts of the story that bothered me after I was done reading it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Joann | 6/2/2012

    " Liked this book a lot. Period piece about an Jewish Austrian girl who is sent to be a maid in an English Estate for her own safety during WWII. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Phoebe | 3/22/2012

    " This was great the first half; second got a bit dull and obvious. Too bad, too, because it was interesting. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Natasha Solomons

Natasha Solomons is a screenwriter and the New York Times bestselling author of The Gallery of Vanished Husbands, The House at Tyneford, and Mr. Rosenblum Dreams in English. Her novels have been published in seventeen languages. She lives in Dorset, England, with her husband, the writer David Solomons, and young children.

About the Narrator

Justine Eyre is a classically trained actress who has narrated dozens of audiobooks and has a prestigious Audie Award and two AudioFile Earphones Awards under her belt. Eyre is multilingual and known for her great facility with accents. She has appeared on stage, with leading roles in King Lear and The Crucible, and has had starring roles in four films on the indie circuit. Her recent television credits include Two and a Half Men and Mad Men.