Extended Audio Sample

Download The High Season: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The High Season: A Novel Audiobook, by Judy Blundell Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Judy Blundell Narrator: Julia Whelan Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2018 ISBN: 9780525524250
Regular Price: $21.95 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In a beach town overrun with vacationers and newly colonized by socialites, one woman goes to extreme lengths when the life she loves is upended. The ultimate summer read, this novel of money, class, and family is perfect for fans of Meg Wolitzer, Curtis Sittenfeld, and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney’s The Nest.

No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet Long Island village two ferry rides from the glitzier Hamptons, the house is her nest egg—the retirement account shared with her ex-husband, Mike, and the college fund for their teenage daughter, Jem. The catch? To afford the house, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year.

It’s Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what Jem calls “the summer bummer”: the family’s annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a “gorgeous satellite” stepson.

The widow of a blue-chip artist, living in a world defined by luxury and ease, Adeline demonstrates an uncanny ability to help herself to Ruthie’s life. Is Adeline just being her fabulous self, or is she out to take what she wants?

When an eccentric billionaire, his wayward daughter, a coterie of social climbers, and Ruthie’s old flame are thrown into the mix, the entire town finds itself on the verge of tumultuous change. But as Ruthie loses her grasp on her job, her home, and her family, she discovers a new talent for pushing back. By the end of one unhinged, unforgettable summer, nothing will be the same—least of all Ruthie.

In a novel packed with indelible characters, crackling wit, and upstairs/downstairs drama, Judy Blundell emerges as a voice for all seasons—a wry and original storyteller who knows how the most disruptive events in our lives can twist endings into new beginnings.

Advance praise for The High Season

“Blundell wields words like an oyster knife in this shimmering story of art, money, and celebrity. The High Season is wicked summer fun.”—Helen Simonson, New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Before the War

“Touching, funny, and emotionally precise, recognizable yet full of surprises . . . Forget the Hamptons: Blundell’s North Fork is where the real drama—and fun—blow in.”—Cathleen Schine, New York Times bestselling author of The Three Weissmanns of Westport Download and start listening now!

cd5p

Quotes & Awards

  • Judy Blundell’s The High Season will hit the summer like a blazing comet of wit, poignancy, and lines that make one stop and sizzle with awe. I’m a fan of Judy Blundell for life! Mary Alice Monroe, New York Times bestselling author of Beach House Reunion
  • Judy Blundell’s The High Season is a smart, poignant, witty novel about a family’s life-changing summer on Long Island’s North Fork. It has a churning plot redolent of those great women’s movies from the 1930s, ’40s, and ’50s, and a winning cast of complicated characters, variously brimming with spirit, brains, humor, cowardice, duplicity, evil, charm, and generosity. Susan Rieger, author of The Heirs
  • I tore through this book with the sort of obsessive speed that makes you forget about things like eating and sleeping. On top of tackling tough issues like wealth, family, and class, Judy Blundell treats her characters—be they mothers or daughters, socialites or artists—with more honesty and heart than any writer I know. This isn’t a book that you’ll leave on some beach on Long Island’s North Fork—this is a book you’ll be talking about for a long time to come. Grant Ginder, author of The People We Hate at the Wedding
  • The High Season is a wickedly good read—hilarious, poignant, and insightful—with a breathtaking finale.  If you’ve ever served on a committee, or lived in a resort town, or had friends or parents or children or an infuriating spouse, you will love this book. I did! Nancy Thayer, New York Times bestselling author of A Nantucket Wedding
  • Judy Blundell wields words like an oyster knife in this shimmering story of art, money, and celebrity. The High Season is wicked summer fun. Helen Simonson, New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Before the War
  • The High Season is touching, funny, and emotionally precise, recognizable yet full of surprises. Change comes like a hurricane to Orient Point and the lives of the people who live there. Then a real hurricane comes, too! Forget the Hamptons: Blundell’s North Fork is where the real drama—and fun—blow in. Cathleen Schine, New York Times bestselling author of The Three Weissmanns of Westport
  • You will revel in the human drama and comedy of this skillfully told tale. Wise, funny, and insightful, Judy Blundell tells the story of one woman that says something about all of us, our aspirations, and the delicate state of the American dream. Adriana Trigiani, New York Times bestselling author of Kiss Carlo
  • Sharply observed and beautifully written, The High Season is like a cold martini on a hot summer night: refreshing and intoxicating at the same time. Janelle Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Judy Blundell

Judy Blundell is the National Book Award–winning author of  What I Saw and How I Lied. As Jude Watson, she is the author of several titles in the New York Times bestselling 39 Clues series, as well as the bestselling Star Wars: Last of the Jedi and Jedi Quest series. She lives in Katonah, New York.

About the Narrator

Julia Whelan, winner of numerous Earphones Awards, won the prestigious Audie Award for Best Romance Narration in 2013 and has also been a finalist for an Audie Award in other years. She is a former child actor who has appeared in multiple films and television shows, most notably ABC’s Once and Again. After receiving her college degree, she returned to the film industry and is also a writer. Her audiobook credits include memoir, nonfiction, romance, supernatural thrillers, young adult, and adult fiction.