Extended Audio Sample

Download The Glass Spare Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Glass Spare Audiobook, by Lauren DeStefano Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lauren DeStefano Narrator: Billie Fulford-Brown Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Seventh Spare Series Release Date: October 2017 ISBN: 9780062689153
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The first in a new fantasy duology, The Glass Spare is a gorgeously told tale of love, loss, and deadly power from Lauren DeStefano, the bestselling author of the Chemical Garden series. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Renee Ahdieh.

Wilhelmina Heidle, the fourth child and only daughter of the king of the world’s wealthiest nation, has grown up in the shadows. Kept hidden from the world in order to serve as a spy for her father—whose obsession with building his empire is causing a war—Wil wants nothing more than to explore the world beyond her kingdom, if only her father would give her the chance.

Until one night Wil is attacked, and she discovers a dangerous secret. Her touch turns people into gemstone. At first Wil is horrified—but as she tests its limits, she’s drawn more and more to the strange and volatile ability. When it leads to tragedy, though, Wil is forced to face the destructive power within her and finally leave her home to seek the truth and a cure.

But finding the key to her redemption puts her in the path of a cursed prince who has his own ideas for what to do with Wil’s power.

With a world on the brink of war and a power of ultimate destruction, can Wil find a way to help the kingdom that’s turned its back on her, or will she betray her past and her family forever?

Download and start listening now!

ahud

Quotes & Awards

  • “With The Glass Spare, DeStefano has created a darkly whimsical world unlike any other. The magic is original, the writing is superb, and I felt as though I were stepping through a wardrobe and into a new Narnia.”

    Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author

  • “If there was a company that offered dangerous vacations inside of books, I would want to go into this one, and travel the skies and seas with its vexing, honorable liars. Wil’s journey dazzles, and DeStefano’s writing entrances. This book is luminous and spiky, like a pocketful of jewels.”

    Laini Taylor, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Brilliantly crafted, this fantasy will make you believe in magic. Only someone with a heart of stone will be able to turn away from Wil’s story.”

    Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author

  • “DeStefano has penned a book of exquisite parts—a spiked exterior of brutal magic and a deep core of tender human relationships—that ultimately coalesce into a sharp, scintillating whole. The Glass Spare will leave you wonderstruck.”

    Traci Chee, New York Times bestselling author

  • “DeStefano writes an enthralling world of beauty and darkness. Readers will be dying for the next book as soon as they finish this one.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Wil’s journey is engrossing, and her relationships with the cursed prince and his wife are well-drawn…A unique, adventurous fantasy.”

    School Library Journal

  • “Captivating and well-written [with] a feisty female lead afflicted with a Midas-like touch and surrounded by foes, friends, and family, all of which will engage readers’ emotions.”

    Booklist

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Lauren DeStefano

Lauren DeStefano is the bestselling author of the Chemical Garden trilogy. The second book in the series, Fever, was a New York Times bestseller. She received a BA in English from Albertus Magnus College and has been writing since childhood. Before becoming a writer she worked as a receptionist, an English tutor, and a tax collector.

About the Narrator

Billie Fulford-Brown is a London-based actress, voice-over artist, and AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator.