The Flying Fish Audiobook, by D. H. Lawrence Play Audiobook Sample

The Flying Fish Audiobook

The Flying Fish Audiobook, by D. H. Lawrence Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Paul Metcalfe Publisher: Blackthorn Press Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 0.50 hours at 1.5x Speed 0.38 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: February 2022 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781667944197

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

49:43 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

13 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

16:44 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by D. H. Lawrence: > View All...

Publisher Description

'The Flying Fish' is unfinished but tells the story of an Englishman, Gethin Day, returning home after years in South America. There is a hint of the home-sickness Lawrence may have felt during his long exile. The bulk of the story is the time spent on the ship which is taking Day back to England. It is a ship of fools, a 'plague ship' and the only positive note is the joy Day sees in the play of the flying fish and porpoises around the ship. It is tantalising to speculate how Day would have adapted to English life again, confined to an old house in an old country.

Download and start listening now!

The Flying Fish Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About D. H. Lawrence

D. H. Lawrence (1885–1930) was a British writer of novels, poems, essays, short stories, and plays. Some of the books he wrote in the early 1900s became controversial because they contained direct descriptions of sexual relations. His best-known books are Sons and Lovers, The Rainbow, Women in Love, and Lady Chatterley’s Lover.