Extended Audio Sample

Download The Fire Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Fire, by Katherine Neville Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (6,787 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Katherine Neville Narrator: Susan Denake Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Colorado, 2003: Alexandra Solarin is summoned home to her family's ancestral Rocky Mountain hideaway for her mother's birthday. Thirty years ago, her parents, Cat Velis and Alexander Solarin, believed that they had scattered the pieces of the Montglane Service around the world, burying with them the secrets of the power that comes with possessing it. But Alexandra arrives to find that her mother is missing and that a series of strategically placed clues, followed swiftly by the unexpected arrival of a mysterious assortment of houseguests, indicates that something sinister is afoot.

When she inadvertently discovers from her aunt, the chess grandmaster Lily Rad, that the most powerful piece of Charlemagne's service has suddenly resurfaced and the Game has begun again, Alexandra is swept into a journey that takes her from Colorado to the Russian wilderness and at last into the heart of her own hometown: Washington, D.C.

Albania, 1822: 30 years after the French Revolution, when the chess service was unearthed, all of Europe hovers on the brink of the War of Greek Independence. Ali Pasha, the most powerful ruler in the Ottoman Empire, has angered the sultan and is about to be attacked by Turkish forces. Now he sends the only person he can rely upon, his young daughter Haidee, on a dangerous mission to smuggle a valuable relic out of Albania, through the mountains and over the sea, to the hands of the one man who might be able to save it.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “[An] exotic, labyrinthine conspiracy tale…The perfect escapist adventure.”

    Washington Post

  • The Fire impresses as much for its literary aspects as it does for its action, puzzles, and suspense…This is a book to be savored as it’s read, and admired for the beauty of its accomplishment.”

    Chicago Sun-Times

  • “For fans of The Da Vinci Code and The Rule of Four, Neville’s historical detective story…packs an epic wallop.”


  • “Neville deftly employs time-shifting storytelling and casts historical figures in her story with such dexterity that you are sure all these people must really have known one another. Ingenious puzzles, enthralling historical ambience, and masterful plot twists abound. More please!”

    Library Journal

  • “Stellar…Despite the staggering amount and quality of the research, nothing feels shoehorned or extraneous. The story’s relentless pace is matched by characters both sympathetic and real. In the end, readers will be heartened to find signs pointing to the continuation of the Game in future novels.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • Selected for the November 2008 Indie Next List
  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Meghan | 2/19/2014

    " What a fun series. Reminded me of a cross between Hunger Games and Harry Potter. It had magic and a crazy government/political situation. It was fun and I loved the characters. But it wasn't as well written as HG or HP. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Brenda Browning | 1/26/2014

    " Good ending to a good series. The second book "The Gift" was a bit of a let down, so I was pleasantly surprised how good this one was. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Bernice cameron | 1/25/2014

    " well i am not 100 percent shoure if this is the last book or not but it was awsome they finly beat the one who is the one brother and sister and there mom and dad even lived but poor ceil did not but at least she got to move on and cross over and she finly told whitt how she dies the one killed her choked her to death so all in all 150 thumbs up and in all for the whole book sires 500 thumbs up "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by ☞Proud☜ ☺✌Bookworm☮♪ | 12/24/2013

    " Wow! When I read the first one, I just barely convinced myself I was gonna read the second one. But that one was SO much better, so I read this one! And it was great! A worthy conclusion! "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations