Extended Audio Sample

Download The Faithful Spy Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Faithful Spy, by Alex Berenson Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (3,504 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Alex Berenson Narrator: John Hefferna Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The John Wells Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A New York Times reporter has drawn upon his experience covering the occupation in Iraq to write the most gripping and chillingly plausible thriller of the post-9/11 era. Alex Berenson’s debut novel of suspense, The Faithful Spy, is a sharp, explosive story that takes readers inside the war on terror as fiction has never done before.

John Wells is the only American CIA agent ever to penetrate al Qaeda. Since before the attacks in 2001, Wells has been hiding in the mountains of Pakistan, biding his time, building his cover.
Now, on the orders of Omar Khadri–the malicious mastermind plotting more al Qaeda strikes on America–Wells is coming home. Neither Khadri nor Jennifer Exley, Wells’s superior at Langley, knows quite what to expect.

For Wells has changed during his years in the mountains. He has become a Muslim. He finds the United States decadent and shallow. Yet he hates al Qaeda and the way it uses Islam to justify its murderous assaults on innocents. He is a man alone, and the CIA–still reeling from its failure to predict 9/11 or find weapons of mass destruction in Iraq–does not know whether to trust him. Among his handlers at Langley, only Exley believes in him, and even she sometimes wonders. And so the agency freezes Wells out, preferring to rely on high-tech means for gathering intelligence.

But as that strategy fails and Khadri moves closer to unleashing the most devastating terrorist attack in history, Wells and Exley must somehow find a way to stop him, with or without the government’s consent.

From secret American military bases where suspects are held and “interrogated” to basement laboratories where al Qaeda’s scientists grow the deadliest of biological weapons, The Faithful Spy is a riveting and cautionary tale, as affecting in its personal stories as it is sophisticated in its political details. The first spy thriller to grapple squarely with the complexities and terrors of today’s world, this is a uniquely exciting and unnerving novel by an author who truly knows his territory.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • The Faithful Spy offers a well-informed, often chilling look at how al-Qaeda might launch a major new attack in the United States—and how one intrepid undercover agent might do his darnedest to foil it…The Faithful Spy is a first-rate thriller.”

    Washington Post

  • “A thriller worthy of Le Carré.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “An intriguing thriller studded with alarming possibilities.”

    New York Daily News

  • “One could hardly ask for a more skillful, timely, and well-rounded translation of our worst fears into satisfying thrills; a sure bet for fans of Jack Higgins and Vince Flynn.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • A 2007 Barry Award Finalist for Best First Novel
  • A 2007 CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Finalist
  • Winner of the 2007 Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best First Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Cindyplanchard | 2/18/2014

    " I was tempted to believe this was an auotbiography! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Robert | 2/5/2014

    " First of the John Wells series. A good airplane read of a near miss dirty bomb in Manhattan "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by karl | 2/4/2014

    " Mr. Berenson's 1st spy novel is a good one. The hero (John Wells) is a CIA spy, who has been living & fighting with the Taliban in the post 9/11 era. He not only hears of something going to be bad for US (not knowing exactly what it is - since the higher ups are not convinced he truly has converted), but is sent to US to help make it happen. Meanwhile, the CIA thinks he has turned on them - so essentially they are after him too. Lots of action - the hero is just like a Vince Flynn hero (loves America, tough as nails). Also, some good technical stuff - like about rockets, dirty bombs. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by B | 1/18/2014

    " Like a shorter Clancy or Ludlum "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations