Extended Audio Sample

Download The End: The Defiance and Destruction of Hitler’s Germany, 1944–1945 Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The End: The Defiance and Destruction of Hitler’s Germany, 1944–1945, by Ian Kershaw Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ian Kershaw Narrator: Lloyd James Publisher: Gildan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $37.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Countless books have been written about why Nazi Germany lost World War II, yet remarkably little attention has been paid to the equally vital question of how and why it was able to hold out as long as it did. The Third Reich did not surrender until Germany had been left in ruins and almost completely occupied. Even in the near-apocalyptic final months, when the war was plainly lost, the Nazis refused to sue for peace. Historically, this is extremely rare.

Drawing on original testimony from ordinary Germans and arch-Nazis alike, award-winning historian Ian Kershaw explores this fascinating question in a gripping and focused narrative that begins with the failed bomb plot in July 1944 and ends with the German capitulation in May 1945. Hitler, desperate to avoid a repeat of the "disgraceful" German surrender in 1918, was of course critical to the Third Reich's fanatical determination, but his power was sustained only because those below him were unable, or unwilling, to challenge it. Even as the military situation grew increasingly hopeless, Wehrmacht generals fought on, their orders largely obeyed, and the regime continued its ruthless persecution of Jews, prisoners, and foreign workers.

Based on prodigious new research, Kershaw's The End is a harrowing yet enthralling portrait of the Third Reich in its last desperate gasps. Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Powerful…harrowing…No one has written a better account of the human dimensions of Nazi Germany’s end.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Arguably the most convincing portrait of Germany’s Götterdämmerung we have seen so far.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • “Ian Kershaw…has produced more than a history. Rather, he has performed a detailed anatomy of the conclusion of World War II in Europe…The book is a compelling read, far from pleasant, but superbly written, fascinating, and immensely informative.”

    Washington Times

  • “A compelling and horrifying look at the final months of World War II…Sir Ian has brought out yet another absolutely first-class work of Nazi history…brilliant deductive analysis.”

    Daily Beast

  • “Kershaw…is unsurpassed as an analyst of the Third Reich’s inner dynamics…Kershaw’s comprehensive research, measured prose, and commonsense insight combine in a mesmerizing explanation of how and why Nazi Germany chose self-annihilation.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Kershaw describes in fascinating detail…Some of Kershaw’s conclusions will be hotly debated. Nevertheless, this is an excellent portrait of the regime’s death throes.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Kershaw explains in impressive detail the factors that enabled the Germans to keep fighting…An essential work by a distinguished historian.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • A New York Times Bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations