Extended Audio Sample

Download The Doll People Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Doll People Audiobook, by Ann M. Martin Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (5,093 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ann M. Martin, Laura Godwin Narrator: Lynn Redgrave Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Doll People Series Release Date: March 2008 ISBN: 9780739371619
Regular Price: $10.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The 100-year-old Doll family—beautifully crafted china dolls passed down through four generations of girls in one American family—meet their new neighbors, the Funcrafts, a doll family made completely of plastic and delivered straight from the factory shelves.

Annabelle Doll is eight years old—she has been for over a hundred years. Not a lot has happened to her, cooped up in the dollhouse, with the same doll people, day after day, year after year…until the Funcrafts move in. Now Annabelle has a friend. Sure she’s made entirely of plastic and she’s living in the scariest room in the house, but she’s an adventurer, and after a hundred years of boredom, that’s just what Annabelle needs. Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_000855

Quotes & Awards

  • “It is entertaining and satisfying, and likely to hold the attention of young readers, regardless of their interest in dolls.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Fans of The Borrowers and Stuart Little will love this exciting story of adventure and mystery. The relationship between the two doll families, one antique, one modern, is hilariously, wonderfully drawn…Annabelle is a heroine with integrity and gumption. Ann Martin and Laura Godwin create a witty, intriguing tale.”

    Amazon.com, editorial review

  • “Martin and Godwin inventively spin out their own variation on the perennially popular theme of toys who secretly come to life…The authors provide plenty of action and suspense, yet it is their skillfully crafted details about the dolls’ personalities and daily routines that prove most memorable…Doll lovers may well approach their imaginative play with renewed enthusiasm and a sense of wonder after reading this fun-filled adventure.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Martin and Godwin not only set up a realistic doll world but also provide a credible mystery…The authors add a wickedly funny touch with the introduction of the Funmarts…a brash, breezy family of plastic dolls who can’t believe the Dolls don’t have a microwave. Still, Anabelle and Tiffany Funmart become friends and are soon taking great risks to find out what happened to Aunt Sarah.”

    Booklist

  • “Veteran actress Lynn Redgrave’s narration gives the illusion of the story being read by an entire cast. She seamlessly switches between English and American accents, all the while giving each character an easily differentiated personality.”

    School Library Journal (audio review)

  • “With skilled narration, Lynn Redgrave does for the recording what illustrator Brian Selznick does for the book. She differentiates the sensibilities of characters from an older age from those of the plastic generation. The distinct tones, understated comments, and refined speech of the older dolls are set off from the no-nonsense, direct speech of the newer ones in this whimsical fantasy.”

    AudioFile

  • A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2000
  • Finalist for the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award
  • Winner of the 2005 Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award for Grades 3-5

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carissa | 2/19/2014

    " apparently, this is a series that has been going out on holds a lot at my library, so i wanted to check it out. it's a pretty cute little series about a family of dolls who are "alive" but have to pretend to be dolls if anyone is awake or in the house. reminiscent of "the littles" and "the borrowers" except that they don't have tails, they do have legitimate interactions with humans, and they don't have to scavenge for all of their household goods. there are others in the series... maybe i'll check them out. good, light reading. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Keri Spetzer | 2/5/2014

    " I loved this story as a kid. It was cute and full of adventure that any kid can relate to. If your looking for a fun read for your child I suggest it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Hannah nichols | 1/26/2014

    " it was a good book but made me kinda scared of dolls!jk. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rachel kiwi | 1/18/2014

    " an adventure is a door that never closes "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Samantha | 1/6/2014

    " As a lover of dolls in my childhood, it is no question that The Doll People was one of my favorite books. It follows a doll Annabelle and her doll family who have lived in the same dollhouse with the same family for generations. Annabelle wants to solve the mystery of the disappearance of her aunt with the help of her new spontaneous neighbor. A mystery that will put you on the edge of seat, as well bring you back to your childhood. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cindi | 1/2/2014

    " This was a very cute and imaginative book and the reader was excellent (the same one who read Inkheart). I think every little girl (and maybe boys too!) wonder about their dolls coming alive when they aren't looking. I remember watching Raggedy Ann and Andy and then thinking about my dolls. This book has a nice mixture of old-fashioned and modern and several generations of family living in the same house. Don't tell him I mentioned this, but even my almost 15 year old boy thought that this was pretty magical and different from anything he'd heard before. Everyone voted that they liked it (AND, it even kept my husband up late one night while he was driving us home from a weekend trip!) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Erica | 12/27/2013

    " I also enjoyed this book..It's very creative and its fun "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kellie | 12/23/2013

    " I loved this book when I was younger, it is a very easy read and so cute! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kate | 12/5/2013

    " This book was okay I guess, I mean I think a lot of people should read it. But it's not my favorite book in the world. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Maya | 12/4/2013

    " A fun and easy read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Elise Tan | 12/1/2013

    " :O I remember reading this when I was little... AMAZING. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 maddykorneychuk | 11/26/2013

    " This book is something I recommed to all of the people out there who have a big imagination and...well... love dolls "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ava | 11/23/2013

    " I like it when they look for there Aunt. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Katherine | 11/23/2013

    " I think we liked the idea of this book and its amazing illustrations much more than the actual story. It was one we read aloud as a family, but the kids never asked for it -- I usually had to suggest it just so we could finish it. Just ok. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sheila | 11/23/2013

    " this is a great book for young girls. Very imaginative, and a fun book to read and think about. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Natalie Rice | 7/4/2013

    " i only gave this one 3 stars because it was a little slow. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Alisha | 5/8/2013

    " AMAZING book! Loved it soooo much! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Angie | 2/9/2013

    " cute kids book....dolls coming to life when the humans aren't looking. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 LaDawn | 2/3/2013

    " Sweet story. My 8 year old loved it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Maren | 8/31/2012

    " I read this book in one day. It was really good. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah | 4/24/2012

    " i gave this book a four star reveiw because it is not that exciting at some points. i would not recomend this to people who are older than 11. it may seem strange to people over that age but to people younger than that age may love it if they like dolls. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Megan | 4/18/2012

    " Super cute and I'll definitely read the sequel! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shannon R. | 3/10/2012

    " It was really good, but I read it a while ago. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ali Reader-Ducky | 1/3/2012

    " I thought this was very mysterious. Spiders! Good. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lacey | 11/11/2011

    " Really cute book, but do kids still have fascinations with doll houses? I might try passing this on to my young niece. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jackie | 7/8/2011

    " I LOVED this book. It was my favorite book at one point. That's why I gave it 5 stars. I really don't think that it's fit to read for people above the age of 10, but I did love it :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Taylor | 6/24/2011

    " this book is AMAZING!!!! it made me seem to wonder if dolls are really alive! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathleen | 6/15/2011

    " I thought that this book was very good. I have never read anything like this. Dolls come alive and have to find aunt sarah. Do they? What kind of adventures do they face? READ THE BOOK! Its a great book! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Taylor ??????! | 6/14/2011

    " Cute. Good story line, but it reminded me of toy story a little bit. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kenzie | 6/13/2011

    " This was a good book after this book I couldn't look at my stuffed animals . I thought they would come Alive "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Briana | 6/2/2011

    " This is like the perfect little kid book... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Grace | 5/28/2011

    " The Doll People is a good introduction to the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marie | 5/24/2011

    " A six year old girl's dream - doll house people that are alive! My daughter loved, loved this book and so did I! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sara | 5/16/2011

    " Great read aloud book for 2nd grade. My 12 year old daughter also read and enjoyed it along with the next book, The Meanest Doll in the World. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bailey | 5/13/2011

    " Not the best book but pretty good!! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Ann M. Martin

Ann M. Martin is the bestselling author of the series the Baby-sitters Club, as well as the Main Street series and others. Her other acclaimed novels include A Corner of the Universe, a Newbery Honor Book.

About the Narrator

Lynn Redgrave, a member of Britain’s greatest acting family, is internationally known for her work on stage, screen, and television. As narrator of the World of Philosophy series, she brings to life the timeless and vital themes of the world’s great philosophical traditions.