Extended Audio Sample

Download The Doll People Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Doll People, by Ann M. Martin, Laura Godwin Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (5,093 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ann M. Martin, Laura Godwin Narrator: Lynn Redgrave Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Doll People Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $10.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The hundred-year-old Doll family, beautifully crafted china dolls passed down through four generations of girls in one American family, meet their new neighbors, the Funcrafts, a doll family made completely of plastic and delivered straight from the factory shelves.

Annabelle Doll is eight years old. She has been for over one hundred years. Not a lot has happened to her, cooped up in the dollhouse with the same doll people, day after day, year after year—until the Funcrafts move in. Now Annabelle has a friend. Sure, she’s made entirely of plastic and she’s living in the scariest room in the house, but she’s an adventurer, and after a hundred years of boredom, that’s just what Annabelle needs.

Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_000855

Quotes & Awards

  • “It is entertaining and satisfying, and likely to hold the attention of young readers, regardless of their interest in dolls.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Fans of The Borrowers and Stuart Little will love this exciting story of adventure and mystery. The relationship between the two doll families, one antique, one modern, is hilariously, wonderfully drawn…Annabelle is a heroine with integrity and gumption. Ann Martin and Laura Godwin create a witty, intriguing tale.”

    Amazon.com, editorial review

  • “Martin and Godwin inventively spin out their own variation on the perennially popular theme of toys who secretly come to life…The authors provide plenty of action and suspense, yet it is their skillfully crafted details about the dolls’ personalities and daily routines that prove most memorable…Doll lovers may well approach their imaginative play with renewed enthusiasm and a sense of wonder after reading this fun-filled adventure.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Martin and Godwin not only set up a realistic doll world but also provide a credible mystery…The authors add a wickedly funny touch with the introduction of the Funmarts…a brash, breezy family of plastic dolls who can’t believe the Dolls don’t have a microwave. Still, Anabelle and Tiffany Funmart become friends and are soon taking great risks to find out what happened to Aunt Sarah.”

    Booklist

  • “Veteran actress Lynn Redgrave’s narration gives the illusion of the story being read by an entire cast. She seamlessly switches between English and American accents, all the while giving each character an easily differentiated personality.”

    School Library Journal (audio review)

  • “With skilled narration, Lynn Redgrave does for the recording what illustrator Brian Selznick does for the book. She differentiates the sensibilities of characters from an older age from those of the plastic generation. The distinct tones, understated comments, and refined speech of the older dolls are set off from the no-nonsense, direct speech of the newer ones in this whimsical fantasy.”

    AudioFile

  • A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2000
  • Finalist for the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award
  • Winner of the 2005 Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award for Grades 3-5

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Carissa | 2/19/2014

    " apparently, this is a series that has been going out on holds a lot at my library, so i wanted to check it out. it's a pretty cute little series about a family of dolls who are "alive" but have to pretend to be dolls if anyone is awake or in the house. reminiscent of "the littles" and "the borrowers" except that they don't have tails, they do have legitimate interactions with humans, and they don't have to scavenge for all of their household goods. there are others in the series... maybe i'll check them out. good, light reading. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Keri Spetzer | 2/5/2014

    " I loved this story as a kid. It was cute and full of adventure that any kid can relate to. If your looking for a fun read for your child I suggest it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Hannah nichols | 1/26/2014

    " it was a good book but made me kinda scared of dolls!jk. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Rachel kiwi | 1/18/2014

    " an adventure is a door that never closes "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations