Extended Audio Sample

Download The Dog Who Saved Me: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Dog Who Saved Me: A Novel Audiobook, by Susan Wilson Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Susan Wilson Narrator: Fred Adamson, Fred Berman, Jeff Gurner, Rick Adamson Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2015 ISBN: 9781427244055
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In Susan Wilson's The Dog Who Saved Me, former Boston K-9 unit policeman turned animal control officer in bucolic Harmony Farms is up against rescuing a gun shy and wounded dog gone feral, and proving that his low-life older brother is back in the drug business.

Boston police officer Cooper Harrison never thought he'd go back to his hometown, Harmony Farms. But when his faithful K-9 partner Argos is killed in the line of duty, Cooper, caught in a spiral of trauma and grief, has nowhere else to turn. Jobless and on the verge of divorce, he accepts a offer for the position of dog officer in Harmony Farms, leaving the life he spent twenty years building behind.

And so he finds himself back where he started. Where his father was once known as the town drunk and his brother outgrew juvenile delinquency to become a drug dealer. Where he grew up as 'one of those' Harrisons. Cooper does his job with deliberate detachment, refusing to get emotionally invested in another dog the way he had with Argos-until he finds himself rescuing a wounded and gun-shy yellow lab gone feral.

Cooper never thought he'd find himself going back in order to move forward, and yet Harmony Farms is the one place where Cooper must learn to forgive and, only then, heal. All with the help of a yellow dog.

Download and start listening now!

blum

Quotes & Awards

  • “Touching and heartfelt. Modern Dog magazine on A Man of His Own

  • A War Horse for dog lovers. Booklist on A Man of His Own
  • With deft brushstrokes and an earthy delivery, Wilson develops strong characters caught together first hand and afar through years of confrontation and frustration. And through Pax, that bond and feisty spirit is magnified in a refreshing manner that connects powerfully to the reader. Seattle Kennel Club on A Man of His Own
  • The last few pages bring an unexpected ending that will call for a few tissues as readers smile through tears. Best Friends Magazine on A Man of His Own
  • Susan Wilson dishes up another captivating story that will keep you hooked until the last page is turned. Modern Dog magazine on The Dog Who Danced
  • I would unhesitatingly recommend this book to dog lovers and 'non-dog' people alike. BellaDog on The Dog Who Danced
  • Multiple hankies, dog lovers...this is an emotional read. Library Journal on The Dog Who Danced
  • Fans of Wilson's One Good Dog, or new readers looking for a heartwarming tale of the bond between human and animal, will find plenty to enjoy. Publishers Weekly on The Dog Who Danced
  • A wonderful novel: a moving, tender, and brilliantly crafted story. Garth Stein, New York Times bestselling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain, on One Good Dog
  • A finely wrought story of second chances and also of the power of the human/canine bond. Bark Magazine on One Good Dog
  • One Good Dog will make you cry, will make you laugh, will make you feel things more than you thought possible--and it will make you believe in second chances. Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author
  • [One Good Dog] evokes both laughter and tears, but the ending assures you that humans and dogs are capable of redemption. Library Journal
  • Fans of Marley and Me will find a new dog to cheer for in Wilson's insightful heart-tugger...Old Yeller's got nothing on this very good man and his dog story. Publishers Weekly on One Good Dog

  • "One Good Dog will make you cry, will make you laugh, will make you feel things more than you thought possible—and it will make you believe in second chances.”

    Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Multiple hankies, dog lovers…this is an emotional read.”

    Library Journal, on A Man of His Own

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Susan Wilson

Susan Wilson is the bestselling author of One Good Dog and A Man of His Own, among other novels. She has worked in the field of non-profit development and is currently the editor of the Dukes County Intelligencer, the scholarly journal of the Martha’s Vineyard Museum. Her love of animals extends through several species including dogs, cats, birds, and horses, and she won the Maxwell Prize for Fiction from the Dog Writers Association of America in 2013. Susan lives in Martha’s Vineyard.

About the Narrators

Fred Berman has won numerous AudioFile Earphones Awards for his audiobook narration and is the recipient of the 2013 Audie Award for narration in Spy the Lie. He is a theater, film, and television actor, whose credits include Broadway’s The Lion King, Law & Order, and Directing Eddie, among others. He was featured in Entertainment Weekly for his work on the Walking Dead audiobook series.

Jeff Gurner created the title role in the American premiere of A Prayer for Owen Meany at Playmakers Rep. He has appeared in productions on and off Broadway such as The Lion King, Five Course Love, The London Cuckolds, and Harrigan & Hart. His film and television credits include Law & Order: SVU, Third Watch, and Hey Joel!, an animated series for VHI.

Rick Adamson is an award-winning voice artist with more than twenty years’ experience in voiceovers, spoken word events, event announcing, and children’s media, as well as commercials for well-known international corporations. He has narrated numerous television and film documentaries, including Croatia, co-narrated with Martin Sheen. His audiobook narration includes more than two dozen major books, as well as dozens of early-reader titles for juveniles. He won the prestigious Audie Award in 2011 for Best Inspirational/Faith-Based Fiction for In a Heartbeat, and he was among the finalists for the 2006 Audie Award for Best Personal Development/Motivational Work for Younger Next Year. He earned an AudioFile Earphones Award for the ensemble narration of Rough Water.