Extended Audio Sample

Download The Devil You Know Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Devil You Know Audiobook, by Mike Carey Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (5,067 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Mike Carey Narrator: Michael Kramer Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Felix Castor Series Release Date: September 2007 ISBN: 9781400175154
Regular Price: $21.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Felix Castor used to cast out demons for a living, and London was his stamping ground. But in a time when the supernatural realm is in upheaval and spilling over into the mundane world of the living, his skills are in renewed demand. With old debts to pay, Castor is left with no choice but to accept one final, well-paying assignment: a seemingly simple exorcism. Trouble is, the more he discovers about the ghost in the archive, the more things refuse to add up-and the more deeply he's dragged into a world he wants no part of. What should have been a perfectly straightforward job is rapidly turning into a "who can kill Castor first" competition, with demons, were-beings, and ghosts all keen to claim the big prize. But that's O.K. Castor knows how to deal with the dead. It's the living who piss him off. Download and start listening now!

bdok

Quotes & Awards

  • A funny, frightening, thoroughly absorbing thriller set in an alternative London where ghosts and other supernatural things go bump in the night---and day. Kirkus Starred Review
  • “A spectacular novel, one of the best supernatural thrillers I’ve read in years.”

    Douglas Preston, New York Times bestselling coauthor of Cemetary Dance

  • “An imaginative spin on the hard-boiled detective…Devil mixes horror and humor in a way that spells good omens for future Castor novels.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “[An] ingeniously multilayered tale.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “A funny, frightening, thoroughly absorbing thriller set in an alternative London where ghosts and other supernatural things go bump in the night—and day.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Performer Michael Kramer delivers the required solemnity to the text and, when appropriate, a light touch of humor. More importantly, he makes listeners feel the anguish of the undead.”

    AudioFile

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 David Birt | 1/20/2014

    " I had not heard of the Felix Castor series before so I did not know what to expect. This book was much more fun than I anticipated and I am definitely off to find the next one as soon as I can. Gore and snarky protagonists end up being a winning combination for my much needed escapism. If you like Harry Dresden or Sandman Slim you will enjoy this series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Chad | 1/16/2014

    " Interesting story with some witty writing which struggles to be a bit too forced at times. The main problem with this book is the main character, Felix Castor. Overall he is an interesting read, but for a man with little to no fighting skills he sure does seem to get himself into and out of a lot of trouble. Carey falls into the trap of trying to write a noir character that always seems to get into trouble but being a guy who realistically isn't a guy who could actually get out of it. Basically it seemed ridiculous and unbelievable. Phillip Marlowe, Mike Hammer and even Harry Dresden are all figures who have some skills that allow them to hold their own in physical confrontations, so there situations are plausible and easy to buy. Castor reads more like Mary McFly fighting and defeating The Hulk. It's just a bit silly. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 John Parrish III | 11/12/2013

    " Carey "turns a phrase" like none other. What if John Constantine was a "Dandy" instead of London working class? "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Roman Colombo | 9/21/2013

    " I really like Mike Carey's comic work, but this was a drag to get through. The prose was entirely too slow and the pacing just awful. As interesting a story and character as it had, it felt like a chore to read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 László | 9/20/2013

    " Not too much happened in this book and that took really long. Fortunately I read on. The next book is great this is more like an introduction of characters and the world. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christopher Mcgurr | 9/8/2013

    " Great book. The main character is a bit like John Constantine from the comic Hellblazer. (which, by the way Mike Carey wrote an excellent run on) Highly enjoyable. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Owen Landgren | 7/29/2013

    " Solid pageturner urban fantasy with an interesting main character and a somewhat fuzzy but still interesting magic system and world premise. The worldbuilding is definitely not on the level of some of the more polished offerings of the modern era, but it's worth a read if you're not picky. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michael | 7/14/2013

    " A fesh horror tale with an exorcist/detective "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jenna | 7/4/2013

    " Very addictive. I'd rank it pretty close behind Dresden. A little heavy in the London-isms. I'm going to try to hold off on starting the sequel til I finish one of the other books I already have started. I predict I'll last until tomorrow. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Matthew Wilke | 5/21/2013

    " A perfect series for fans of The Dresden Files and Sandman Slim. As well as Neil Gaiman fans. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kathryn | 5/5/2013

    " I enjoyed it but it didn't really grab me, so probably won't read any more. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Danielle | 10/26/2012

    " exciting in that futuristic paranomal London-y way. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lisa | 10/25/2012

    " I enjoyed the Lucifer series also by this author so I thought I'd try a full novel. Worth a read. I'm interested to try the next installment as well. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Larry Rogers | 5/24/2012

    " Free-lance exorcism is a dangerous and demanding job. This is the first of several novels about Felix Castor. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jon Darbyshire | 5/5/2012

    " Was very griping and a good twist at the end. A good paranormal book but without the hype you get. Good to read a "a ghost, cool" instead of scooby foo subplot it was the janitor. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Travis | 1/5/2012

    " If the rest read like this one, it looks like I just found one of my favorite new series. It's 500 pages but it's a really easy read and if you like the paranormal that's a plus too. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Veronika | 11/20/2011

    " Great first novel of a series I'm really enjoying. Supernatural mystery with a fun baby boomer protagonist. Loving it, but part of that could be because I get almost all the pop culture references. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mark Taylor | 8/25/2011

    " I like a good trashy horror story now and again, and this one has got it all -- ghosts, an exorcist detective, werewolves... It's like Prime Suspect meets 13 Ghosts. It's got street grit mixed with the supernatural. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Erik | 5/4/2011

    " Slow start, but built to a terrific finish, Carey's writing is a mix of Chandler noir with pitch black dark fantasy. First in a series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jim | 5/4/2011

    " Decent PI fare with supernatural themes. Better written than Jim Butcher's similarly themed novels. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christine | 4/9/2011

    " I liked this a lot. I've been reading a lot of historical romances lately, so this was a great change of pace. No romancey stuff at all, actually, which, again, was a nice change of pace. Well written, good pacing, just creepy enough. Will read more of the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Matt | 3/28/2011

    " Thoroughly enjoyed this, although I can't help thinking I would have liked it more were I better versed in British pop culture. Deft handling of a premise that, in lesser hands, would just come out dorky. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Peter | 3/20/2011

    " Took a good long while for me to get into it, but had a strong, fast paced ending that interests me in book 2. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Xythen | 3/15/2011

    " I love this series about an exorcist in London just after the big supernatural "coming out".
    Darker and seedier than Jim Butcher's Dresden Files. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Bill1971 | 3/10/2011

    " Better than I thought it would be. Definately check out more in the series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lori | 3/10/2011

    " Great take on the ghosts living amongst us; however, the characters (beyond the main protagonist) are barely tolerable - perhaps on purpose - but still makes it a more difficult read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary | 2/20/2011

    " I really liked this book. I like the Dresden Files book a lot but I really didn't find myself comparing Fix to Harry Dresden while I was reading this. I also didn't find it overrun with British "in" jokes. It was an enjoyable Urban Fantasy read. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Mike Carey

Mike Carey got into writing through comic books, where his horror/fantasy series Lucifer garnered numerous international awards and was nominated for five Eisners. From there, he moved into novels and screenplays, while still maintaining a presence in the comics world (he is currently writing two of Marvel’s flagship titles, X-Men and Ultimate Fantastic Four). His movie Frost Flowers, an erotic ghost story, is currently in production with Hadaly/Bluestar Pictures. He lives in London, England with his wife, Linda, who writes fantasy for young readers under the pseudonym A. J. Lake. They have three children and an implausibly beautiful cat.

About the Narrator

Michael Kramer has narrated many audiobooks over the last twenty years; his favorite authors include Donald E. Westlake, Thomas Perry, and Robert Jordan. He has received fifteen AudioFile Earphones Awards for his work. He lives in the DC area, where he also works in theater as an actor and director.