The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories Audiobook, by Ian Rankin Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories Audiobook

The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories Audiobook, by Ian Rankin Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $25.98 Add to Cart
Author: Ian Rankin Narrator: James McPherson Publisher: Little, Brown & Company Audio Length: Series:The Inspector Rebus Series Release Date: August 2015 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781478904380

Publisher Description

There is no detective like Ian Rankin’s Detective Inspector John Rebus, a man the New Yorker calls “the ideal sleuth.”

Brilliant, irascible, and frequently frustrating to both his friends and his long-suffering bosses, John Rebus has made the dark places of Edinburgh his home for over two decades. The Beat Goes On collects all of Ian Rankin’s Rebus short stories for the first time, including two never-before-published tales written specifically for this collection.

From his beginnings as a young detective constable in “Dead and Buried” right up to his dramatic—but not quite final—retirement in “The Very Last Drop,” Rebus shines in these stories, confirming his status as one of crime fiction’s most compelling, brilliant, and unforgettable characters. In these gripping, fast-paced tales, the legendary Scottish detective investigates the sinister cases that are his specialty, including a gruesome student death, the brutal murder of a woman at the crux of a love triangle, an audacious jewel heist, suspicious happenings at a nursing home, and an ominous email that brings a family’s darkest secrets to light.

The Beat Goes On is the ultimate Ian Rankin treasure trove—a must-have book for crime fiction aficionados and a superb introduction for anyone looking to experience John Rebus—and the dark, twist-filled crimes he investigates—for the first time.

Download and start listening now!


  • “Sharply observed, economically written stories…for Rankin fans used to a regular diet of Rebus, this collection makes up for the year off the author took after the 2013 novel Saints of the Shadow Bible. For the uninitiated with short attention spans interested in sampling one of the finest crime fiction practitioners going, it’s an excellent place to start.”

    - Philadelphia Inquirer
  • “All of the stories are tightly wrought and entertaining. He moves ahead at great speed to deliver work that is potently inspiring, bringing readers a gem in each one.”

    - Bookreporter
  • “Rankin’s canny cop is as gray and dour as his Edinburgh beat, but he’s in fine form in these clever, occasionally touching, and often wryly funny vignettes.”

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • “James Macpherson does a fine job narrating these stories about Edinburgh police detective John Rebus. His narration brings to mind an author reading at a bookstore…This collection is a treasure for Rebus fans—it covers much of his career and showcases many aspects of the detective’s complex personality.”

    - AudioFile

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Ian Rankin, a New York Times bestselling author, is the recipient of an Edgar Award, a Gold Dagger for fiction, and a Chandler-Fulbright Fellowship.

About the Narrator

James MacPherson, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, is a Scottish actor best known for his role as Detective Michael Jardine in the STV drama Taggart, as well as his portrayal of Hugh Hamilton in BBC Radio 4’s hit drama series Citizens.