Extended Audio Sample

Download The Daughter of Highland Hall Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Daughter of Highland Hall, by Carrie Turansky Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Carrie Turansky Narrator: Veida Dehmlow Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Fans of Downton Abbey, Jane Eyre, and Pride and Prejudice will enjoy this pure and inspiring romance taking place in Edwardian England amid a clash of cultures and changing times.

Eighteen-year-old Katherine Ramsey travels to London with her family to make her debut into society and hopefully find her future husband. Her overbearing aunt insists that she must secure a proposal from a wealthy young man who is in line to inherit his father’s title and estate. But Katherine questions her aunt’s plans when she gets to know Jonathan Foster, a handsome medical student and strong Christian who is determined to protect the poor and vulnerable in London’s East End. 

When a family scandal puts a damper on Katherine’s hopes for the season, she has time to volunteer with Jonathan, caring for children in one of London’s poorest areas, and romance blossoms. Katherine’s faith grows, and she begins to envision a different future with Jonathan. But when Katherine’s work in the East End puts her in danger, Jonathan distances himself from Katherine to protect her. A wealthy suitor reappears, and Katherine must choose which path to follow.

Download and start listening now!

bhnd

Quotes & Awards

  • “In The Daughter of Highland Hall, Carrie Turansky sweeps readers back into the early nineteen hundreds, to the glamour of London society as well as the desperate world of those struggling to survive in London’s East End. This beautiful story is filled with endearing characters who will steal your heart and surprises that will keep you engrossed until the very end.”

    Melanie Dobson, author of The Courier of Caswell Hall

  • “From London’s East End to the royal presentation court, Carrie Turansky pulls back the curtain on Edwardian England in this sweeping new drama. The Daughter of Highland Hall will delight romance fans as well as those who like a peek behind the scenes into the lives of the elite and the people who serve them. A delight from the first page to the last.”

    Carla Stewart, author of Stardust

  • “Giving vivid entry into an Edwardian England setting, from genteel ballrooms to the gritty streets of London’s East End, author Carrie Turansky has created a cast of multilayered, delightfully written characters I found engaging from beginning to end. The Daughter of Highland Hall is at its heart a story of personal courage, one sure to please fans of Turansky’s The Governess of Highland Hall, as well as readers coming fresh to the series with this book.”

    Lori Benton, author of Burning Sky

  • “From first line to last, The Daughter of Highland Hall is a sumptuous Edwardian feast, brimming with romance, history, and spiritual truths. Society and its glitter fade away as what truly matters comes into play. A delightful addition to the Edwardian Brides series!”

    Laura Frantz, author of Love’s Fortune

  • “Veida Dehmlow’s rich, versatile voice brings to life this second book in the Edwardian Brides series…Dehmlow hits just the right notes in this inspirational story of faith and love. She’s spot on at portraying all strata of British accents, especially excelling at the voice of Katherine’s snooty Aunt Louisa. Just as effective is Dehmlow’s portrayl of those ‘below stairs,’ each of whom she makes sound distinct and distinctly working class.”

    AudioFile

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 | 11/9/2016

    " The lower rating is purely due to the fact that I did not enjoy this book as much as I did the last. This was because I really did not appreciate Katherine's attitude. The usual 'I want to marry for love instead of duty, because marrying for duty would be so awful and I would be so unhappy' stuff. Its not as if nobody ever had a happy arranged marriage. Also, the depiction of Aunt Louisa was not entirely fair in this context, she was only trying to keep a promise she made to her sister after all. It was a far story, just not a favourite. Narration was good. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Carrie Turansky is the award-winning author of more than a dozen inspirational romance novels and novellas, including Where Two Hearts Meet and Surrendered Hearts. She has won the ACFW Carol Award, the Crystal Globe Award, and the International Digital Award. She lives in central New Jersey with her husband, Scott.