Extended Audio Sample

Download The Dangerous Edge of Things Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Dangerous Edge of Things, by Tina Whittle Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (152 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Tina Whittle Narrator: Renée Raudma Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Tai Randolph Mysteries Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Tai Randolph thinks inheriting a Confederate-themed gun shop is her biggest headache—until she finds a murdered corpse in her brother’s driveway. Even worse, her supposedly respectable brother begins behaving in decidedly non-innocent ways, like fleeing to the Bahamas and leaving her with both a homicide in her lap and the pointed suspicions of the Atlanta Police Department directed her way. Suddenly, she has to worry about clearing her own name, not just that of her wayward sibling.

Complicating her search for answers is Trey Seaver, field agent for Phoenix, an exclusive corporate security firm hired to investigate the crime. Seaver is fearless, focused, and utterly impervious to bribes, threats, and clever deceptions. Still in recovery from the car accident that left him cognitively and emotionally damaged, Seaver has constructed a world of certainty and routine. He has powerful people to answer to, and the last thing he wants is an unpredictable stranger “detecting” on Phoenix turf.

Tai’s inquiry leads her from the cold-eyed glamour of Atlanta’s adult-entertainment scene to the gilded treachery of Tuxedo Road. Potential suspects abound, including violent stalkers, vengeful sisters, and a paparazzo with a taste for meth. But it takes another murder—and threats to her own life—to make Tai realize that to solve this crime she has to trust the most dangerous man she’s ever met.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Set in Atlanta, Whittle’s tight, suspenseful debut introduces…wisecracking characters that aren’t trite and a twisting plot that isn’t tired.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “In this exciting series debut, Whittle provides not only an original, well-constructed plot but also a cast of unforgettable characters all somewhat flawed by life. With comparisons to Meg Gardiner and Karin Slaughter, this will appeal to readers who enjoy unusual approaches to crime fiction. Can’t wait for the next one.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Whittle’s debut novel, clearly intended to be the first in a series, boasts a feisty if somewhat foolhardy protagonist whose relationship with the intriguing Trey bodes well for further installments…This has all the makings of a promising series.”


  • “Tai’s next adventure can’t come soon enough. She’s adorable, Trey is worthy of her, and Whittle’s first foray into crime fiction is noteworthy.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • A Kirkus Reviews “New and Notable Title”

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Ellen | 2/20/2014

    " A very quirky thriller with a love interest sideline. Definitely worth a read. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by April | 2/10/2014

    " I wanted to like this mystery/thriller more than I did. I get the heroine falling for the hunky but brain damaged man....the brain damage is the modern thing that makes him a "bad boy." But the attraction didn't seem quite clear to me. I liked the setup....a young punkish female inheriting a Confederate gun shop near Atlanta, but not much was done with that part of the book. For me, there was something missing. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Fran | 2/9/2014

    " Best Book I have ever read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Allison | 1/23/2014

    " This novel is being promoted as a readalike to Janet Evanovich. I didn't find it as funny as Evanovich, but there are the requisite quirky and interesting characters. The action is set in Atlanta and revolves around Tai Randolph who has inherited a gun shop and finds a dead body in front of her brother's house. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations