The Dangerous Edge of Things Audiobook, by Tina Whittle Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Dangerous Edge of Things Audiobook

The Dangerous Edge of Things Audiobook, by Tina Whittle Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
Author: Tina Whittle Narrator: Renée Raudman Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Audio Length: Series:The Tai Randolph Mysteries Release Date: January 2011 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781481587884

Publisher Description

Tai Randolph thinks inheriting a Confederate-themed gun shop is her biggest headache—until she finds a murdered corpse in her brother’s driveway. Even worse, her supposedly respectable brother begins behaving in decidedly non-innocent ways, like fleeing to the Bahamas and leaving her with both a homicide in her lap and the pointed suspicions of the Atlanta Police Department directed her way. Suddenly, she has to worry about clearing her own name, not just that of her wayward sibling.

Complicating her search for answers is Trey Seaver, field agent for Phoenix, an exclusive corporate security firm hired to investigate the crime. Seaver is fearless, focused, and utterly impervious to bribes, threats, and clever deceptions. Still in recovery from the car accident that left him cognitively and emotionally damaged, Seaver has constructed a world of certainty and routine. He has powerful people to answer to, and the last thing he wants is an unpredictable stranger “detecting” on Phoenix turf.

Tai’s inquiry leads her from the cold-eyed glamour of Atlanta’s adult-entertainment scene to the gilded treachery of Tuxedo Road. Potential suspects abound, including violent stalkers, vengeful sisters, and a paparazzo with a taste for meth. But it takes another murder—and threats to her own life—to make Tai realize that to solve this crime she has to trust the most dangerous man she’s ever met.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Set in Atlanta, Whittle’s tight, suspenseful debut introduces…wisecracking characters that aren’t trite and a twisting plot that isn’t tired.”

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “In this exciting series debut, Whittle provides not only an original, well-constructed plot but also a cast of unforgettable characters all somewhat flawed by life. With comparisons to Meg Gardiner and Karin Slaughter, this will appeal to readers who enjoy unusual approaches to crime fiction. Can’t wait for the next one.”

    - Library Journal (starred review)
  • “Whittle’s debut novel, clearly intended to be the first in a series, boasts a feisty if somewhat foolhardy protagonist whose relationship with the intriguing Trey bodes well for further installments…This has all the makings of a promising series.”

    - Booklist
  • “Tai’s next adventure can’t come soon enough. She’s adorable, Trey is worthy of her, and Whittle’s first foray into crime fiction is noteworthy.”

    - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Awards

  • A Kirkus Reviews “New and Notable Title”

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " A very quirky thriller with a love interest sideline. Definitely worth a read. "

    - Ellen, 2/20/2014
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " I wanted to like this mystery/thriller more than I did. I get the heroine falling for the hunky but brain damaged man....the brain damage is the modern thing that makes him a "bad boy." But the attraction didn't seem quite clear to me. I liked the setup....a young punkish female inheriting a Confederate gun shop near Atlanta, but not much was done with that part of the book. For me, there was something missing. "

    - April, 2/10/2014
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Best Book I have ever read. "

    - Fran, 2/9/2014
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " This novel is being promoted as a readalike to Janet Evanovich. I didn't find it as funny as Evanovich, but there are the requisite quirky and interesting characters. The action is set in Atlanta and revolves around Tai Randolph who has inherited a gun shop and finds a dead body in front of her brother's house. "

    - Allison, 1/23/2014
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I enjoyed the plot and the characters. I liked the ending. "

    - Michele, 1/14/2014
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " Likable characters. Convoluted and muddled mystery. "

    - Marvelle, 1/9/2014
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I think it was more of a 3.5. I enjoyed it and am looking forward to the next one! "

    - Nancie, 1/9/2014
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " A nice surprise - a fun mystery and likeable characters! Will be heading to the library to pick up the 2nd book before the weekend! "

    - Lori, 12/30/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " This is a page turner- I never saw that ending coming! "

    - Gretchen, 11/3/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " This was good for a first try. I look forward to the next one with high expectations. Whittle has a knack for writing a good story. "

    - Carolenoble, 11/1/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Interesting mystery with intriguing characters. "

    - Britt,, 2/8/2013
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " Girl inherits guns shop in Atlanta. Helps to solve murder of another girl in driveway of her brother. Falls for guys with no emotions. Typical. "

    - Janet, 4/14/2012
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Great mystery with lots of plot twists and turns. A hint of a burgeoning love story was nice too. I found a few typos but that could be due to reading in an ePUB format rather than traditional book form. I might go back and read this one again! "

    - Tracy, 3/28/2012
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Great debut mystery. Although whodunit was telegraphed somewhat, this team of partners is unique and interesting. I look forward to the next one in the series. "

    - Genie, 1/5/2012
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " Very Stephanie Plum. Not bad but mostly for a summer read by the lake...no brain required. "

    - SueDella, 12/26/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " What a surprise book. I thought this book turned out to be surprisingly good. I thought that it was slow at time but the author was very funny and kept me laughing even though it's not a comedy but a murder mystery. I will definitely recommend this book to others who like mysteries! "

    - Sharon, 9/5/2011
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " This was a very good book. I will definitely read more books by this author. "

    - Janet, 4/23/2011
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " A tightly written debut mystery novel. Good blend of humor, plot and pluck. Perfect for Stephanie Plum fans. Releases February 1st. "

    - Scott, 4/16/2011
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " Girl inherits guns shop in Atlanta. Helps to solve murder of another girl in driveway of her brother. Falls for guys with no emotions. Typical. "

    - Janet, 4/11/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Great debut mystery. Although whodunit was telegraphed somewhat, this team of partners is unique and interesting. I look forward to the next one in the series. "

    - Genie, 4/10/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I enjoyed the plot and the characters. I liked the ending. "

    - Michele, 3/4/2011
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " A tightly written debut mystery novel. Good blend of humor, plot and pluck. Perfect for Stephanie Plum fans. Releases February 1st. "

    - Scott, 1/15/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " What a surprise book. I thought this book turned out to be surprisingly good. I thought that it was slow at time but the author was very funny and kept me laughing even though it's not a comedy but a murder mystery. I will definitely recommend this book to others who like mysteries! "

    - Sharon, 1/6/2011

About the Author

Tina Whittle is a mystery writer living and working in southeastern Georgia. Her short fiction has appeared in the Savannah Literary Journal, Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, and Gulf Stream Magazine, which selected her story “Lost Causes and Other Reasons to Live” as the 2004 winner of their mystery fiction contest. She is also a columnist and feature writer for a local alternative newspaper and is a professional tarot reader.

About the Narrator

Emily Rankin is an audio narrator and winner of two AudioFile Earphones Awards.