Extended Audio Sample

Download The Damned United Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Damned United Audiobook, by David Peace
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (33 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: David Peace Narrator: John Simm Publisher: Canongate Faber Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2012 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

In 1974 the brilliant and controversial Brian Clough made perhaps his most eccentric decision: he accepted the Leeds United Manager's job. As successor to Don Revie, his bitter adversary, he was to last 44 days. David Peace takes us into the mind and thoughts of Ol' Big 'Ead himself, and brings vividly to life one of post-war Britain's most complex and fascinating characters.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Vicky Massingham | 12/1/2013

    " Read it for the sake of my hubby who loves leeds united... i actually quite enjoyed it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ipswichblade | 9/16/2013

    " Really good book even though its about Leeds United!! This is the other side to The Damned United with interviews with some of the players who were with Brian Clough at Leeds as weel as others connected "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 John | 7/10/2013

    " ok would be the best way to describe it. too many long narratives taken directly from interviews or clippings from newspapers from the time. overall it keeps the author's opinion out, but it can make for some jumping around and boring reading after hearing gordon mcqueen go on and on... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andy | 1/13/2013

    " the style is clever, written as if we're listening to Clough's internal monologue, depicting his passion for the game, his ambitions and frustrations. The repetitive style of his inner thoughts grip at the start and then, for me, just got on my nerves. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author David Peace

David Peace is the author of the Red Riding Quartet series and was chosen as one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists in 2003. He is the author of six previous novels, published in the UK: the four novels of the Red Riding Quartet, GB84, and The Damned Utd. He was born and raised in West Yorkshire and now lives in the East End of Tokyo with his wife and children.