Extended Audio Sample

Download The Collected Works of Billy the Kid Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Collected Works of Billy the Kid (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Michael Ondaatje
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (1,727 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael Ondaatje Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc. Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2009 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

From the Booker Prize-winning author of The English Patient comes a visionary novel, a virtuoso synthesis of storytelling, history, and myth.

William Bonney, a.k.a. Billy the Kid, killed his first man when he was 12. By the time he was 21 he had, by his own reckoning, slain 19 more. In the intervening years, he had become Billy the Kid, bloodthirsty ogre and outlaw saint.

Drawing on contemporary accounts, period photographs, dime novels, and his own fund of empathy and imagination, Michael Ondaatje traces Billy's passage across the blasted landscape of 1880 New Mexico and the collective unconscious of his country. Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_003389

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Hannah | 1/15/2014

    " I must admit that I found the poetry a little bit hard to absorb, and the whole time I was reading I kept wondering what my ex-boyfriend (a poet) would think about it. The prose, on the other hand was wonderful, and I wish there had been more of both because by the time I got used to the two together, the book was over. So many reviewers here talk about re-reading, and I think I may have to do so myself. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Enver Krivac | 1/10/2014

    " best thing ever! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rafe | 1/9/2014

    " I tend to waver a lot on what I think of any given Ondaatje book, but Collected Works has been at the top of my Favorites list since I discovered it in a class on multigenre writing as an undergrad. Reading this, I understood for the first time that genre can be fluid - something I had sort of known, but never been able to articulate - and that story happens as it is going to happen. I love how Ondaatje tells the story of Billy the Kid through a pastiche of memories, photographs, short fiction, news articles, and poems. It doesn't matter what is or is not made up, it doesn't matter whether you choose to interpret the symbols (his hands! the birds!) or just wander through the narrative... The book is beautifully done, and remains a profound influence on my writing. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kate | 12/29/2013

    " Lyrical, part history, party prose poem. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Macksat | 12/29/2013

    " An interesting book of poetry, some of the first i read start to finish, rather than jumping around. The photographs really augment the experience. I was never a fan of westerns, but this was no tale of the stereotypical billy the kid. A very interesting portrait. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jon | 12/25/2013

    " This book destroys conventions. It is a punch-you-in-the-face then throw-you-down-the-stairs experience, and a must for every serious reader. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Laurie Stephenson | 12/13/2013

    " the book that caused me to switch from pre-med to English Lit "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Janie | 12/8/2013

    " Think the English Patient was good? His earlier works were better! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Megan | 11/28/2013

    " it seems somehow unfinished, but as he goes, I follow. his prose makes me drool, wander, & dream. love love love. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hirosasazaki Sasazaki | 11/21/2013

    " beautifully mixed with poem and novel. I like Ondaatje. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kristianne | 9/21/2013

    " Great chaster to 2666. Thanks Greg! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chris | 4/26/2013

    " An unusual, slim little multi-genre novela. Ondaatje mixes poetry and prose with want-ads, photographs, dictionary and encylopedia entries, dialogues, and play-script to create this haunting and beautiful little book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carrie Lorig | 7/25/2012

    " this haunts me with its streaming trains and dark animals and broken on purpose men. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Scott | 7/6/2012

    " Pretty wild writing. He invented his own style for this one for sure. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 the Skrauss | 3/15/2012

    " Beautiful and crazed. poetry photography and prose build the portrait of Billy. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Heidi | 1/27/2012

    " My first experience with a multi-genre book, and I enjoyed it very much. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 S. | 11/4/2011

    " I picked this up on a trip to the Southwest in the '80s not really knowing what it was. I'd never read Ondaatje before. After I finished, I still didn't know what it was, except that it was fabulous, surprising, exciting. Turned me on to Ondaatje. This book needs more attention. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Dana | 9/16/2011

    " Definitely not my favorite of Ondaatje's books. After The English Patient and Divisadero, both of which I loved, this one felt a bit like a G-rated version of Blood Meridian, poetic but foreign and too much of the dried out West for me. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Liz | 7/6/2011

    " sparse and imaginative--stirs your imaginings. totally the opposite of Carter's story based on Lizzie Borden. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Steph | 6/25/2011

    " I had to read this for a class, and it's a book I never would have picked up on my own. I loved the use of different genres to paint a picture of this classic character. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hirosasazaki | 4/1/2011

    " beautifully mixed with poem and novel. I like Ondaatje. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Ash | 1/27/2011

    " Not so excited bout it. The only thing that kept me going was the fiction parts and the gruesomeness--it's gorier than anything I've read in a long time--and the uncertain ending. I cant really be bothered to try and understand it.. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Diablo | 1/19/2011

    " A bit of a twisted read, took me outside of my head, dropped me in the dirt, scraped me on the sole of my boot and stuffed me back into my head through an already mashed ear...made me wanna read it again as soon as it was done wit me. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Chris | 9/8/2010

    " Recommended for fans of Kerouac, Salinger, Brautigan, and 10-14 year old boys. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Diana | 9/5/2010

    " one of my favorite books. i reread this every year "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Stephen | 5/12/2010

    " I read this book for an in-class discussion. I was amazed by number of things we talked about. Ondaatje was really of top of his craft when writing this book. My hat is off to him. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bryan | 4/12/2010

    " Mr. Bonney's poetic interior monologues are a bit too well formed for this to ring true, but a great book nonetheless. I would give it more "stars" but I was never enamored with the American West. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ella | 2/22/2010

    " sex on the toilet; inbred dogs; barefoot women making stew between shootouts "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Eric | 2/3/2010

    " I loved this book--the best multi-genre piece I have ever read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lise | 1/19/2010

    " My favorite collection of poems, bar none. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Michael Ondaatje

Michael Ondaatje is the author of three previous novels, a memoir, and eleven books of poetry. His novel, The English Patient, won the Booker Prize and became the basis for the Oscar-winning movie of the same name. Born in Sri Lanka, he moved to Canada in 1962 and now lives in Toronto.

About the Narrator

Stefan Rudnicki first became involved with audiobooks in 1994. Now a Grammy-winning audiobook producer, he has worked on more than three thousand audiobooks as a narrator, writer, producer, or director. He has narrated more than three hundred audiobooks. A recipient of multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards, he was presented the coveted Audie Award for solo narration in 2005, 2007, and 2014 and was named one of AudioFile’s Golden Voices in 2012.