The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics Audiobook, by Daniel James Brown Play Audiobook Sample

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics Audiobook

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics Audiobook, by Daniel James Brown Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $19.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $24.00 Add to Cart
Read By: Edward Herrmann Publisher: Penguin Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 9.67 hours at 1.5x Speed 7.25 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: June 2013 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781101620137

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

22

Longest Chapter Length:

57:36 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

06:41 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

39:18 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

6

Other Audiobooks Written by Daniel James Brown: > View All...

Publisher Description

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about the American Olympic rowing triumph  in Nazi Germany—from the author of Facing the Mountain. Soon to be a major motion picture directed by George Clooney For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

Download and start listening now!

"I absolutely loved listening to this book. I thought Daniel James Brown did such a great job doing all the research for this story. He was so descriptive which made it so enjoyable to listen to. After finishing the book I wanted to do some research on my own about the boys at the 1936 Olympics. It was so cool to see short films of the race. The narrator did a great job. Very easy to listen to. "

— Emily Muha (5 out of 5 stars)

Quotes

  • “This riveting tale of beating the odds (and the Germans) at the 1936 Olympics is a rousing story of American can-do-ism. It’s also a portrait of the nine boys who first rowed together for the University of Washington and of the one in particular who made the sport his family and his home.”

    — Parade
  • “Cogent history… and a surprisingly suspenseful tale of triumph.”

    — USA Today
  • “For those who like adventure stories straight up...It’s about the University of Washington’s crew team: ‘Nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant.’”

    — New York Times
  • “If you imagined a great regatta of books about rowing, then Brown’s The Boys in the Boat certainly makes the final heat.”

    — Boston Globe
  • “This riveting and inspiring saga evokes that of Seabiscuit…Readers need neither background nor interest in competitive rowing to be captivated by this remarkable and beautifully crafted history. Written with the drama of a compelling novel, it's a quintessentially American story that burnishes the esteem in which we embrace what has come to be known as the Greatest Generation.”

    — Associated Press
  • “Brown’s book juxtaposes the coming together of the Washington crew team against the Nazis’ preparations for the Games, weaving together a history that feels both intimately personal and weighty in its larger historical implications. This book has already been bought for cinematic development, and it’s easy to see why: When Brown, a Seattle-based nonfiction writer, describes a race, you feel the splash as the oars slice the water, the burning in the young men’s muscles, and the incredible drive that propelled these rowers to glory.”

    — Smithsonian
  • “The individual stories of these young men are almost as compelling as the rise of the team itself. Brown excels at weaving those stories with the larger narrative, all culminating in the 1936 Olympic Games…A story this breathtaking demands an equally compelling author, and Brown does not disappoint. The narrative rises inexorably, with the final fifty pages blurring by with white-knuckled suspense as these all-American underdogs pull off the unimaginable.”

    — Seattle Times
  • “For this nautical version of Chariots of Fire, Brown crafts an evocative, cinematic prose studded with engrossing explanations of rowing technique and strategy, exciting come-from-behind race scenes, and the requisite hymns to “mystic bands of trust and affection” forged on the water. Brown lays on the aura of embattled national aspiration good and thick, but he makes his heroes’ struggle as fascinating as the best Olympic sagas.”

    — Publishers Weekly
  • “A touching, fairly uncomplicated portrayal of rowing legends.”

    — Kirkus Reviews

Awards

  • A Booklist Top 10 in June 2013
  • Selected for the July 2013 Indie Next List
  • A Publishers Weekly bestseller
  • A Los Angeles Times bestseller
  • An Amazon Top 100 Book of 2013
  • A 2013 BookPage Best Book
  • A San Francisco Chronicle bestseller
  • Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A 2014 ALA Notable Book for Adult Nonfiction
  • An NPR bestseller
  • Winner of the 2014 Indies Choice Book Award for Book of the Year: Adult Nonfiction
  • A #1 New York Times bestseller

The Boys in the Boat Listener Reviews

Overall Performance: 4.66666666666667 out of 54.66666666666667 out of 54.66666666666667 out of 54.66666666666667 out of 54.66666666666667 out of 5 (4.67)
5 Stars: 11
4 Stars: 3
3 Stars: 1
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Narration: 4.66666666666667 out of 54.66666666666667 out of 54.66666666666667 out of 54.66666666666667 out of 54.66666666666667 out of 5 (4.67)
5 Stars: 11
4 Stars: 3
3 Stars: 1
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Story: 4.78571428571429 out of 54.78571428571429 out of 54.78571428571429 out of 54.78571428571429 out of 54.78571428571429 out of 5 (4.79)
5 Stars: 12
4 Stars: 1
3 Stars: 1
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " The this book is the best thing I have red in a long time. The narration is very good. I was not expecting a download book. I thought I was buying the book on CD. Luckily I had someone more technical than I am to get it in a form we could play. "

    — MaryN, 2/5/2024
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — 1/19/2024
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — MJ, 12/19/2023
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Papa Joe DeLima Jr, 3/11/2023
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Mike Corney, 10/13/2022
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Narration Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Paul Kasman, 5/29/2022
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Barry Nickell, 8/6/2020
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Ritaham , 7/23/2020
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Narration Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Story Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    — Codename Eric, 9/22/2019
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    — Katina Manchester, 9/14/2018
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Great read and was a tremendous help in understanding the sport of rowing. This was my first audibook and now I am hooked! "

    — Mark, 6/5/2018
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Amazing story, read for book club. Great questions to ask for book club. "

    — Pen, 4/22/2018
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Wow, what a story! The "boys" are all gone but because of this book and a few old news reels, their legacy lives on. It's a great story of perseverance and courage. Having grown up on Capitol Hill in Seattle, this story has special meaning to me. In the future, when I watch the Windermere Cup and walk through the crewhouse, I'll see the Husky Clipper a little differently. "

    — Peter McHugh, 6/12/2017
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Narration Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Rene Bancroft, 3/18/2017
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Isabelle Danner, 9/5/2013

About Daniel James Brown

Daniel James Brown is the New York Times bestselling author of The Boys in the Boat, The Indifferent Stars Above, and Under a Flaming Sky, which was a finalist for the Barnes & Noble Discover Award. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University.

About Edward Herrmann

Edward Herrmann (1943–2014) was one of America’s top audiobook narrators. He won multiple Audie Awards and twenty-two Earphones Awards, and his narration of the King James version of the Bible remains a benchmark in the industry.