The Bloody Ground: Battle of Antietam, 1862 Audiobook, by Bernard Cornwell Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Bloody Ground: Battle of Antietam, 1862 Audiobook

The Bloody Ground: Battle of Antietam, 1862 Audiobook, by Bernard Cornwell Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
Author: Bernard Cornwell Narrator: Grover Gardner Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Audio Length: Series:The Starbuck Chronicles Release Date: June 2005 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781483055237

Publisher Description

The fourth book in The Starbuck Chronicles, The Bloody Ground follows Boston-born Confederate officer Nathaniel Starbuck as the Confederate army under Robert E. Lee invades the North, culminating in the Battle of Antietam Creek.

It is only weeks after the Second Manassas in September 1862, and Robert E. Lee takes the war north, where he will be met by “Little Mac,” General George McClellan, whose northern army far outnumbers and outguns the invading Confederates. In Richmond, Virginia, Starbuck is given command of a punishment battalion, a motley collection of cowards, thieves, deserters, and murderers, officered by men who do not welcome Starbuck’s arrival. Setting off to join Lee’s army, Starbuck’s men reach Harper’s Ferry in time to take part in Stonewall Jackson’s capture of the Union garrison. From there, it is on to the legendary horror of Sharpsburg beside the Antietam Creek, forever to be remembered as the bloodiest single day of the war. There, in the cornfield, Starbuck and his despised men will have their courage and commitment tested as never before.

Download and start listening now!


  • “The bloodiest battle in the Civil War comes to life in [Gardner’s] expert narration.”

    - AudioFile
  • “Cornwell writes one of the most vivid accounts of a Civil War battle to be found in any novel.”

    - Richmond Times Dispatch
  • “The Nathaniel Starbuck Chronicles have a take-you-there-style of writing that romanticizes neither war nor warrior, yet leaves the reader caught up in the passions of the era and the lives of the characters, both real and fictional.”

    - Roanoke Times & World News
  • “[Grover Gardner’s] strong, clear voice moves easily from bloody battlefield to military intrigue, from rough soldier to educated attorney”

    - AudioFile

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Bernard Cornwell, born in London, worked for the BBC and Thames Television before coming to the United States to write full time. His sweeping historical novels, including the acclaimed Richard Sharpe series and many more, make him a number one bestselling author in the United Kingdom and around the world. He is the author of the acclaimed New York Times bestselling Saxon Tales series, which serves as the basis for the hit television series The Last Kingdom.

About the Narrator

Grover Gardner (a.k.a. Tom Parker) is an award-winning narrator with over a thousand titles to his credit. Named one of the “Best Voices of the Century” and a Golden Voice by AudioFile magazine, he has won three prestigious Audie Awards, was chosen Narrator of the Year for 2005 by Publishers Weekly, and has earned more than thirty Earphones Awards.