Extended Audio Sample

Download The Best Man Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Best Man Audiobook, by Richard Peck Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Richard Peck Narrator: Michael Crouch Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2016 ISBN: 9780735288874
Regular Price: $18.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.

Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school.

But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn’t see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he’s the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.

In pages that ripple with laughter, there’s a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

Download and start listening now!

bv75

Quotes & Awards

  • “Peck is at heart a gentle realist, a keen observer of family dynamics…The Best Man is…a reminder that no matter your gender or sexuality, love is love is love.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “It’s Peck’s intent to spark a discussion for young readers about same-sex marriages, a topic that standardized testing and textbooks haven’t caught up with yet. Bravo.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “A witty, engaging novel from a master storyteller.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “An indelible portrait of what it looks like to grow up in an age of viral videos and media frenzies, undergirded by…[a] powerful sense of family.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • "Explores what it means to love and what it means to be a man….A modern, funny, and realistic tale featuring strong, nuanced, and unforgettable characters. An essential addition for middle grade collections.”

    School Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Rise and toast The Best Man…We’re not done needing books like this. Comic, easy to read, swiftly paced, and matter-of-fact, Peck’s latest steps out to lead the way.”

    Horn Book (starred review)

  • “Narrator Michael Crouch is a natural with kid voices, and Archer sounds exactly like the sixth-grader he is. Crouch differentiates clearly between the kid and adult characters as the plot veers from touching to zany and back again…Listeners will relate, whether they’re all grown up or still growing.”

    AudioFile

  • A Kirkus Reviews Pick of Best Books of 2016 for Middle-Graders
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Richard Peck

Richard Peck has won almost every children’s fiction award, including the Margaret A. Edwards Award, the Newbery Medal, the Scott O’Dell Award, and the Edgar, and he has twice been nominated for a National Book Award. He was the first children’s author ever to have been awarded a National Humanities Medal.

About the Narrator

Michael Crouch is an Audie Award–winning actor based in New York City. His audiobook narration has earned nine Earphones Awards from AudioFile magazine and Best of the Year accolades from Booklist, School Library Journal, and Publishers Weekly. He can also be heard on national commercials, cartoons, video games, and the animé series Pokémon XY and Yu-Gi-Oh! Arc-V.