Extended Audio Sample

Download The Beige Man Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Beige Man, by Helene Tursten Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Helene Tursten Narrator: Suzanne Toren Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Inspector Irene Huss Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Göteborg, Sweden. The high-speed chase of a stolen BMW takes a chilling turn when the two police officers involved witness a gruesome hit-and-run. When they finally recover the abandoned vehicle, search dogs are unable to trace the thieves, but they do uncover an entirely different horror: the half-naked corpse of a young girl in a nearby root cellar.

As Detective Inspector Irene Huss and her colleagues struggle to put the pieces together, they discover the man whose car was stolen—a retired police officer—is none other than the victim in the hit-and-run. Could it be a strange coincidence? Or is something larger at play? Meanwhile, the hunt for the girl’s killer leads Irene into the dark world of sex trafficking. An international criminal has arrived in Göteborg, and he’ll stop at nothing to expand his sinister operation.

Download and start listening now!

birk

Quotes & Awards

  • “These days Scandinavian crime writers are thick on the ground. It’s nice to see that the women can be just as bloodthirsty as the men.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • "[Tursten] imbues this novel with a cold chill of dread that can’t be attributed only to the subfreezing temperatures of Göteborg in winter.”

    Chicago Sun-Times

  • “Stockholm gets all the press, but Gothenburg brings in the tourists with its annual film festival and largest port in the Nordic countries. Who needs that girl with the dragon tattoo when Swedish bestseller Tursten is on the case?”

    Fisher Magazine

  • “Two cases that arise on the same wintry night in Göteborg, Sweden, propel Tursten’s excellent seventh mystery featuring Detetective Inspector Irene Huss…Cleverly, Tursten doesn’t reveal the significance of the beige man of the title until the last page.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Fans of Henning Mankell and Håkan Nesser will enjoy Tursten. For readers new to the series, there is no need to start at the beginning. Allow yourself time; this can be easily read in one sitting.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Tursten again masterfully blends a well-paced procedural with a broader social issue and the personal lives of members of the Göteborg, Sweden, police force. Superior Scandinavian crime fiction with a feminist bent.”

    Booklist

  • “Effectively puzzling till the final pages, rewardingly logical in its conclusion—one of Irene’s best.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Scandinavian detective fiction is enjoying global popularity, and this audio page-turner once again proves why. Suzanne Toren is an excellent choice to portray police detective Irene Huss, who is thrown into the investigation of a sex-trafficking ring. Toren capably manage the demands of Swedish pronunciation and a wide-ranging cast of characters, which include gruff policemen. Her skill makes complex scenes filled with long stretches of dialogue easy to follow. Her variety in pitch, tone, and pace keeps the action moving and builds the suspense. The story moves quickly as the listener is drawn further into the complexity of the crime.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Helene Tursten

Helene Tursten was a nurse and a dentist before she turned to writing. Her Irene Huss series includes Detective Inspector HussThe TorsoThe Glass DevilNight Rounds, and The Golden Calf. Helene was born in Göteborg, Sweden, where she now lives with her husband and daughter.