The Age of Napoleon: A History of European Civilization from 1789 to 1815 Audiobook, by Will Durant Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Age of Napoleon: A History of European Civilization from 1789 to 1815 Audiobook

The Age of Napoleon: A History of European Civilization from 1789 to 1815 Audiobook, by Will Durant Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $29.95 Add to Cart
Author: Ariel Durant, Will Durant Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Audio Length: Series:The Story of Civilization Release Date: December 2015 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781504658164

Publisher Description

An engrossing volume on European civilization by Pulitzer Prize–winning historians Will and Ariel Durant

The Age of Napoleon, the eleventh and final volume of the Story of Civilization, surveys the amazing chain of events that wrenched Europe out of the Enlightenment and into the age of democracy. In this masterful work, listeners will encounter

  • the French Revolution—from the storming of the Bastille to the guillotining of the king;
  • the revolution’s leaders Danton, Desmoulins, Robespierre, Saint-Just—all cut down by the reign of terror they inaugurated;
  • Napoleon’s meteoric rise—from provincial Corsican military student to emperor and commander of the largest army in history;
  • Napoleon’s fall—his army’s destruction in the snows of Russia, his exile to Elba, his escape and reconquest of the throne, and his ultimate defeat at Waterloo by the combined forces of Europe;
  • the birth of Romanticism and the dawning of a new age of active democracy and a rising middle class, laying the foundation for a new era.

Download and start listening now!


  • “[The Durants] are incapable of writing a dull book.”

    - Time
  • “Their gifts are accuracy, clarity, and the organization of a huge amount of material into a lively narrative.”

    - Saturday Review
  • “Carefully researched, beautifully written.”

    - Library Journal

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Will Durant (1885–1981) was an award-winning American writer, historian, and philosopher. He and his wife were awarded the Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction in 1968 for Rousseau and Revolution, and he was a recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Durant spent over forty years writing the critically acclaimed eleven-volume Story of Civilization, the later volumes with the help of his wife, Ariel. He sought to revitalize history by unifying and humanizing the great body of historical knowledge, which had become voluminous and fragmented into esoteric subcategories. He also strove to bring philosophy to the common man. Durant was a champion of human rights, social reform, and the brotherhood of man long before they became well-known issues.

About the Narrator

Stefan Rudnicki first became involved with audiobooks in 1994. Now a Grammy-winning audiobook producer, he has worked on more than three thousand audiobooks as a narrator, writer, producer, or director. He has narrated more than three hundred audiobooks. A recipient of multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards, he was presented the coveted Audie Award for solo narration in 2005, 2007, and 2014, and was named one of AudioFile’s Golden Voices in 2012.