The Renaissance: A History of Civilization in Italy from 1304–1576 AD Audiobook, by Will Durant Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Renaissance: A History of Civilization in Italy from 1304–1576 AD Audiobook

The Renaissance: A History of Civilization in Italy from 1304–1576 AD Audiobook, by Will Durant Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $29.95 Add to Cart
Author: Will Durant Narrator: Grover Gardner Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Audio Length: Series:The Story of Civilization Release Date: August 2014 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781483008790

Publisher Description

An engrossing volume on the Italian Renaissance by Pulitzer Prize–winning historian Will Durant

The fifth volume of Durant’s acclaimed Story of Civilization, The Renaissance chronicles the history of Italy from 1304 to 1576. In this masterful work, listeners will encounter

  • the poets Petrarch and Boccaccio, the fathers of the Renaissance;
  • the paintings, sculptures, and architecture of Milan, Florence, and Venice;
  • the life and accomplishments of Leonardo Da Vinci;
  • the Catholic church and the popes of Avignon and Rome;
  • the politicians and philosophers of Italy, including the Borgia family, Julius II, and Machiavelli;
  • the Italian Wars, the conflicts with France, and the country’s decline.

Download and start listening now!


  • “Mr. Durant draws all present into the genial colloquy, making them feel that their quickened perception is itself a contribution…His prose has a bright speed that carries its load of facts like an effortless burden.”

    - New York Times, 1957
  • “Maintains former standards of rich readability and clarity.”

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • “Easily the most engaging writer of Western intellectual history in the English language, Will Durant breathes life into philosophers and their ideas. He is colorful, witty, and above all, informative.”

    -, editorial review, on The Story of Philosophy
  • “Magnificent and monumental.”

    - New York Times, praise for the series


  • A Voice Arts Award Nominee

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Will Durant (1885–1981) was an award-winning American writer, historian, and philosopher. He and his wife were awarded the Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction in 1968 for Rousseau and Revolution, and he was a recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Durant spent over forty years writing the critically acclaimed eleven-volume Story of Civilization, the later volumes with the help of his wife, Ariel. He sought to revitalize history by unifying and humanizing the great body of historical knowledge, which had become voluminous and fragmented into esoteric subcategories. He also strove to bring philosophy to the common man. Durant was a champion of human rights, social reform, and the brotherhood of man long before they became well-known issues.

About the Narrator

Grover Gardner (a.k.a. Tom Parker) is an award-winning narrator with over a thousand titles to his credit. Named one of the “Best Voices of the Century” and a Golden Voice by AudioFile magazine, he has won three prestigious Audie Awards, was chosen Narrator of the Year for 2005 by Publishers Weekly, and has earned more than thirty Earphones Awards.