Extended Audio Sample

Download Storm: The SYLO Chronicles #2 Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Storm: The SYLO Chronicles #2 Audiobook, by D. J. MacHale Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: D. J. MacHale Narrator: Andrew Bates Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The SYLO Chronicles Release Date: March 2014 ISBN: 9780698146747
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

After a harrowing escape from Pemberwick Island, Tucker Pierce and his surviving friends—Tori, Kent, and Olivia—have finally reached the mainland, only to find that no one is left.

That’s not their only sickening discovery. Moments before they are attacked by another of the mysterious black planes, they investigate one’s wreck and are horrified to find that it bears the logo of the US Air Force. This can only mean one thing: the United States is at war with itself—the deadly technology of the air force against the brute force of the navy’s SYLO unit, which still holds Pemberwick Island and its residents captive.

Tucker must lead his friends to safety, but his head is spinning. How can the air force be perpetuating such genocide against not only its own citizens but the world? What is SYLO’s role in this, and why did Tucker’s parents betray him by allying with SYLO, whose commander, Captain Granger, killed Tori’s father at point-blank range? And what did his mother mean when she told him to trust no one?

Tucker, Tori, and friends set off cross-country on a quest for answers and, for Tucker, vengeance. But as one highway gives way to the next—and one death-defying escape precedes another—Tucker soon realizes that “trust no one” doesn’t just mean the US military.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Tucker’s search for the moral right leads to the concept of the ‘lesser evil’ in ways he could never have anticipated and keeps readers completely involved every step of the way. Reminiscent of Stephen King’s masterwork The Stand, this book’s pace never slackens. There is no middle-volume sag in this pulse-pounding thriller.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “MacHale’s explosive second book in the series follows fourteen-year-old Tucker Pierce and company on a road trip across the country as they seek both answers and vengeance…MacHale keeps readers’ hearts pumping with a near-constant barrage of fight or flight scenarios and the additional anxiety of a possible traitor in the midst of the friends. Action and dystopia fans will be delighted.”

    Library Journal

  • “Andrew Bates returns as narrator and continues to draw listeners into Tucker’s world with his talent…Recommend to those who enjoyed SYLO and other YA adventure stories.”

    Library Journal (audio review)

  • “Narrator Andrew Bates employs a conversational tone and conveys the intensity of highly charged situations without overwhelming the storytelling…Those who listened to SYLO will be eager to continue the adventure and to find out whether the conflict ends with the third book, Strike.”


Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

D. J. MacHale is the author of the bestselling book series Pendragon: Journal of an Adventure through Time and Space, the spooky Morpheus Road trilogy, and the whimsical picture book The Monster Princess. He has written, directed, and produced numerous award-winning television series and movies for young people, including Are You Afraid of the Dark?, Flight 29 Down, and Tower of Terror.

About the Narrator

Andrew Bates is a professional voice actor, as well as a musician, songwriter, and producer. His audiobook readings include The SYLO Chronicles by D. J. MacHale and The Last Dogs series by Christopher Holt, among others.